We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 831: English reviews
St. Paul, MN, United States
Reviewed 19 January 2016

Was in town for Detroit Auto Show. Hotel was convenient to People Mover and attractions in Downtown Detroit, notably Ford Field, Cobo Center, and Renaissance Center. Staff was generally helpful. There was a noise problem 2 of my 3 nights but it isn't really the hotel's fault for annoying guests. The hotel was not as nicely appointed as some Hilton...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nate R
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay at our hotel and writing a review. We're glad that the location made your stay enjoyable. We will definitely take your comments about the hotel under advisement since we are always looking for ways to improve our hotel. We hope you'll consider staying with us in the future.

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 January 2016 via mobile

I was heading to the auto show, but made arrangements a little late. This hotel was still available, so I took it. It's in a good place, close to everything, and the room was good. Not the best HGI you will run into, but ok. For downtown, though, I would prefer a garage. It only has surface parking. It is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IoannisPapandreou
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with and taking the time to write a review. We will definitely take your comments under advisement since we are always looking for ways to improve our guests stay with us. We hope you'll consider staying with in the future.

Westerville, Ohio
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Terrible service. Extremely smelly and dirty room. Additionally, charged $72.00 twice for parking when I parked in the garage across the street. Good location, but I would strongly advise staying elsewhere.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank z2reticuli
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you didn't have a great experience with us. We strive to have all our guests have a wonderful stay with us so we will look into the issues in your room. We have taken off the $22 valet charges since you did not park with us....

Lansing, United States
Reviewed 1 January 2016

This hotel is the perfect location for any event taking place at Ford Field. The staff was helpful and knowledgeable. My room was clean and comfortable. It was a great value for me and my family. It was good to see major hotel chains like Hilton investing in the comeback of Detroit.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon L
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Sheldon for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled that our location, accommodations and staff made your stay great. We hope that you and your family will stay with us again in the future!

New York, New York, United States
Reviewed 29 December 2015

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks. I had a few problems over the course of the stay including developing a rash which we discovered was from the detergent used on the sheets. The front desk staff and management were extremely helpful in discovering the cause and washed the sheets in a different detergent. Housekeeping changed the sheets a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen T
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Kristen for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us. We're happy that our overall service made your stay with us enjoyable. We apologize for the issue you had with the sheets but are glad that we were able to get it resolved We also apologize for the noise issue from the group...

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 29 December 2015

stopped in on a long drive to Florida, what a great choice. Very nice hotel. Room was very nice, very clean, loved the bathroom. Did not get a chance to enjoy breakfast due to my schedule but it looked very nice.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil N
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you Phil for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad you chose to stop at our hotel during your trip to Florida and that accommodations made your stay enjoyable. We hope that you'll come stay with us again in the future!

Detroit, United States
Reviewed 23 December 2015

I had a great experience at this hotel and will visit the Hilton again and I have decided to make the Hilton Garden Inn my preferred hotel. Although they forgot about my room service they more than made up for it when they still gave me my order free of charge for the inconvenience. They also threw in a pop...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maisha H
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're so excited that you consider us your preferred hotel. We do apologize again for the missed room service but are happy the situation was resolved. We thrilled that the staff and location made your stay great. We can't wait to be at your...

Detroit, United States
Reviewed 22 December 2015

Located near Ford Field and Tiger Stadium, in the center of Detroit, My wife and I would absolutely stay here again. Good location and nightlife. Room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was great. Parking was easy.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank George B
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you and your wife enjoyed the location and accommodations. We can't wait to at your service again soon!

Petersburg, United States
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The staff and hotel were amazing. The front desk clerk went out of there way to make us feel welcome. The location is perfect for downtown. We had no problems at all, the hotel was clean and the whole experience was positive. I will definitely stay here again.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theresa R
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and choosing to stay with us. We're thrilled that the location, accommodations and staff made the stay so enjoyable. We will be sharing this review with our staff. We can't wait to be at your service again soon!

Eugene, Oregon
Reviewed 13 December 2015

The staff are friendly. The overall impression of the hotel is one that makes you think it is a pretty nice hotel...however, once you start looking at the finer details this hotel needs a lot of work. I've stayed here a couple of times and both rooms are in need of substantial maintenance. Leaking toilets or sinks were found. Cracked...

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgia_traveler22
HGIDD, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and taking the time to write a review. We're happy that our staff has made your past stays enjoyable. We appreciate that feedback about the rooms and will be taking in under advisement since we are always looking to improve our guests stay with us.

73 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.5 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
0.6 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
997 reviews
1.3 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 33 in Detroit
1,021 reviews
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown hotel is located in downtown Detroit. Set in the heart of Harmonie Park, the hotel is surrounded by shops, restaurants and entertainment venues such as Ford Field and Comerica Park. Local businesses and corporate offices within walking distance to our hotel in Detroit, Michigan include Quicken Loans, Ernst and Young, PricewaterhouseCoopers and Compuware. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown

Address: 351 Gratiot Ave, Detroit, MI 48226-2206
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $220 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Detroit Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Detroit
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors (Hilton Honors) are better but you must remind staff if you are HH person”
 of 5 bubbles GordonChicago, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Recommend you request a room off the 2 main streets in front of the hotel for a more quiet experience.”
 of 5 bubbles deborahsG967FY, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“high floor”
 of 5 bubbles jackiesamy, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“an interior room away from Gratiot is best”
 of 5 bubbles I6043PJwilliams, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not on the street side. Soooooo noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Debeatle, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay