We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Northampton

Visit hotel website
Traveller (93)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (12)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Restaurant
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Business
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website
Special Deal:Free ContinentalBreakfast

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
75Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
21Attractionswithin 0.5 km
504Reviews
141Photos
10Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 145
  • 173
  • 94
  • 44
  • 48
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
My boyfriend booked Room 500 (a king room with balcony overlooking Coolidge Park & downtown Northampton) to celebrate our first Valentine’s Day. It had to have been the nicest room in the hotel and it definitely did not disappoint. The room was huge and very tastefully
Read more
Response from LorraineS1996, Sales Manager at Hotel Northampton
Responded 5 days ago
Dear Merri; Thank you for writing this wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Valentine's Day stay with us. We hope you visit again to celebrate future special occasions! Warmest regards, Lorraine S
Read more
Hotel's Favourite
I have stayed at the Hotel Northampton more than 30 times and always been happy with my stay. When I am in the I-91 area heading to Vermont or Western Mass I normally stay here. I am often traveling with my family and the hotel has been a nice place for my kids (though
Read more
Response from Lorraine S, Social Sales Catering Manager at Hotel Northampton
Responded 13 Jun. 2018
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your continued patronage, we are delighted that you visit us often! We hope to see you soon. Warmest regards,
Read more
We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Smith College and downtown, and we wanted a special stay. I had to book the hotel almost a year in advance and I agreed to an exorbitant nightly price and three night minimum based on the fact that I was told I would get a refund
Read more
Response from LorraineS1996, Sales Manager at Hotel Northampton
Responded 1 week ago
Dear John C; Thank you for your review of your May 2018 stay at the Hotel Northampton. Graduation is a very important event in one’s life and we respect that. Being a high demand hotel in the area, our guests do book their reservations usually one year in advance and our confirmations indicate the three-night minimum stay requirement. We do our best to provide a wonderful experience for this very special occasion. Our General Manager has spoken with you several times regarding the three-night minimum stay. We certainly apologize for any misunderstanding; however, we are unable to refund or offer a complimentary future stay. As a courtesy, we would be delighted to provide you a very desirable rate and VIP treatment for you and your family on your next visit to Northampton. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sincerely,
Read more
Wow, what an awful experience! We arrived and parked in the rear parking lot. There are no bell hops, no one to help with luggage. We had to enter through the nondescript rear of the building, and once inside, we saw how rundown this place is - and how oddly decorated - creepy,
Read more
highly DISAPPOINTED in the customer service at this hotel. I am planning a wedding in the Northampton area for September 2019. The hotel options are limited, as many venues have agreements with other hotels in the area (my venue not being one of them) so I could make blocks are
Read more
Response from LorraineS1996, Sales Manager at Hotel Northampton
Responded 5 Jan. 2019
Dear C.A., We are terribly sorry to receive your feedback below; and are very disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction. We did not get the impression of your discontent through your emails we’ve corresponded thus far and up to the most recent email you sent few days ago requesting for more overnight rooms added into your block. As we had explained previously (and also noted in your signed agreement dated October 2018), additional rooms needed are only based on availability and not guaranteed. As explained prior, your requested weekend is an highly demanded Fall weekend. For 106 rooms-hotel, we too also have to account for accommodations for our in-house wedding guests as well as other social events hosted and blocks inquires prior to your request therefore, our Sales department book room blocks up to a certain percentage of inventory; after which any availability are open for guests to book on individual basis. If we may clarify, we reserved a block of 17 rooms for you plus an additional 10 rooms at our Marriott hotel nearby; we accommodated your block with a few more rooms above our general guideline of 10 rooms block. We would like to add that the Hotel Northampton is undergoing rooms renovation and by September 2019, the rooms will be fully renovated for your guests to experience. Should your guests choose to stay with us, we look forward to hearing about their experience after their stay. All and all, both of our hotels in Northampton are in high demand year round and run full occupancy in the Fall months, while servicing many holiday events and weddings. All of your emails and calls have been responded to as quickly as possible given the volume of requests handled each day and in the order they’re received. If you have any concerns or questions, please do not hesitate to call us directly and we would be happy to assist you further. Thank you.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Business Centre & Event Rooms
PreviousNext
1234567
NO, you should have your own arrangement.
1 vote
Show all answers
Does this hotel have a hot tub?
Thank you for your interest in the Hotel Northampton! The hotel does not have a public hot tub. We do have room types that have whirl pool jets in the tub in the bathroom. These are standard size tubs. Please let us know if we can assist you any further.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi, I'm afraid I can't help with this. It's best to check with the hotel directly.
1 vote
Show all answers
Where to park?
They have parking behind the property. Parking was no problem.
0 votes
Show all answers
Where to park?
Easy. Free parking behind hotel in their lot.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"Don't get 311"
"Be aware that some rooms have more stairs than others for access. There is an elevator but the layout is not your typical hotel."
"We stayed in the Bridal suite and it was musty, the walls were stained, and the shower was brown and disgusting! DO NOT STAY HERE!"
"Don't do it! Find another place like the Delaney House just down the road, or across the river."
"Ask for a renovated room."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
USD 156 - USD 217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsNorthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
106
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing