We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 303: English reviews
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Stayed with 2 friends for one night en route from Boston to Stowe, Vermont. Motel is just south of Williamstown, pub was about 100 yards across a bridge from our room although some rooms were on the other side of the main road. Room was spacious and very comfortable. Very wide choice of food in the pub and a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mothmith
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for writing about your visit with us. We are glad that you stopped by while on your trip from Boston to Stowe, Vermont! It is great to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable stay in one of our Brookside/Pondside rooms, and that you also enjoyed the wide variety that the '6 House Pub has to offer. Thank you...

Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We rented the 3 room suite, which looks like it used to be the old hotel manager's apartment. The decor and appliances date back to the 70s and 80s, and while that could be charming, it's just another sign of the owner's stingy-ness. The wifi router was being reset by the handyman when we arrived and still didn't work, even...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Margaret E
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Inside the 3 Room Suite is a complete kitchen, one queen bedroom, a living room with a queen sofa bed, and a large bathroom with a whirlpool for two. There is also a private deck, which overlooks the serene duck pond - home to our 8 Pekin Ducks! You write that the decor "could be charming," and that is what...

Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We try to stay here when we are in the area as the rooms are clean and charming in an old-fashioned sort of way and look out the back on the nearby Berkshire foliage. It is a lovely walk to the breakfast room across the brook. The beds are firm and comfortable and traffic stops early in the evening so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

We are thrilled that you always enjoy your visit with us, and that you continue to stay with us at the 1896 House when you visit the area! Fall in the Berkshires is absolutely beautiful, and as you noted, our guests are surrounded by all of the beauty that the fall has to offer. We have been continuing to add...

Argyle, Texas
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We used to stay here from 1986 until the owners, Denise and Sue, sold a few years ago. We hadn't been back until this month. We were told the current owners were on vacation in the Bahamas and I'm not sure if what went on, was because of that. We stayed two nights. We had a room with two queens....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank boxermomtx
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

We agree with you, the 1896 House is “not the same….as it was a few years ago.” There have been many upgrades that have been made over the past few years. Some of these improvements include the new flat screen TV’s, faster internet connection, new beds and bedspreads, new refrigerators, and other upgrades. Significantly expanding our breakfast choices (more on...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 September 2016

All by itself 1.5 miles south of Williamstown. Would have been called a motor lodge back in the day--you park just outside your room, of which all are on the first floor. The interior is quaint with wood paneling, but it has modern amenities--cable TV, coffee maker, fridge. Their Wi-Fi was inop, and apparently has been for some time. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit with us. We love to hear from all of our guests, and we appreciate hearing about what you most enjoyed about your stay at the 1896 House! Being so close to the center of Williamstown and Williams College, yet just far enough away down Route 7, the 1896 House...

Oxford, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 September 2016

There is nothing nicer than sitting by a cool brook just outside your room and sipping wine.The setting was well off the rd.Very peaceful.. The room was very nice, and was just a short walk to the inn.The Wi-Fi worked very well,shower was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank peggy t
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit. All of us here at the 1896 House love to see our guests relaxing and having a lovely time, and we are thrilled that you did just that. In addition to the brook that runs through the property, only a short walk away is our duck pond: home to...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We planned an August road trip for a three day two night visit to Williamstown and the Clark Museum. The Williams Inn is overpriced so we stayed in one of the other recommended hostels. Generally the lodging in this area is basic two star accommodations and the 1896 House which had good recommendations was just that - OK at best...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank freeskiier
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

The Clark Museum attracts many people to visit the Berkshires every year, and we are delighted that you decided to stay with us while visiting Williamstown. Unfortunately, we do not know exactly what you are referring to by “tired and dated,” as many of our amenities have recently been updated. For example, the Wi-Fi, our televisions, the beds, and more...

North Potomac, Maryland
Reviewed 28 July 2016

My husband and I stayed in one of the suites for a nice long weekend visit. The suite was very nice and the Jacuzzi tub was wonderful. It was so nice and relaxing to sit outside. We enjoyed the breakfast and the service was very delightful. Highly recommend a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boymom2016
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind note. We are happy that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us in one of our unique suites. It is always peaceful to sit outside by the babbling brook that runs through our property, and it is wonderful to hear that you not only loved your suite, but that you also enjoyed what our beautiful...

USA
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Although we had booked a reservation for a specific room type, we were not able to stay as planned due to a mis-communication about the type of room available upon our arrival. The receptionist, Kerry, was excellent in immediately offering us other room options, apologies, and the willingness to do whatever she could to resolve the issue (Heather and Christina...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M2004
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for writing! We apologize for the miscommunication that occurred. We always do our best to resolve any issues, and under these circumstances, we were happy to refund your deposit to you. One of the many things that our guests love about staying with us is our friendly and helpful front desk staff, and we are excited to hear...

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

MA quick getaway Being in the hustle and bustle streets of NYC surely is tiring. Sometimes you wanted just to getaway but not too far. I found 1896 House in Springfield, MA. Surrounded with trees, some squirrels and a very relaxing pond. This hotel has been popular for those going to the Music Festival. The serene and quiet environment will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GianCarlaOrtiz
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us! We couldn't be any happier to hear how your quick getaway was exactly what you were looking for. Between the water landscapes, romantic footbridges, gardens, and other amenities, there is plenty of relaxation to go around. Whenever you need to escape New York City for a while, we hope that you...

127 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
3.2 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
431 reviews
2.6 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#6 of 13 in Williamstown
261 reviews
9.1 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Williamstown Motel
Williamstown Motel
#1 of 13 in Williamstown
365 reviews
0.7 km away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
209 reviews
0.0 km away
1896 House - Barnside Inn
1896 House - Barnside Inn
#5 of 10 in Williamstown
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enchanting property situated by a lovely brook and pond. Variety of immaculate & charming rooms with many bed configurations. Some rooms offer jacuzzis, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Full hot breakfast buffet included in rate. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi. Very popular restaurant on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. One handicapped accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. Sister Luxury Inn available on property. You'll never want to leave! ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels

Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Price Range: $132 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
nc
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from 1896 House - Brookside & Pondside Motels staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We always stay on Brookside. Across the highway is Pondside and seems to have more complaints about mildew smell.”
 of 5 bubbles boxermomtx, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are first floor with an exterior entrance”
 of 5 bubbles V1332FJphilm, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we were in room 109-double beds but nice size”
 of 5 bubbles peggyt832, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be near the bridge over the stream”
  • View from the bridge between our room and the pub
 of 5 bubbles larry756, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“The Barnside Suites are absolutely gorgeous.”
 of 5 bubbles heatherwR8108KG, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay