We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph
See the most recent reviews
Showing 135: English reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Pluses: The motel room was clean, the staff was *very* friendly and helpful, the coffee in the lobby/office was hot and fresh. The motel was near the expressway exit, with a lot of fast-food choices around. And the room was inexpensive. Minuses: The location was a little *too* near the expressway; our view was of the expressway and a gravel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John B
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Dear John B, Thank you for taking the time to respond to Tripadvisor about your stay. We value each and every guest and want to make every stay comfortable for all. Maybe on your next stay we can put you in another location away from the truck parking. Thank you again. Casey Strawmier General Manager

Newark, New Jersey
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Our fault, we booked at the last minute in this part of Michigan's beach country on a Labor Day weekend. Aside from Motel 6 and American Inn (very bad reviews), this was our only choice if we didn't want to shell out $200+ per night. First the pros: our room came with fridge and microwave. Because there is no breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel H
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Dear Rachel H, Thank You for taking the time to tell about your experience at our Hotel. I am very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. We are making improvements as we go to ensure a safe and clean room. We would like for you to give us another chance in the near future. Casey...

Port Ludlow, Washington
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

The ambiance around the hotel is horrible. The room smelled like people had been smoking in it for weeks. The bed was moderately comfortable the TV had many channels including HBO, though it stopped working in the morning before we left. Most economy hotels provide at least a continental breakfast, this one did not. All in all, you can get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We truly value your comments and concerns about our location. I apologize for any inconveniences this has caused. Casey Strawmier

Edwardsville, Illinois
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We booked 3 rooms all together but was not and they would not accomadate. Then had asked for and even called ahead to make sure all our rooms had refrigerators and microwaves and they didn't and would have to pay more even though that's what we booked ahead of time. Then one room door would not lock so had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. I am truly sorry to see that we failed you on your recent stay with us. We would like for you to give us another chance to make it better on your next visit to Benton Harbor. Casey Strawmier

Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 August 2015

Reserved a Superior King room for one night. Upon entering the room, the carpet was extremely nasty. Looked like it had never been cleaned. Work area was sufficient, but there was no chair at the desk. Alerted front desk, received chair after 30 minutes of waiting. Bathroom was clean, bath appeared to have sufficient water pressure. Turned on shower, Hardly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DAVID F
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your valued feedback. I want to sincerely apologize for the issues you have mentioned regarding cleanliness and service in your review. It is our goal to provide superior service and I do apologize we fell short of this goal on your recent visit with us. Casey Strawmier

Macomb, Illinois
Reviewed 16 August 2015

this was a mediocre hotel at best.. This was a king room that was suppose to have a fridge and microwave. ????? I guess they were hidden or something. The room was very small but clean. Everything about it was a motel 6 at best. No breakfast! It was a noisy hotel. We could hear pretty easily through the walls....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 44ChuckB
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We are so sorry that your stay was not an enjoyable experience for you. Hopefully in the near future you will give us another chance. Casey Strawmier

Southern IN
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We stayed here over IronMan weekend and knew we wouldn't be in the room much. So I guess it served it's purpose--a hot shower and a clean bed. The floor however was disgusting. I wouldnt go barefoot because it was so bad. My daughter also had a room and said her feet turned black after a short time barefoot! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karensSouthernIN
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for providing your valued feedback. We are embarrassed and sorry we failed to meet your expectations during your time with us. We will continue to coach our staff on the importance of how important cleanliness and service is for our guests no matter how busy the hotel or city may be. Casey Strawmier

Reviewed 9 August 2015

Paid cash,not given a receipt when I checked in even when a asked for one. How am I supposed to prove what I gave. What til the day when someone quits and there is an issue when thay check out. Maybe they'll start then. I asked about this when I checked out and was told I should have been given...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony V
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review about our location. We do give out receipts at the end of your stay unless requested. I am not for sure why you couldn't get one when asked. I did talk to my staff about this issue. Again I am sorry for this inconvenience. Casey Strawmier

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 8 August 2015

We had two rooms and both were very, very dirty.. bathrooms were filthy, toilet looked like it was not clean for a couple of weeks, spills all around the rim. Had to go to store to get clorox wipes because there were no other hotels available in the area. Towels were almost see thru. Air conditioning didn't work. Bedding seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hatch59
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We truly apologize that we felt short on providing superior service to you during your stay with us. I hope you will reconsider one day on giving us a second chance. Casey Strawmier

Lexington, MO
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

Red Roof was clean. The room was cleaned daily. Clean, WHITE towels were left daily. The beds were made daily. There was hotel shampoo. The individual bed lights were secured to the wall. There was good coffee with SWEETENER and creamer in the lobby. We fled Motel 6 where the above was not the case. For a few dollars more,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lexkh
CaseyStrawmier, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing your review. We appreciate your kind comments about the property. We certainly apologize for the stairs. We hope to welcome you back soon! Casey Strawmier

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benton Harbor
0.1 km away
Days Inn & Suites Benton Harbor MI
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Benton Harbor-St. Joseph
0.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
Econo Lodge in Saint Joseph
#4 of 6 in Saint Joseph
61 reviews
6.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
0.4 km away
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
Comfort Suites Benton Harbor
#4 of 10 in Benton Harbor
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph, about 30 minutes from both Kalamazoo and South Bend. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is conveniently located on Interstate 94 on the Historic Michigan Wine Trail. Red Roof Benton Harbor/Saint Joseph is located near Silver Beach County Park, the Berrien County Fairgrounds, Warren Dunes State Park, Indiana Dunes State Park, Washington Park and Red Bud Motor Cross trail as well as several corporate headquarters, including Whirlpool, Bosch and Leco, in addition to nuclear plants Cook and Palisades. We’re close to several colleges; Notre Dame University, Lake Michigan College, Western Michigan University SW Campus, Andrews University, Southwest Michigan College. Enjoy shopping? Check out Orchards Mall, Kohl’s, Target, Wal-Mart, Meijer’s, Best Buy all within 1 mile of the hotel or go to downtown Saint Joseph and visit the many shops and boutiques- it’s only 5 miles away. Come stay with us if you’re going to a show or an event at the Mendel Center we’re just 5 minutes away and we’re also not too far from Southwest Michigan Regional Airport, Kalamazoo/Battle Creek International Airport or Michiana (South Bend) Regional Airport. Numerous restaurants are near the hotel: Applebee’s, Texas Coral, IHOP, Bob Evan’s along with several local favorites: El Rodeo (Mexican), Sophia’s House of Pancakes and China Buffet. If you’re looking for the quick drive thru: There’s a McDonalds, Burger King, Steak n Shake, Wendy’s, Dairy Queen, Taco Bell and KFC within a mile and many pizza places to choose from. The hotel offers free parking for semis and busses and Red Roof always welcomes well behaved pets at no charge. Wireless internet is complimentary in all guest rooms. Wheelchair and ADA rooms are available. The friendly and knowledgeable staff knows how to make guests feel confident, significant, and delighted.This 100% Non-Smoking Red Roof Inn offers not only free Wi-Fi and a flat screen TV in all guestrooms but all long distance calls are complimentary anywhere in the continental US. We offer both a Deluxe Double that includes a microwave/microfridge unit and a Superior King room which offers a large workstation with ergonomic chair and special task lighting as well as microwave/microfridge units and in room coffee makers - a nominal fee may apply for both; please inquire. Free coffee and tea available in the lobby 24/7. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph

Address: 1630 Mall Dr, Benton Harbor, MI 49022-2310
Region: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Benton Harbor
Price Range: $70 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benton Harbor Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Red Roof Inn Benton Harbor St. Joseph staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“stay first building facing the road....Highway side can be loud.....”
 of 5 bubbles melbear2016, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“one doesn't exist”
 of 5 bubbles Mariodestaphante, 25 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try another motel.”
 of 5 bubbles richardbs2014, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do not let them check you in a rear room, very bad”
 of 5 bubbles billcjonz, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“find another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles mikeyhp, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5