We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Julietta House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Julietta House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 27: English reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

My husband and I arrived early on the first day. Susan was more than willing to allow us to come in HOURS before we were supposed to be there. The place is adorable and very well kept! The location is great! Everything you could need or want is in walking distance! Susan gave us some recommendations of places to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Although we never met the owner she was helpful over the internal phone. Location, location, location...hence the overpriced room. When I booked I knew there wasn't any breakfast but the listing really shouldn't be in the B&B category. There was a coffee machine which made disgustingly weak coffee and the opportunity to have some cereal. The room which typically authentic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MatthewASharp
Management response:

Tv Lounge? It's a beautiful ante-room with a carved mantle fire place, gold leaf picture rail behind Italian Gothic pocket doors. Ironed cotton sheets.....$125/night overpriced? I will learn over and over again...discounts are a bad idea.

Reviewed 25 September 2016

We had a good stay there. Good directions to access and enter the house and the room. A clean and quiet room. A 5 minutes walk to the waterfront and a good breakfast although as french guests, we were expecting some bread ;-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacques D
Management response:

Thank you for the positive review. It is becoming clear that weekenders are back and they want breakfast, phone chargers and someone at the door. We are considering the feedback. Thanks again.

Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This place is very nice to stay at while visiting Gloucester, MA. Rooms are very spacious and clean. It's not really a B&B but you have access to use the kitchen. Coffee, tea available. Great living, dining and porch to hang out in. close to downtown Gloucester, walking distance to the ocean. My daughter stayed here for three months while...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skcTC
Management response:

What a breath of fresh air. Much appreciated!

Supply, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I was not expecting anyone to greet me at the door. Nor was I expecting a bountiful breakfast in the morning but this should be listed as a boarding house and not a B&B! We arrived later in the evening and had to traverse the stairs in the dark. There is no functioning hallway light nor any light to be...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marilyn H
Management response:

Your review is just kind of.. MEAN Spirited toward me, my guests and the person who failed you by making this reservation. Julietta House is a Casually Elegant Guest House. It's not a B&B. Not a hotel. The Registration Card; Confirmation and Arrival Instructions; all read: Please Call or text Susan at 978 509 6000 AT ARRIVAL and for any...

Gloucester, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 April 2016

great location for Gloucester We didn't see anyone when we arrived, but the owner was nice and helpful on the phone, wasn't used to accommodation being set up so the house keycode is left outside and your room keys are in the room doors already. I guess Gloucester is a smaller and safer place than I have been used to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sdj1664
Management response:

I invite you to stay here and write a review. Julietta House offers luxury rooms - self-catered - footsteps to downtown, the waterfront and the train to Boston - at a fair and reasonable price. We do not greet guests at the door and we do not offer breakfast. Our confirmations express this verbatim. Julietta House is historically interesting and...

Reviewed 25 August 2014

A rather confusing place to stay. When we arrived on a Saturday the house door was wide open and the key in the basket by the door as arranged. There was a man watching the tv who we presumed was another guest. Although he wasn't very communicative. No one to welcome us. We read the guest instruction booklet(seemed to have...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Sue D
Management response:

This review made in 2014 needs an updated response. To restate: We have been "self-catered" no breakfast, no daily maid service since 2005. We send written information to inform guests clearly how we operate but we can not make guests read the information. Also, sometimes people read and don't understand until they are experiencing it. The Julietta House is best...

Rochdale, Massachusetts
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had two nights here and enjoyed it very much. The owners are friendly and easy to work with. It's a self-catered house, like in Europe. But that suits us fine as we prefer to eat on our own schedule. You rent the room, but you get the use of the living areas of the house, you could even cook...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jerome E
Florida
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I recently stayed at the Julietta House with my husband and two small children. We had never stayed at a B&B before and were a little nervous as to what to expect. Upon first talking to the owner, I was impressed by the personal attention. She took special care to try to find the best available room to accommodate my...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Lotuswaters
Lansing, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 June 2012

How does this accommodation qualify as a "Bed and Breakfast" when they don't offer breakfast?

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank NvrPerfect
juliettahouse, Owner at Julietta House, responded to this review

Julietta House, Casually Elegant Accommodations is a self-catered guesthouse. It's not a hotel. Not really an Inn. Not a B&B. Our house is gracious and welcoming, our rooms are very clean and comfortable. We stopped offering breakfast in 2004. We offer complimentary coffee and tea any time. You may bring in your own food and use the kitchen. You may...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.7 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
125 reviews
4.8 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
494 reviews
2.5 km away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
359 reviews
1.0 km away
Harborview Inn
Harborview Inn
#2 of 18 in Gloucester
85 reviews
1.9 km away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Casually Elegant Inn Rooms in an Architecturally delightful, 16 room, Grand NeoClassic Manor. Footsteps to Main Street, Gloucester Harbor and the train to Boston. All private baths. Free WIFI, off street parking. Morning coffee, tea and bottled water. Short walk to several breakfast shops. Rates for the night, week or by the month. She is not a B&B. We employ a self-catered concept since 2005. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Julietta House

Address: 84 Prospect St, Gloucester, MA 01930-3710
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Price Range: $196 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Julietta House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julietta House Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Julietta House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Julietta House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Captains Room which has a deck.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolecO1132VN, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles 348marilynh, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay