We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Lodges at Sunset Village

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Lodges at Sunset Village
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Ellicott City, Maryland
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Spent the weekend of July 4th at the Lodges. First time staying at Deep Creek Lake. My wife and I stayed in cabin # 2, part of a set of 5 cabins located on the lake. The cabins were very nice and clean. However, these cabins were very new and the issue we had was the smell of stain used...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jrzj42
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time to give us a review of your stay here during our summer season. Cabin 2 is located on our new lake front location with dock access and we apologize that your experience was not quite what your were looking for, however we hope that you will come and stay in one our lake front cabins...

Maryland
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Great location...close to bars, restaurants ski slopes...the cabins were amazing.... clean and new. The dock has an beautiful view of the lake. I would highly recommend this to everyone....I'll definitely be a return guest!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bigmama0f2
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us a review. It sounds like you had a great time here at the cabins and in Deep Creek Lake. We look forward to having you stay again soon. Winter season in Deep Creek lake is beautiful! Thank you LaDonna Stem Manager

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Our wonderful stay at the Lodge at Sunset Village began at check-in. We were met by LaDonna, who was so welcoming and gracious. She did everything possible to ensure that our first vacation to Deep Creek Lake was a memorable one; from making sure that our cabin experience was spot on, to dining and touring recommendations, to entertainment suggestions. TOP...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anna_and_kevin
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This cabin stay was not quite what I was expecting. First, I booked the place looking at a layout of the cabins on-line. I booked unit 45. It was depicted as a unit on the opposite side of the road as all the other cabins except 1. We arrived to check in and found that we had booked unit L45....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph B
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us a review of your stay. Our cabins are set up like a hotel suite and some are single cabins and adjoining cabins for family groups. I apologize that the cabin that you were in was not what you expected and hopefully you will get a chance to come back to deep creek,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin just up the hill from the rentals office and overlooking the lake. Whilst we were initially a little surprised that it was separated from the water by a busy highway we didn't find it to be a problem and really enjoyed the better views it afforded. The log cabin was smartly furnished, spacious and maintained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmhayes
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

Thank You! for the nice comments and your review of your stay. We appreciate all of our guest feedback of their stay and it sounds like you were able to enjoy cabin and also use the common patio area to grill out during your stay. We hope that you will come back again for a future stay. Thank you again...

Reviewed 19 September 2016

Absolutely LOVED this place. The cabin is beautiful, super clean and much bigger than I had anticipated. The staff was amazing and very helpful. We loved having access to the gas grill and fire pit. We grilled out both evenings. The cabin has everything you need to be able to grill including spatula, fork and pot holders. We loved being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jan G
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to use all the amenities that the cabins have to offer. We are close to all activities of the lake , however we are up on the mountain side that is quiet and you can enjoy the sounds of nature. We are a...

Abingdon, Maryland
Reviewed 17 September 2016

My wife and I just checked out of a 4 night stay and we really liked the experience. We stayed in Cabin 1 which 1 of 2 Cabins directly on the lake. There are 3 other cabins within the same small complex which are just a few steps away from the Lake also. The original Cabins are a short drive...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom L
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to give us a review of your stay. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our lake front cabins, they are within walking distance to Pinelodge Steakhouse and across the road from Smileys Pizza and go carts and mini-golf. We hope that you will come back again soon and enjoy the cabins again. Thank...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the new lake front cabin and it was a great vacation for my family. The cabin is very clean and comfortable. We really enjoyed the lake front view. It is also very pet friendly. My two dogs had a great time hiking and going on the boat ride with us. My kids also enjoyed playing miniature golf...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cll55
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

It was nice to hear that you enjoyed the lake front cabins and also walking distance to Smileys Fun Zone. We want to thank you for taking time to give us a review and that you were able to enjoy hiking at the beautiful state parks and most of all being able to bring your Dog to enjoy all of...

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Summary: A couple of quirks, but overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Cabin 53. Arrival: We arrived a little early and were told the room would be ready in a few hours after it’d been serviced. No worries there; we just drove off and explored a little of Deep Creek Lake for a little while. Upon returning to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank resabug
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking time the give a review of your stay. We will take your suggestions and comments seriously and will look into everything . We do apologize that your hot tub was not working during your stay , We hope that you will come back again and we will make sure that you get to experience the hot...

Bel Air, MD
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We just returned from a three night stay at the Lodges at Sunset Village. We were there to attend a wedding and had never visited Deep Creek. The cabins exceeded our expectations! They were immaculate and loaded with all the modern amenities necessary to make it comfortable...Do not let the word "Cabin" scare you away. Our unit had a gas...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FOOOG
DCLSmiley, Manager at The Lodges at Sunset Village, responded to this review

Thank you for all of your nice comments about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback and your recommendations and that we were able to exceed your expectations staying in one of our cabins . It was fun to hear to that you have a video of the sunset from the cabins while you were here. Come...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McHenry
18.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
6.2 km away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
283 reviews
1.6 km away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
56 reviews
33.1 km away
Nemacolin Woodlands Resort & Spa
13.2 km away
Yough Valley Motel
Yough Valley Motel
#1 of 1 in Friendsville
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cabins offer the perfect setting! Deep Creek Lake is a popular vacation spot for its seclusion & beauty. The Lodges at Sunset Village cabin hotel suites provide privacy, allowing you to fully enjoy the majestic beauty of the mountains and lake. The Lodges offer you 21 Luxury Log Cabin Suites located in the heart of the lake area. Amenities including kitchenettes, hot tubs, Jacuzzis, free wireless, fireplaces, flat screen televisions, all with rustic luxury décor. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lodges at Sunset Village

Address: 23900 Garrett Hwy, 171 Cabin Lodge Road, McHenry, MD 21541-1665
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > McHenry
Price Range: $192 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lodges at Sunset Village 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lodges at Sunset Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lodges at Sunset Village staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Lodges at Sunset Village staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think cabin # 1 or 5 would be the best choice, as they have lake front views.”
  • King bed
  • Main entrance; bathroom to the left, Coat closet to the right
  • Tables & chairs look nice, but not too comfortable
  • Tight fit for the hair dryer plug - but it works
  • You must clea-up prior to leaving
  • Tight fit for the hair dryer plug
  • Flat screen was a bit too small for the seating distance, and well too high
 of 5 bubbles jrzj42, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Find a house or cabin around the lake and rent it. Avoid the duplex experience. You will pay a few more bucks but it would be worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles RalphB906, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want to look out of your window or door and see the Lake right there choose Cabin 1 or 5.”
 of 5 bubbles E3686ZKtoml, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a cabin with a good lake view”
 of 5 bubbles FOOOG, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you want complete quiet, ask for a single cabin. Loved looking at the woods out front and lake out back....”
 of 5 bubbles JMS664, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay