We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

96 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Blytheville, Arkansas
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had guaranteed room reservations on a business trip. The hotel sold our rooms at a higher rate to someone else without contacting us, so when we went to check in we had no rooms. It was late we had children with us who were very tired and hungry. Hotel offered no help in finding our family us room. We...

8Thank Hughes-101
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review

Dear Hughes-101, Thank you for taking time to post a review and for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club program. I am sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced with your reservation and with our hotel staff. We take comments such as these very...

Deckerville, Michigan
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Our family of six stayed here on New Year's Eve and we couldn't have been happier with our room, the hospitality and our overall stay. The pool was delightful and breakfast was great! Our room was spacious which was wonderful with four kids. Look forward to staying again.

Thank Busymom2014
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

What friendly and efficient service! My room was spotless with heat and lights on, hot water for tea and a cookie. They recommended a nearby restaurant for dinner and were simply great! I would def return here and encourage anyone to stay. Lovely pool and hot tub, exercise room, comfortable bed, frig in room, and a table on which to...

Thank Michigamme
bad axe
Reviewed 4 December 2013

G is the "managing partner" of this establishment and needs to work on customer service. On my wedding day, I stopped into the hotel to check into our room. At that time I asked for a discount for one of our guests. The hotel had made a mistake and charged one of our guests double what the other guests were...

10Thank g p
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Located in a rural area, we were pleasantly surprised by the modern updates to the hotel. Stayed 2 nights for a family member's wedding. Staff were friendly and helpful upon arrival. We had two suites which were located near each other as requested. The rooms were spacious, nicely appointed and very clean. The air conditioning/heating unit was located in the...

Thank Jill F
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding. Here I am reading some of the prior comments and wonder if these folks were actually stating in the same hotel I was. From the minute we got there we were greeted pleasantly and checking into the room took a few minutes. After we got up to the room about a half...

Thank gjwoodsjr
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My husband and I traveled to this hotel on business. We chose it because it was the only national chain hotel available in the area. I regret that we did. The staff was literally the least hospitable staff I have ever encountered. I used to work in the hospitality industry and I would NEVER think of not acknowledging a guest...

6Thank LLambright
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review

Dear LLambright, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from...

Sand Lake, Michigan
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friend's wedding (booked the group rate), room wasn't ready on time (it was about 30 minutes late, which wasn't a huge deal) but one of the housekeepers barged in on our room to "make sure our room was ready!" We were not thrilled about that, but it is what it is. The room...

1Thank melaniejean13
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review

Dear melaniejean13, Thank you for staying with us. We do apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason we will follow up with the Executive Housekeeper. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would...

Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Awful service...dirty room and Gary is just what everyone else said. I have NEVER gone to a hotel and had to clean my own room!! Botjlh nights same issues. I complained abourlt the filth...i get told by Gary I am no longer welcome there!!! Fine by me!!!

10Thank vickie1027
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review

Dear vickie1027, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept our sincerest apology for the room accommodations you had and the service you encountered affected your stay negatively. We have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing...

Reviewed 4 September 2013

If you are hosting a wedding in the Thumb, do yourself and your guests a favor and avoid this hotel at all costs... Have them stay at the Franklin Inn. Without beleaguering you with our disappointingly poor experience, I will touch on the problems we had. There is zero organization and accountability at this hotel - no coordination, email communication,...

11Thank Ryan C
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe, responded to this review

Dear Ryan C, First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again...

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (36)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Room/Suite (18)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Dining (5)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Axe
0.7 km away
Ameriway Inn and Suites
Ameriway Inn and Suites
#1 of 4 in Bad Axe
54 reviews
25.7 km away
Lakeside Motor Lodge
Lakeside Motor Lodge
#5 of 5 in Port Austin
26 reviews
27.6 km away
Harbor Beach Inn
Harbor Beach Inn
#1 of 1 in Harbor Beach
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Bad Axe Motel
Bad Axe Motel
#2 of 2 in Bad Axe
1 reviews
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bad Axe is an exceptional facility from its beautiful decor, to its outstanding level of service. We are conveniently located in the Thumb of Michigan, just 20 miles from Lake Huron. Inside our hotel you will find spacious guest rooms all equipped with hairdryers, iron and boards, coffee makers and remote control TV. 2 phone with 2 lines and data port. Our Queen Suites include microwaves, refrigerators and comfortable lounging area. We also have Jacuzzi Suites that have the Jacuzzi in the bedroom with a king size bed and all the amenities that our queen suites have. Visit our indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness center and game room. Don't forget to try our continental breakfast, every morning from 6:00 am till 10:00am. Visit Bad Axe, MI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Credit card is required for stay. Cash payments are accepted upon checkout with prior authorization of a credit card. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe

Address: 55 Rapson Lane West, Bad Axe, MI 48413
Region: United States > Michigan > Bad Axe
Price Range: $123 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe Hotel Bad Axe
Holiday Inn Bad Axe
Bad Axe Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
11 months ago
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Bad Axe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are good and I had a sound sleep. I highly recommend this hotel if one is traveling or visiting Bad Axe.”
bradfordll, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The area is very quiet so even a room on the first floor facing the street was quiet.”
EnjoyTravelAlways, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor room near the center of the hall was a quiet respite.”
500cindyk, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the second floor to avoid front desk noise.”
michmitten, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the patio and pool.”
108jeffreyd, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5