We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gaylord
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

28 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ray's Retreat Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 28: English reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2014

When I called we were told it was one of the old rooms. This we didn't mind, but told them that it had to be clean-was assured it was. When we arrived, we confirmed we were ok with old, but had to be clean and again was assured it was. The carpet was so dirty the entire room smelled, there...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank YellowTriker
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

We were shocked with this review. We do not do our own housekeeping. If our guests do not let us know the condition of their room we are unable to make any changes. Although after this review we are making a point of checking the rooms after they have been cleaned. Anytime someone has a problem with cleanliness we want...

Mackinac Island, Michigan
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The room was old, but clean and the beds were comfortable. We really enjoyed the hot breakfast that comes with the price of the room. We stayed 2 nights in one of the upstairs rooms. Its not bad for the price and I am fairly picky.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mscherie1
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the location. the room was so dirty you had to sleep with 1 eye open..the shower was crumbling down and full of mold. there was feces splattered on the walls around the toilet and the bathroom sink did not drain. of course the refrigerator is not plugged in and it is full of mold and...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank TheDeluxes
raysretreat10, Owner at Ray's Retreat Country Inn, responded to this review

It is a fact of life that we cannot please everyone. It saddens us that someone this unhappy would not have said anything to us. We would have been offered to remedy her complaints. I don't understand why anyone would stay THREE nights in such conditions, and turn in the key without saying one word to either my husband or...

Bay City, MI
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Upon first glance, Rays Retreat appears to be like any other roadside inn. But once you look at everything, its a homey, pleasant place with extremely friendly owners that will do anything and everything to make sure your stay with them is comfortable. Every morning they serve a hot breakfast (homemade) between 7:30-9:30 included with every room which gives it...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jrp0629
Cass City
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed one night to attend family reunion in Gaylord. Liked being on the back side, away from road noise. Back side has a friendly gathering area around a campfire plit with adequate seating. Bird feeders. Really good place to have a group gathering. Quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George H
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very friendly staff, you'll be in good company for breakfast. No maid service, a little on the rough side of things. The newer addition is more modern and accomodating. The owner is currently updating the original building. Dog friendly, group campfires in summer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
Management response:

We apreciate each and every person who comes to stay with us. We have been working to update the downstairs rooms. We always advise customers who choose to stay in a downstairs rooms that these are the 'retro' rooms. Due to being older rooms they are smaller and 'dated'. We always strive for clean rooms. We would ask any customer...

elyria
Reviewed 18 July 2011

this was our first vacation in 27 years without kids,very happy we chose rays.thank you mike and ann

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sueandlarryelyria
White lake
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed at rays for a golf outing. I stayed in the old part. All of my friends stayed at the Hampton inn. I will never stay at rays again. The room was dirty. The bed was like sleeping on a sheet of plywood. The shower was just old. Like a old prison bathroom. If you need to check out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wickedwood
Michigan
Reviewed 12 January 2010

room was dirty. i would have gone elsewhere but was too tired to drive anymore.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gramma53
Petrolia,Ontario
Reviewed 18 December 2009

The owners and operators of Rays Retreat and Country Inn are very friendly and the atmosphere is awsome with lots of parking. I stayed there for a snomobile trip. We stayed upstairs in the newer part, the rooms could of used a vacuming as the were dead flies on the floor and under the bed. The breakfast in the morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Snomobiler

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaylord hotels
14.9 km away
American Alpine Lodge
American Alpine Lodge
#8 of 13 in Gaylord
8 reviews
14.8 km away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
450 reviews
14.6 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Downtown Motel
Downtown Motel
#2 of 5 in Gaylord
25 reviews
14.0 km away
Timberly Motel
Timberly Motel
#3 of 5 in Gaylord
24 reviews
17.9 km away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#5 of 13 in Gaylord
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ray's Retreat Country Inn

Address: 9311 Old 27 South, Gaylord, MI 49735
Region: United States > Michigan > Otsego County > Gaylord
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Country Inn Gaylord
Gaylord Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ray's Retreat Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid room on 1st floor.”
plzmonte, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I didn't see the upper room but apparently they are in better shape as they were built in the 90's”
lar3313, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Inspect the room before final payment. Even of you have reserved it, if it isn't clean then dispute it with the credit card company.”
YellowTriker, 6 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Stay on the back side (East)”
GeorgeH351, 5 Aug 2012 | Read review
4 of 4