We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,428 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,379: English reviews
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Although this place is nothing to write home about - its large and rather corporate looking - if you stay here make sure you're on a high floor overlooking the river and the Canadian land. This is the tallest building around and offers stunning views. I had a suite on the 69th floor because I needed a conference room fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 12345rover
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are always pleased to hear that our staff was very helpful and friendly! We're very glad that overall your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We hope you choose to stay with us next time you are in town!

Morton, Illinois
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Drove up to Detroit for a Chevrolet meeting and combined with a fishing trip and no sleep I was shot when I arrived. Great burger and chips from room service and a super comfy bed then I was out for 13 hours. Best night of sleep I can remember. Nice fitness center as well next morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColdFrontChuck
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! We're so thrilled to hear that you experienced a great night sleep and enjoyed every minute of your stay! We hope to see you next time you're in the area.

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One of the older Marriotts in the system and it suffers from some location problems even though it is “right Downtown”. The entrance is on the first floor of the Center and the Marriott lobby is on the third. There is barely room for two cars in the small entrance loop to pass and I saw the whole entrance plugged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dairybrook
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear that you experienced any disappointment with our amenities or that you had any issues finding your way around. However, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your room and had great experiences at our bar and concierge lounge! We are always striving to get better so...

Grand Rapids
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We ended up booking this hotel for the MAC Championship. It came down to this one or the Courtyard by Marriott across the street. After seeing both, and sleeping on a King size bed instead of the Queen size which is all the Courtyard had, we knew we made the better choice. It was gorgeous, had a beautiful view of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newkie
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for the amazing review, Newkie! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay! Please come visit us again when you're downtown.

Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Typical trip back home. Always a good time when we visit. Housekeeping is a little slow getting to the rooms. Front desk have been issues lately with my last two visits. My room wasn't ready when we arrived. I once waited over 3 hours to check-in. I was given $100 a night off my bill during this stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony H
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you experienced any disappointment with our amenities or that you had any issues with the service you received. We are happy to hear that your stay was still satisfactory and we hope you choose to visit us again.

Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm a frequent guest at this hotel. The website espouses that the construction is complete, a brand new renovation. I stayed on the 15th floor. It sounded as if the construction was in my room it was so loud. The construction is scheduled to cease for the evening at 1030 p.m. However, it was so loud that even setting the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelly17231
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are so sorry for any inconveniences the construction caused during your stay. General Motors is currently renovating the Ren Cen and once it is complete it will be beautiful! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband, daughter and I stay at this hotel every Wednesday night before Thanksgiving. We run in the Detroit Turkey Trot, so we get a discount on the room ($130). We've done this for about 9 years in a row now. Before this year, I would say that our experience has always been pleasant. This year, unfortunately, I describe it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KRG1968
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Please accept our sincerest apologies for all of the troubles you experienced during your stay with us. Our main goal is to always provide a relaxing and memorable experience and we are truly sorry for falling short during your stay. If you have not done so already, can you email detroitmarriott@marriott.com with the details of your experience so we can...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a blast! The hotel provided and exceptional view (from my room #912), but the construction work taking place beneath my floor was extremely loud from 5p-10p. Other than that, everything was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eckford4141
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thanks for the awesome review! We're absolutely ecstatic to hear that your stay was wonderful and you enjoyed your view. We are sorry about any inconveniences the construction caused during your stay but once the renovations are done the Ren Cen will look beautiful! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you...

Chicago
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I spent a week at this hotel for business in November and it was what I expected. Sometime my times of returning to my room varies but each day I returned the room was cleaned. Only thing I would say is a couple of days there was only one bath towel which was slightly disappointing but didn't become an issue....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chitown962
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable experience with us. We're sorry to hear about the towel situation, next time don't hesitate to ask for more we will gladly bring you some! Come visit us next time you are in Detroit!

Hockessin
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very deluxe hotel. Modern with all the amenities that come with Marriott. The room was big. Mine was on a higher floor. The wall to ceiling window - you can the river and the other side is Canada. The bar / restaurant at the second (?) floor was very good and the bar tender was fantastic. This is a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rumee
Anthony M, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed every minute of your stay! Please come visit us again when you're downtown.

627 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (449)
Viewed
View from Room (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Room/Suite (62)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (175)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (178)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Detroit hotels
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.2 km away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
0.9 km away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
1.8 km away
MGM Grand Detroit
MGM Grand Detroit
#2 of 33 in Detroit
996 reviews
0.7 km away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#5 of 33 in Detroit
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Ctr, Detroit, MI 48243-1502
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: $244 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question
Naples, Florida
Waltham, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want two beds, say you have 4 adults in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles KRG1968, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“High floors, rooms with view”
 of 5 bubbles 855sajays, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a view of the river and Canada”
 of 5 bubbles Z7547RJjohnm, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for river view across into Canada”
 of 5 bubbles guest200, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get high up!”
 of 5 bubbles brbiii, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay