We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel St. Regis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel St. Regis
Hotel St. Regis
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 240: English reviews
Tustin, California
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Older hotel built to cater to visitors to the old General Motors Building across the street. When GM moved its HQ St. Regis lost business. The GM Building is now State offices. Rooms are old and relatively Spartan. The bed was comfortable. Linens clean. Housekeeping pretty good. TV was missing basic channels until I complained and got ESPN on time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KARXPRT
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Do not ever go there .... bad bad bad experience NO HOT WATER , they "FORGOT" to clean the room , staff rude rude rude Valet never available, sorry he was eating. Really don't ever go there. Manager doesn't care at all

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerome A
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 1 week ago

I traveled to Detroit for business and chose the Hotel St Regis for its room rate on the days I was there. The auto show was happening, so many of the downtown hotels were sold out or had inflated rates for Detroit in January,. The St Regis is someone centrally located and about 15 minutes from the downtown area near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farmerica
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there New Years Eve. It was a little shabby,but acceptable. First warning was as we were checking in a guest was complaining to the desk of no hot water. The clerk was acting like they were the only one complaining. Our friends in another room were offered another room later because of hot water problems, but their hot water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

We appreciate the opportunity you took in patronizing the historic Hotel St. Regis during your recent visit. Second, I do apologize for the lack of hot water. We have had issues with the hot water intermittently for a couple of reasons. Some outside of our control with the construction in this area and some within our control in offering guests...

Richmond, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This would not be a first choice hotel. It is beautiful hotel but the rooms a lacking. There was 4 of us and only one person had hot water. The AC was broken and thankfully we were high up so we could leave the window open. The hallways are very noisy and the carpets need cleaning. It is not bad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle_Mitch
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We are working diligently to remedied the situation with the hot water and to make improvements in the product we offer to you collectively. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. We appreciate your feedback.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really wanted to like this hotel. My check in went smoothly, my room was clean. However, I was there for 2 weeks for business. During these 2 weeks my room was either ice cold or literally 85 degrees. Because the building is so old, we had no control over the thermostat. As a matter of fact, even when I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelingus1975
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

First, thank you for taking the time to respond regarding your stay here at our property. I understand that you wanted to like it and apologize for it not being the experience you expected. Regulated Heat or Cooling of Room along with the Pressure/Temperature of the Water are normal needs for any guest and will be discussed. Lack of the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in Detroit because it was convenient to the office I was visiting. The biggest issue with this property is that there are no amenities either in the hotel or nearby. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but the hours are limited. Given that there are really no restaurants in walking distance it would be helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KI57
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We are diligently working to improve the product and the services we provide in order for guests to want to come back time and time again. Your comments will be provided to assist in our ongoing attempt to perfect service. We hope you will give...

Jackson, Michigan
Reviewed 10 December 2016

I read the reviews prior to booking at the St. Regis. I needed a place close to Henry Ford Hospital and this fit the bill. As stated the entrance with valet parking is difficult to find in the dark. I drove by and turned around quickly. The room I was given was on the second floor. I was warned through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank share_the_road_10
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

First, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. I am sorry that you encountered the issue of not being able to find the valet parking entrance with ease and the lack of heat in your room. The entrance offers an opportunity for a good first impression and...

Clearwater, Florida
Reviewed 8 December 2016

The St Regis Hotel is a classic hotel with an amazing staff. All staff were helpful and friendly, from check in to door man and restaurant. Eric at the front desk was especially helpful. I was here for three days for a ministerial conference and the staff was consistently customer oriented. The restaurant has an excellent, reasonably priced menu. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 73grace1204
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments regarding your stay here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We certainly do appreciate them and your patronage. We are always looking at ways to perfect the WiFi service and will continue to work on it. We look forward to your return in May.

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 9 November 2016

I had heard of the wonderful St. Regis for years, and finally had an opportunity to stay there this past weekend. Upon entry into the room the blinds were closed (which is rarely a good sign), and we quickly understood why. Room #208 faces out onto the heating/cooling units, but then the windows were so filthy it didn't even matter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars M
Donna R, Manager at Hotel St. Regis, responded to this review

Thank you for staying here at the historic Hotel St. Regis. We appreciate the time you took to offer your comments and feedback regarding what you encountered. They will be discussed in making changes for the future that will help to perfect our service and product to our guests.

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (216)
Viewed
Amenities (5)
Viewed
King (27)
Viewed
Dining (38)
Viewed
Suite (32)
Viewed
The Hotel (89)
Viewed
Two Queen (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
4.8 km away
Trumbull and Porter Hotel Detroit
5.2 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
4.3 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 33 in Detroit
1,021 reviews
6.2 km away
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
4.7 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Hotel St. Regis, the most inviting landmark hotel near downtown Detroit. Among Detroit Hotels, the Hotel St Regis stands alone with its original stately elegance yet with a modern, more casual style. Delivering an extraordinary level of comfort and convenience is what we promise each of our guests. Few Detroit hotels can rightfully boast of a history as rich as ours. The Hotel St. Regis has played host to such diverse and notable travelers as Martin Luther King and Mick Jagger.Located in Detroit's New Center area, the hotel is next door to Wayne State University, the world class health facility - Henry Ford Hospital, Fisher Theatre and Cadillac Place, home of the state of Michigan Government offices. And our unique location is minutes from Detroit's major venues.Guests of the Hotel St. Regis will enjoy relaxing in comfort in one of the 124 stylish guestrooms and suites located on five floors. Each room has been newly redesigned featuring an inviting color scheme, guest bedroom & bath with marble vanities & superior bedding.Enjoy live Jazz every Thursday night from 6-9PM in our attached restaurant/lounge La Musique. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel St. Regis

Address: 3071 W Grand Blvd, Detroit, MI 48202-3004
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $155 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel St. Regis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Regis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel Detroit
St Regis Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel St. Regis staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Alanson, Michigan
11 months ago
Grass Valley
over a year ago
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel St. Regis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 614briant, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I would just go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles travelingus1975, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away from the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles share_the_road_10, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Quieter rooms face away from W. Grand Blvd”
 of 5 bubbles 73grace1204, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend that they stay in rooms on the higher floors away from the din of the traffic and the noise from the heating/a.c. unit.”
 of 5 bubbles , 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay