We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Blue - Inn on the Beach

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Blue - Inn on the Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Blue - Inn on the Beach
 Click to rate
Windham NH
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lark Hotel's Blue Inn on Plum Island is a diamond on the sand! First, the accommodations are top shelf. We rented a cottage - no joke this is a small home, full and modern kitchen, heated floor bathroom, private deck, full sized full cable tv.... Second, the property - frankly it's on the ocean, so that's hard to beat, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
Barre, Vermont
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Accomodations were missing the details. Little things like no lights working in the fridge or above stove. Hot tub dirty, boards broken on the deck. Lights on deck not working. Morning breakfast was a sampler. Steam shower not functioning, and ran out of hot water for showers. Access to beach had been damaged and not useable. Paint on the ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vteyes4u
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. I'm afraid you caught us right in the midst of our late-winter upgrades. This property is new to us in the last year, and we've realized that maintenance and upkeep on a beachside property such as Blue required a whole new level of upkeep due to the...

WilmingtonMA
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We had not been to Plum Island in years, and just loved our visit and stay at Blue Inn on the beach. The comfortable little cottage was spotlessly clean, and all of the Blue Crew were so accommodating. The breakfast delivered was a very nice surprise, delicious and presented very cleverly all in a nice basket. The access to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMAZZ
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Newburyport is a quaint New England beach town just an hour from Boston. My sisters and I decided to stay for a night during the Christmas Holiday. It was nice to get away from the noise and crowds in the city. We enjoyed our ocean front suite at the Blue Inn, a Lark Hotel. The 2000+ square foot accommodation was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BostonLoveAffair
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this review

We’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our gorgeous suites, as well as the warm breakfast delivered to your room. We do apologize for the issues you faced with the AppleTV, as this could have been something our manager could have walked you through to fix. Since your stay we have new management on site, so...

Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

The real rating is 3.5 stars. On the positive side, prime location, breakfast basket was a big hit with family, so was the wood stove + wood. The shower/jacuzzi was nice. On the negative side, the cottage heating was unreliable, sometimes kicking in, something's not, the toilet flush was fierce, scarring people off, and staff availability scarce even if you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank emizco
Raymond, New Hampshire
Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

The Blue inn is now opened weekends all year. We had stayed twice before under the previous management and were looking forward to return. We booked the Lark oceanfront suite. Amazing views and you can catch the sunrise from your bed. There are some housekeeping issues as stated in previous reviews but Shannon and her limited staff are always ready...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kacraymond
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this review

We’re so happy to hear that you’ve enjoyed all of your stays with us at Blue! We look forward to seeing you at another one of our properties (we have 19 more). It sounds like you were able to take advantage of the relaxation that comes with the off-season, as well as experience our high standards of customer service -...

Corinth, Texas
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

This stay was exactly what we were hoping for. Right off the beach this cozy cottage fit my family perfectly. We reserved a two bedroom Cottage that came with a comfortable living room and a well accessible kitchen. Every morning we were greeted with a breakfast basket in front of our door. The cottage came with a reserved parking spot...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Teresa O
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 14 November 2016

The views don't get better than this! Blue opened this summer under the new ownership, as part of Lark Hotels and it is a lovely boutique hotel. The staff is welcoming, friendly and ready to help. The breakfast baskets are delightful and innovative in presentation, we looked forward to them daily. We will be regulars. The oceanfront cottages could not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JD1923
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this review

We’re so happy to hear that we’ll be seeing you again! It sounds like you were truly able to enjoy all that Blue has to offer from the oceanfront cottages, to the fire pit, to the beachy decor. We look forward to having you back soon!!

Peterborough, New Hampshire
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Stayed in one of the cottages, which was pretty, but for the extra space you miss actually being able to see the water (cottages are on the opposite side of the road from the Inn) so it feels less beachy. The Inn had recently reopened after a renovation during our stay, but the same issues previously mentioned in reviews still...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank DebOnTheRoad
Amanda W, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this review

We're happy you enjoyed the pretty cottage and the breakfast basket each morning, and very sorry we missed the mark on your other expectations. Three of our cottages are indeed located across the street and lack the view of the beachfront accommodations, but those are very clearly noted on our website to prevent surprises, and the prices reflect the difference...

Cohoes, New York
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We had the best weekend at Blue. Our king 1 bedroom cottage was wonderful! Spacious. Full kitchen. Fireplace. We practically had the hot tub outback to ourselves. Just across from the beach. Shannon at the Inn was very friendly and answered any questions we had. We were able to easily bike into Newburyport to the state park, two breweries for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LOandBO
Abbey H, Public Relations Manager at Blue - Inn on the Beach, responded to this review

We are so fortunate to be located in this amazing location, and it sounds like you really took advantage of all that Plum Island has to offer! We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed many of the amenities at Blue during your stay - we’re looking forward to seeing you again for another great weekend of relaxation!

103 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plum Island
5.8 km away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
418 reviews
21.7 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
502 reviews
5.4 km away
Essex Street Inn & Suites
Essex Street Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Newburyport
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
165 reviews
13.4 km away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
854 reviews
10.2 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Amesbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Escape to Blue - Inn on The Beach; a world away, but just around the corner. Nestled in the dunes of secluded Plum Island, Blue’s 13 accommodations include Oceanfront Suites along with family- and pet-friendly cottages. For the ultimate getaway choose the Oceanfront Cottage, the two-story Blue Suite, or the exclusive Lark Suite. Make your vacation an unforgettable one here at Blue. Blue - Inn on The Beach; private, luxurious and like nothing else. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Blue - Inn on the Beach

Address: 20 Fordham Way, Plum Island, MA 01951-2101 (Formerly blue The Inn on the Beach)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Plum Island
Price Range: $329 - $661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue - Inn on the Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Blue - Inn on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue The Inn On The Beach Hotel Newbury
Blue Hotel Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Blue - Inn on the Beach staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
Boston, Massachusetts
9 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Blue - Inn on the Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The pet friendly cottage was perfect for us and our best friend.”
LMAZZ, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cottages are across the street from the rooms in the main inn.”
DebOnTheRoad, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We enjoyed the privacy of the second level.”
HKC1010, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms have only one set of neighbors and a private staircase going to the beach”
alyssabpetry, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book the Lark Suite - you will not regret it.”
  • Sunrise Views
  • Oceanview Lark Suite
  • Private Balcony from Lark Suite
  • Oceanview Lark Suite
  • Oceanview Lark Suite
  • Sunrise Views
  • Entranceway
joericchio79, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5