We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sweetwater Forest Campground

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brewster
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Sweetwater Forest Campground
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sweetwater Forest Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 145: English reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We checked in here this morning and love it. This is our first family camping trip.we looked into several other campgrounds where we were told that as tenters we could be right next to an RV. The bathrooms here aren't great but why should I care if I am camping? There isn't a pool but so what when the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christina G
Oneonta, New York
Reviewed 11 August 2016

For more than a dozen years we've been coming to this campground each year. We were blessed with great weather this year, although I understand they're in a drought here and they actually wanted some precip. When we first got there I discovered the hot water heater didn't work in our camper. Not only did it not work, but the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DavidBrandt67
Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Sweetwater forest is a pristine, family friendly Campground that makes a wonderful home base for all your activities on the Cape. Pride of ownership resonates from every corner of this Campground. Sites are immaculate, as are the bath houses and rest rooms. This Campground is professionally run by people who truly care (ask for Heather, she is a peach!). The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa F
ny
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Great location, pretty clean and in the center of Cape Cod. Would be the best to update showers for a next year, but at least they always very clean. All the rest no complain just applauds. Enjoying this place already 15 years started with my kids and now continue with a grandkids.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank zirik
Sweetwater_Forest, Owner at Sweetwater Forest Campground, responded to this review

Thank you!! We appreciate your comments, and do plan to upgrade the showers. What many people don't realize was the immense amount of money that we spent to save the campground from the effects of the giant building that would have been erected crossing Sweetwater Forest's road, with us being required to move the road & too many trees and...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We just arrived after 4 days in the campground and since day 1 we were really disappointed. The wifi which is announced high speed is nothing but high speed, it´s very slow. The bathrooms are terrible. First of all, they are dirty, they are only cleaned once a day, and it seems they don´t use any bleach to disinfect. Normally...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maliul
Sweetwater_Forest, Owner at Sweetwater Forest Campground, responded to this review

Our family has been providing great Cape Cod Camping since our parents established Sweetwater Forest in 1958. This review is full of many inaccurate statements and is far from what most campers feel & write about Sweetwater Forest. We had many complaints about these people from other camping clients. These reviewers neglected to say they received a refund, or that...

PA
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

I like sitting outside and enjoying reading and having my tea in the morning. Let's just say....There is so many moths, that I feel like they could pick you up and carry you away. I live in the Poconos, so it is not like I come from the city. Wifi not the greatest...had to do att hot spot to use...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieoaklyPA
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Sweetwater for 8 days and had a great time. We had a 32 ft fifth wheel that was easy to park, large site, and easy water/electric hook up. Grey water dump was available at campsite as well. Staff was excellent to deal with. Lots of bike riding, fishing, and playgrounds for the kids. Clean bathrooms as well!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MFK16
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 June 2016

It has been several years since I have been here, and little has changed. While some of this is good: great sites situated in forested area, great location, and friendly staff; some is not so good: the bathrooms are run-down and significantly sub-standard. The management needs to get out and see other campgrounds and see their competition. Their competition is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Casey96
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

Ok so I need to start off by saying I have been going to sweetwater every year since I was born, And as so my father also spent his summers here as a child. I have had nothing but good things to say. The place is safe and great for young children, and all the sights are nice and well...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fruitsbasket1
Auburn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 19 April 2016

My husband and I are long time campers. We spend more than 130 nights per year in our trailer traveling mostly around New England. Sweetwater Forest is without a doubt one of our favorite destinations. Large, clean, wooded sites with great fire pits. We have stayed in at least 10 different sites over the years and have been happy in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan P

179 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (151)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (146)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brewster
17.5 km away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,200 reviews
4.2 km away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
34.0 km away
Peters Pond RV Resort
Peters Pond RV Resort
#1 of 4 in Sandwich
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
2.4 km away
Sea Meadow Inn at Isaiah Clark House
3.4 km away
Brewster By The Sea
Brewster By The Sea
#5 of 9 in Brewster
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Services
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sweetwater Forest, established by our family in 1958, features 250 campsites artfully spread over 75+ acres of Native Cape Cod woodland, with frontage on a lake for fishing & canoeing. Sweetwater offers a Separate Tenting Area, some sites with beautiful views of the lake & our retired cranberry bog- a haven for wildlife. On site modern amenities are available, & Camp Store has plenty of extras you may need-and ready to eat lunches-perfect for a day at beach or biking the Cape Cod Rail Trail. Our Roster of in-camp recreation includes 6 Playgrounds, Basketball, Canoe Rentals, Miniature Golf, Horseshoes & the Log Cabin Lodge where the game need not be missed! Pets are welcome, but may not be left alone on sites. Paws A While, our day boarding Kennel has a limited number of spots, is air conditioned, and dogs are walked. SWEETWATER FOREST's CENTRAL LOCATION MAKES IT THE PERFECT HOME-BASE FROM WHICH TO TOUR ALL THE CAPE & ISLANDS HAVE TO OFFER-WHETHER STAYING FOR THE WEEKEND-OR THE SEASON! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sweetwater Forest Campground

Address: 676 Harwich Rd, Brewster, MA 02631-5269
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Brewster
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Price Range: $36 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 250
Also Known As:
Sweetwater Forest Campground Hotel Brewster
Sweetwater Forest Campground Brewster, MA - Cape Cod
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sweetwater Forest Campground staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sweetwater Forest Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great camping ground to be with kids and enjoy Cape Cod in the summer”
zirik, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Sites near the lodge are all very spacious.”
raymonda874, 9 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We loved A-42 (or any of that little loop)”
  • A-42
Lovetotravel352, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“if you are tent camping make sure to book the c section site c-25 if perfect for families and its huge!”
316kelseyr, 26 May 2015 | Read review
“Best in the area: Cottage Bakery in Orleans (their "Dirtbomb" muffins sell out by noon each day), Ice Cream Cafe in Orleans (best home-made ice cream on the Cape!), Brewster Store (an institution in its own right), and Nauset Lobster Pool (pick out which ones you want and they will cook them while you wait).”
Casey96, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5