We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Harborview Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harborview Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 77: English reviews
Start your review of Harborview Inn
 Click to rate
San Jose, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for one night. It was in March so it's off season which made the stay at the inn and the town quiet and peaceful. Just the way I like it! The inn was clean and quaint with an amazing view of the harbor which is just across the street. John, the inn owner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
Johngloucester, Manager at Harborview Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. Come back any time!

Naugatuck, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The Harborview Inn was warm, welcoming and comfortable. You can tell the Harborview is lovingly taken care of. Very much enjoyed chatting with our Host John. The location is excellent, the Continental Breakfast was plentiful and very good and we loved the fact that the sea walk was right across the street. *Free parking is a bonus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BARussell
Grand River, Ohio
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

The main house of this historic hotel is fabulous. Cozy yet chic. Staff is very friendly and professional. Little trouble with housekeeping. Stayed two nights and still hadn't made up the room at 4 in the afternoon. After a reminder to the front desk it was promptly done...but they left dirty glasses and no new bag for the ice bucket....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathi H
Johngloucester, Owner at Harborview Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry you had trouble with housekeeping at the unrelated property. Your review of the Harborview Inn you stayed at is not the property you reviewed. We are a six room bed and breakfast in Gloucester, Ma. We do not have a Matthew room nor a front desk, and certainly would not have made such a serious mistake...

Camden, Delaware
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Loved our stay. Tremendous hospitality. Highly recommend the Gloucester room. Would have given the stay 5 stars but the breakfast was not a hot meal. Nice baked goods and beverages, but the eggs were cold hard boiled and no meat. Breakfast got the job done, but nothing special. Saying that, we would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hlahccrp
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Old and not that charming. Not a very friendly greeting for a B&B. Very noisy at night when other guests arrived late. Stale cookies in the lobby. Shower was almost unusable. Would NOT stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
Johngloucester, Owner at Harborview Inn, responded to this review

Hi Bonnie, We are sorry we didn't provide you with an enjoyable stay, but we thank you for giving us a 3 star rating. If your greeting was anything other than cheerful, we apologize. If it was an issue with parking, and we had to ask you to move, we do hope you understand you were not parked on our...

Hinsdale, IL
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The location was nice. Right across from the waterfront. A short walk away from town. The family run inn were very helpful. The breakfast was good. There were cookies and tea/coffee available most of the day. If in Gloucester I would recommend this inn. Free pkg off street. Also free on street pkg.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chopin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Great little find.lovely property in great location.John perfect host..When sat on porch and everyone passing looking at property.say no more.Property right on seafront with great views.We were there on labor day weekend coinsiding with Gloucester Regatta and fireworks display.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derekbowles
New York
Reviewed 27 August 2016

We booked this Inn for the nights of August 12-14, 2016 based upon two factors that I confirmed with the management before booking, knowing that one night's deposit was non-refundable. knowing that the room was upstairs in this old Inn, I checked to see if negotiating the stairs would be a problem since I am partially disabled and use a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank traveler1914
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The Inn was great!! Very clean - the owner John is very personable and very friendly. He is a great host. Rooms cleaned every day. The Inn is located right on the Harbor - walking distance to shopping and restaurants!! I would definitely recommend this place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank km1958
Windsor, Connecticut
Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

John, our host, really added to the wonderful environment the Harborview Inn provided. The Inn was lovely, clean and quaint and centrally located so you could walk to town and to many of the sights that Gloucester has to offer. The front porch was a great place to sit and watch the boats and those enjoying the Fisherman's Memorial. John...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gloucester
0.5 km away
Beauport Hotel
Beauport Hotel
#3 of 7 in Gloucester
165 reviews
3.1 km away
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
Atlantis Oceanfront Inn
#1 of 7 in Gloucester
362 reviews
5.7 km away
Rockport Inn and Suites
Rockport Inn and Suites
#3 of 6 in Rockport
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn
#4 of 7 in Gloucester
410 reviews
2.8 km away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
376 reviews
3.0 km away
Sea Lion Motel
Sea Lion Motel
#5 of 7 in Gloucester
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Harborview Inn

Address: Stacey Boulevard - 71 Western Avenue, Gloucester, MA 01930
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Ann > Gloucester
Price Range: $159 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harborview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Harborview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborview Inn Gloucester, MA - Cape Ann
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harborview Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
10 months ago
chatham, ny
over a year ago
Newark, Delaware, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Harborview Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a quiet room, but I think they all are😀”
chopin, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“magnolia suite.on top floor”
derekbowles, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The beautiful Manchester Room has a GREAT view of the harbor!”
BarbP159, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Room #3 is upstairs in the front, and the only room that has a view. Other rooms might be a bit more quiet, as the Inn is on the main road.”
Globetrker, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Manchester room was great.”
dglong0608, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5