We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
See the most recent reviews
Showing 308: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We had an amazing one night stay at the motel. A wonderfully decorated and cosy room for New England country motel on a chilly autumn evening. We had a great night's sleep there, as well as a lovely meal in the bar/restaurant of a clam chowder and a really good vegetarian option - afterwards we had a local beer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Al C
Palencia
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Good bed, excellent wi-fi,good breakfast,but don't look behind the bed because you can see a lot of dust. Who knows the last time this part has been cleaned. The bar/restaurant is OK , a very friendly waitress who served our dinner in spite of the fact when we arrived when the bar was about to close in the evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Atleti
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

We could not wait until October 22 when we could start Fall Cleaning! Getting behind the headboard requires the bed to be pulled away from the wall as no vacuum cleaner can get that low. Because we are so busy in the summer & fall months, we do not have time to pull furniture away from the walls and get...

Surprise, Arizona
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had 1 night to stay over and chose the Brookside House as there was not much else available. Based on the description on their website it sounded like a wonderful place to stay. We would have been able to overlook some of the other issues had the bed been comfortable. I felt like i had been beat up sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan C
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

We are sure, more than anything, that the offending issue here was price. Had we refunded these guests, by their own admonition, they would not have written 2 negative reviews. However, we are sorry that these guests were uncomfortable. Upon checkout, we query everyone as to the quality of their stay. 99.9% of our guests are comfortable and very happy...

Stoughton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked a room(s)at the Brookside. What a mistake. I invite the owners to sleep one night on the beds in rooms 106 and 107. The most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. If you look at the website, you are wowed by the pics and B&B reviews. Not much there about the Brookside. We were looking forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clar444
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

This review was written by the same people who wrote the negative adjacent review. Please see our management response to that review. In addition, the friend that stayed in the other room sleeps on a TempurPedic at home (not too many Inns can compete with that) and has a bad back. On our website, there is an entire page devoted...

Lake Worth
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Do not know why anyone would complain. Not a chain accommodation more like a B&B. Room adequate size, clean and comfortable. WiFi fast (if that is important to you. The grounds were quite appealing; unfortunately, it rained the night before and everything was wet. or would have relaxed outside by the stream. I like going to breakfast early to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jslesq2001
McLean, VA
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We love to stay at the brookside part of 1896 House. Beds are comfortable, water is hot, and you can walk across the stream to the delightful pub. We had another excellent stay! Rooms could have a bit more light and we take our own multiplug for computers, phones etc. Basically, we love it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hanusa2
NE Ohio/ Venice Island Florida
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I read online great reviews and just stayed one night at 1896 House and the room was awful. Smelled musty, moldy and old. Mattress was old and very uncomfortable and linens were cheap. There must be a bif difference between the brookside, pondside, etc. The breakfast consisted of make your own waffles and cereal, hardly what the hotel says it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CKE22
Kanzi, Owner at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Of course I am sorry that this guest did not enjoy his stay. When a guest refers to mold and must, it really is the wood odor that emanates from the walls on a damp day. Our AAA inspector was just here, and we were SO congratulated on our cleanliness and the great care we take of the rooms. City...

East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I must start this review by saying I call this place more of an inn style than motel because of the friendliest feel we receive as soon as we arrive. Our son plays soccer at the college so we travel often to Williamstown. We have stayed at other locations but once we found the 1896 house, it has been our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurie G
Oceanside, New York
Reviewed 5 September 2012

This motel is beautiful. Whether you stay Brookside or Pondside, it is lovely. I highly recommend a Pondside suite. It is spacious with a large kitchen, a bedroom, and a sitting room with queen size roll-out sofa sleeper and large screen tv. The view of the pond with ducks is magnificent. The restaurant was great. Breakfast is included in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patricia V
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Another year starting for our son and we always return to the 1996 House! It was a quick trip to get him moved in and we only stayed 2 nights. We wanted to stay longer as we love coming back to this place. We stayed Brookside and our room was quite comfortable. We did have dinner at the Pub and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BasketBallm0m24

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
3.1 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
445 reviews
2.6 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
282 reviews
9.1 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
388 reviews
0.0 km away
1896 House - Barnside Inn
1896 House - Barnside Inn
#5 of 9 in Williamstown
164 reviews
0.8 km away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#7 of 13 in Williamstown
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Price Range: $130 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
nc
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All accommodations single level - end suite most popular but does not have kitchenette.”
rolfr457, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pick another hotel.”
7fgrlady, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Brookside is on the same side of the road as the restaurant. Pondside is down the road(not far) and is across the street.”
z_k_white, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We always stay on Brookside. Across the highway is Pondside and seems to have more complaints about mildew smell.”
boxermomtx, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are first floor with an exterior entrance”
V1332FJphilm, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5