We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

North Shore Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
North Shore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for North Shore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Stockport
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We arrived to the hotel a little before the stated check-in time but it was no bother it was quick and easy. The hotel was going under renovation and changing to a Best Western Plus hotel. This didn't cause any problems at all to our stay. The lobby was decorated with Halloween stuff it was fab. The rooms are spacious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandraw7
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review of us here. Glad you liked our Halloween decorations. We're so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Monroe, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016

unfamiliar with the area and on a budget I booked based on price and the online photos. I called and spoke to a polite young man, Johnny, who explained they were undergoing renovations on the outside....inside to begin in November. We were never awakened by the construction taking place. He assured me the pics on the site were accurate as... More 

Helpful?
Thank 38rebeccak
Level Contributor
255 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

I stayed here once before and was very happy with the hotel, this time I left with some mixed feelings. I stayed on the first floor, which felt more like a basement - they're doing construction so you couldn't even look out the window because it was covered. The room was nice, microwave and fridge were great - clean and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve O
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience here. I'm sorry not everything was as you expected. I do apologize that your window was covered by the stucco crew while you were here. I am surprised you didn't find our staff to be welcoming, that is typically something we are great at here and apologize we weren't great with you. I hope... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a girls weekend in salem ma. Upon arrival the lobby was decked out for Halloween and very cool. Cannot say enough for the staff working the afternoon and evening shift- they were courteous and fun to speak with. Our room was very clean and spacious with comfortable beds. When we returned from our salem adventure around... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane H
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a nice review of us here! I'm so pleased you found our staff to be fun. We take pride in giving the best service we can here and I'm glad you saw that. Again, I appreciate the excellent comments and we all look forward to having you back here!! More 

Cranston, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Considering the hotel is under major renovations,,, it did not effect the stay we had. The staff from front desk right to housekeeping were friendly accommodating and cheerful. The hotel manager, Chad Hanson could not have been more wonderful. Will stay again...

Helpful?
Thank 930tammy
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words about me and my team here! Hope to see you again soon!! More 

Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed her while visiting the area for a whale watch. The hotel was okay. It was under construction as it is going to be a best western I believe. The room was okay. The indoor pool was FREEZING and there is no outdoor pool as they advertise online. The area around the indoor pool is extremely dangerous. It's a tile... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2BelleMaman17
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm so sorry you didn't like our pool area. We keep our pool at 83-84 degrees year round. We are renovating the pool area over the winter and the deck will be replaced entirely. We removed the outdoor pool this spring and took all pictures and info about it... More 

1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel was great. The bed was amazing best sleep I've gotten in a long time. There are renervations going on but other than that room was very clean. Staff was very nice and the breakfast was great, a lot of variety. Conveniently located with in 6 miles of Salem. If I travel back to the area this hotel will definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank jade b
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the nice review of your stay with us. I'm very proud of our staff here, and I'm so happy you found us to be a nice bunch. We love that you will make us your 1st choice when back in the area here! Thanks again. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Horrible place, dirty, smelly and very overpriced. Thick layer of dust on the coffee machine and around the TV. Bathroom was dirty and the shower curtain stank. Can't believe I paid over $100 to stay here!!! Makes me feel sick thinking about this place. Breakfast was bland and tasteless.

Helpful?
Thank LJLancaster
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

I'm very disappointed in us that you left here feeling the way you did about your stay with us. I apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not up to par, and that you didn't enjoy our breakfast offerings. This is not typical of a stay with us. More 

1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here on Oct. 12th after spending the day in Salem. When we checked in, we were greeted by Johnny and his huge smile. We were tired and hungry, Johnny was super friendly and gave us a menu for a great pizza place that delivered. We stayed in room 209, a huge room with a king... More 

Helpful?
Thank kwest99
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of your time here with us! I am so pleased our staff took great care of you during your stay. Johnny and Mary are very proud to be mentioned in your review! We'll make sure the pool is set at 84 degrees as it should be... More 

Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I booked this place because I was spending a few days exploring Salem during the Halloween festivities. It had decent reviews and was close enough to Salem. They charged me over $200 a night so I figured it should be a pretty nice place. I knew they were renovating the hotel so I wasn't surprised when I arrived. However, after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven C
Chad H, General Manager at North Shore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to share your experience here. I am very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. We made a mistake by assigning you to a room that was undergoing maintenance work to start off your stay. Human error is to blame for that and I am sorry your first impression was skewed so negatively. I understand... More 

72 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danvers
3.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston North Shore
8.9 km away
Salem Waterfront Hotel & Suites
1.0 km away
TownePlace Suites Boston North Shore/Danvers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
SpringHill Suites Boston Peabody
5.1 km away
Hampton Inn Boston/Peabody
6.0 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Boston-Peabody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The North Shore Hotel is conveniently located just 15 miles north of Boston and seven miles from historic Salem. This Danvers, MA hotel in the Greater Boston area is near scenic Rockport & Gloucester, Salem State College, Gordon College, Endicott College, the Salem Witch Museum, the Peabody Essex Museum, the New England Aquarium and the Museum of Science, Boston. Additional points of interest include: •Bunker Hill Monument, a Boston National Historical Park site •Hammond Castle Museum •Salem Wax Museum •Salisbury Beach State Reservation •Cape Ann Whale Watch This Greater Boston area hotel is only minutes from the seacoast and mountains. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about North Shore Hotel

Address: 50 Dayton Street, Danvers, MA 01923 (Formerly Comfort Inn North Shore)
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Danvers
Price Range: $117 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Shore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your North Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Shore Hotel Danvers
North Shore Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn North Shore Danvers
Comfort Inn Danvers
Danvers Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from North Shore Hotel staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from North Shore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor are still not renovated, but still clean and comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles Pam1961, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Due to noise levels, I'd recommend 5th floor...at least you wouldn't have neighbors above. Just on the sides.”
 of 5 bubbles kimberlyd645, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Dirty and smelly and a bad experience.”
 of 5 bubbles stevencR8449NC, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not a nice place to stay but close to malls”
  • Looking out of the window
  • Plastic wrap over windows, to left is installation to building (pink)
 of 5 bubbles gotheworld, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay away for the construction being done on the building”
 of 5 bubbles Sandandsun70, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay