We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dancing Bear Guesthouse

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne Falls
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Dancing Bear Guesthouse
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Dancing Bear Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
Peschiera del Garda, Italy
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Unfortunately we only stayed one night but it was amazing. Coming there after a long drive during our honeymoon trip and find the room they gave us was a unexpected wedding present, room was spacious, so nice dressed up, private bath was large and comfortable. Breakfast freshly prepared and so tasty! Philip/Fillippo is a great host. Thanks again for have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
Xovox88, Owner at Dancing Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review
Google Translation

Molte grazie! Ci auguriamo che ritornare in futuro.

Reviewed 7 September 2015

Ok so when we checked in, we were brought to our room in the house across the street from the bed and breakfast. The house had our room on one side, the owners 90 year old parents lived on the other side and his niece lived upstairs with her children, so basically they rented out a extra room. The kids...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Paula P
Xovox88, Owner at Dancing Bear Guesthouse, responded to this review

Sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. When we checked the room the air conditioner was working fine, no holes, and the sugar and cream we also fine. Perhaps the insects came in when the door was open...? It's true, our family does live in the house and we do rent out this room. Many B&Bs work this way. In fact,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Beautiful home ,very comfortable large room our bathroom was across a small landing and was good and well kept we didn't have to share ,the host is very attentive and helpful, Breakfast all home made with locally sauced produced excellent. Well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
MaisieMaisie
Reviewed 21 June 2015

Recently stayed for three nights ant the Dancing Bear and was pleasantly surprised! It is quaint and quite comfortable. The Rose Room was large and well appointed and the bed was very comfortable. I was pleased to find not only a ceiling fan but an air conditioner too. Although it was warm and muggy the days I stayed there my...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaisieMaisie
Somerville, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 May 2015

I stayed here for three nights on a writing retreat and honestly, the Dancing Bear Guesthouse is one of the most pleasant places I've ever stayed. Philip is a charming and gracious host (I didn't get to meet Edith as she was traveling) who has mastered the art of welcoming-but-unobtrusive innkeeping. I only wish I got to speak to him...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
Oxted
Reviewed 8 October 2014

This is a lovely, old, family house. The rooms are a good size and our bed very comfortable. The bathroom is across the small hall but we didn't find this to be a problem. There are only two rooms on the corridor so you aren't going to bump into streams of people! Philip is very friendly & helpful with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TravellingPlatypus
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 5 September 2014

A neat B&B in a 200 year old house! Reasonable rates. Wonderful hosts with a fascinating background if you ask them. Additional rooms in a similar old house in the middle of renovation during our stay - they should be really nice, though you probably will have to walk across the street for breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart Z
New York City, New York
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My wife and I cannot stress enough what a great little place this is. We have probably stayed here at least seven or eight times in the last seven years and have always found the Dancing Bear to be clean, tidy, and full of interesting artifacts from the owners' travels and extended family. We have found the beds to be...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Slant66
Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This came highly recommended and other reviews on trip advisor also praised it especially the breakfast. We were a little under-whelmed by it. It's a cute little house with quaint rooms and the host, Philip, is easy to chat to. The rooms however, are dusty and not the cleanest. My sister had to take an anti-histamine as the dust set...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank NaHu11
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in the balcony room. The room was spacious, light and airy. The bathroom, which is across the hall was spacious and had plenty of light. The breakfasts, which were made by Philip were fantastic. Everything was freshly made and delicious. He even made a crust less quiche for my husband since...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank BelindaJA

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne Falls
9.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenfield
12.6 km away
Deerfield Inn
Deerfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Deerfield
801 reviews
32.9 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 km away
Holiday Inn Berkshires
Holiday Inn Berkshires
#2 of 3 in North Adams
207 reviews
17.8 km away
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
Red Roof PLUS+ South Deerfield
#1 of 1 in South Deerfield
446 reviews
12.0 km away
Brandt House
Brandt House
#2 of 5 in Greenfield
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Dancing Bear Guest House is a clean, comfortable bed and breakfast well-known for its excellent breakfasts which the hosts strive to source from local farms; its clean, comfortable bedrooms with high quality natural-fiber sheets, quilts, and blankets; its excellent, walking-distance location to the village center; and last-but-not-least the personal and knowledgeable care and attention of hosts, Philip and Edith. All rooms have private baths, air-conditioning, and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dancing Bear Guesthouse

Address: 22 Mechanic St, Shelburne Falls, MA 01370-1214
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Shelburne Falls
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dancing Bear Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Dancing Bear Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms depend on availability This bed and breakfast is really popular with couple and still provided a good room for me, the lone traveller.”
141arleneh, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The Balcony Room overlooks the quiet street, and was spacious and comfortable with a large private bathroom across the hall.”
SusanF1225, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have air conditioning and are generally quiet.”
Patricia1209, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the balcony room but all seemed quite comfortable, clean and well-appointed.”
MFSCT, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Didn't see the other rooms, so can't really help.”
cabin748, 26 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5