We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Beach Bum Motel

Booking.comUSD 70*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 70*
USD 70*
USD 70*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Beach Bum Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Beach Bum Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 January 2017

My recent stay at Beach Bum Motel was absolutely great! the room was very clean and sold to me at a great price. I personally went through one of the managers there, Alex Bull, to book my room and he made sure that my stay was absolutely amazing. I would highly recommend this motel for a family or even a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank avon g
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Green, We appreciate your kind words and look forward to seeing you again this upcoming summer. Feel free to give us a call so that I can help you again. Sincerely, AJ

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

My family and I recently visited beach bum motel on 9th street, and we had a great experience! The room was spotless and the bathroom was kept clean! The motel manager Alex was a huge help and got us a great price on a room. I will be back soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jchowe
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Howe, The entire Beach Bum Motel Family appreciates your kind words and all ways looks forward to seeing you during your annual visits to the beach. We appreciate your booking loyalty to Beach Bum over the last several years. Tell the family that we said hello and that we will see them this summer. Sincerely, AJ

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

My family & I went on a 1 week trip to ocean city. We didn't want to spend a ton on a motel we would barely be at so when I found this place I was excited. It was perfectly fine for what we wanted. The price was right, the staff was friendly, the pool was nice and the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
BeachBummet, General Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Stephanie. We cannot wait to welcome you back in 2017!

East Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Place was decent. Clean, quiet nice. I would have to say the only complaint I would have would be the beds. There was 4 of us. 1 couple n 2 singles so our studio had 2 bed and 1 pull out couch. The beds were like big pillows but not in a good way. It felt like your body was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank I4443HNdavidm
BeachBummet, General Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your input. We will take a look at our beds and pull out mattresses, and make sure they are updated as needed for the 2017 season, since we're already closed for this season. Hope you give "the beds" another chance next time you come to Ocean City, Md. We sure hope to see you and...

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We were supposed to stay at one of the cottages for a week. When we arrived it was filthy, disgusting & there were bugs & flies throughout the cottage. It wasn't even cleaned before we arrived. The toilet had urine & feces in it. The rugs had dead flies smashed into it & the couches had stains on it. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
BeachBummet, General Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Lauren, It appears that you have confused us with one of the privately owned cottages/condominiums that you had rented via the condo office that's located on our property for the key pick up/drop off location for condo guests. Beach Bum is completely separately run from the independently owned condo/cottage rentals, with a completely different cleaning and maintenance staff. Also,...

East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This place was exactly what we needed for a short little vacation, our room was spacious and clean, could of brought another couple with us to use the pull out couch, lots of room, great location to the boardwalk and bay and they also have a great pool to swim at, just what we needed!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
BeachBummet, General Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Kyle, thank you for your comments. We hope to see you back in 2017!

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here the past few years but will never return after this year. It's no frills, but I go to the beach for the beach so that doesn't bother me. However, when I am paying over $100 a night for a place to sleep, I'd like to be able to sleep. The people in the room beside us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole N
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Nicole, I am sorry for the inconvenience that you had while staying at the Beach Bum Motel, and would like to apologize on behalf of the staff and the guests that were disrupting your stay. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us as you have for the past 4 years. Sincerely, AJ

Reviewed 4 August 2016 via mobile

Whoever gave this hotel good reviews should experience a decent hotel. The front desk consists of one teenager. The hotel is old and rundown. The pool is tiny and there isn't a decent view to be had from anywhere. If you're coming here to drink and party, passing out here would be ok, but to stay here on vacation is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexander D
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Alexander, We appreciate your comments, but our staff is 19-26 years old because of the seasonal help that comes to Ocean City. Our pool is average size for a motel of this size anywhere in Ocean City. Unfortunately like you said our Motel does not offer any type of view and nor do we advertise one. We wish that...

Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

ok there's this little manager dude who walks around and yells at everyone for no reason. if you're one minute past 10 he makes you sign an eviction notice. do not stay here they just tryna make money, place blows and they don't give you towels!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis G
BeachBummet, Guest Relations Manager at Beach Bum Motel, responded to this review

Dear Alexis, Sorry about anything that made you unhappy with our establishment, but we are very strict during the month of June because of previous problems that all of Ocean City has gone through with High school seniors.

Clarksville, MD
Reviewed 14 September 2015

My boyfriend, our daughter and I stayed in a "studio" room for 3 nights. I was looking for something with a full kitchen, this room had it. It's old, it's a motel. For $59 a night, I wasn't expecting the Ritz. It was clean and had a lot more room than I was expecting. Our room was in the back...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Crishultz

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.1 km away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
1,967 reviews
1.3 km away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
2,902 reviews
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#7 of 103 in Ocean City
671 reviews
0.2 km away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
955 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Beach Bum Motel

Address: 203 9th Street, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Price Range: $101 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Beach Bum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beach Bum Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Beach Bum Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Studio room is very spacious and has full kitchen.”
Crishultz, 14 Sep 2015 | Read review
“good cheap motel”
142tabithas, 19 Aug 2015 | Read review
“rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter. The efficency rooms are very nice”
Patti419, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Someplace else!”
MarylandPoolshark, 8 Sep 2014 | Read review
“The effiency Rooms are great”
923tracyj, 7 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 70* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUSD 70
TripAdvisorUSD 70
PricelineUSD 70
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates