We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Conyers, GA
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I tend to go to cheap hotels. So I opted to drive five miles outside Cumberland for this property. It looks a little dirty on the outside, but it is what is on the inside that counts. The door to the office sticks. They don't bother to put a sign up, so it appears that the door is locked when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank travelwriter52
Tara D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to take our online survery. Sorry that the front door seemed like it was look I will make sure we have a sign to put up so guest know we r open. I will also look into the side door to make sure that gets taking care of. thanks for letting us know your...

Norfolk
Reviewed 10 July 2015

We have stay here several times before because it was worth paying $55.86. Every other time I said that the rooms are ok for the price and just a place to lay your head..This time I would have sleep on the floor if the carpert was cleaner..The beds in this room was so bad I didn't sleep good at all...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael W
Tara D, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guest.

Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 16 June 2015

The vestibule for the elevator is not real clean or inviting. Elevator smells of smoke. Carpet in the hallway needs to be replaced - 2 years ago. Once in the room, things were fine. Bed was comfortable as were the pillows. It was clean and comfortable. No coffee maker but the refrigerator and microwave were in good working condition. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edd R
Jefferson City, Missouri
Reviewed 28 May 2015

It is an older hotel. Could use updating. Nothing fancy -basic service - very light breakfast. Nice having microwave and refrigerator. We felt safe. For the cost, it's a great deal. Half the cost of nearby hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 6 March 2015

At right around $50 bucks a night its nice. if you want to avoid others staying there ask for a 1st floor room as they open to the parkinglot, floors 2 & 3 have hallways. yes the pillows are flat but the Towels and beds are clean. Breakfast is very minimal the day I was there it was coffee, juice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lbeguy76
White Hall, Maryland
Reviewed 13 November 2014

I stopped here for one night with my 2 teenage daughters and could NOT stay! We should have been clued in when we saw a sign advertising weekly and monthly stays, vehicles on blocks, trailers full of furniture, chairs outside of motel doors, and groups of men standing in the parking lot. I had already made the reservation so I...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Dawn B
Carnegie, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 October 2014

The check in went smooth and the receptionist was friendly. The room was more than we expected, the refrigerator and microwave were a plus.. The room was kept clean, the service was great. The breakfast could be improved on, everything else was great. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David B
Ossining, New York
Reviewed 10 October 2014

Pros: Clean bed sheets and bath towels, comfortable bed, seemingly well-insulated rooms - no excessive noise from neighbors at least during my visit. Low price. Negatives: - Funky smelling rooms – the first room I was given was so musty-funky smelling I asked for a different room, which was marginally better - Not even a plastic cup in the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard O
South Point, Ohio
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Where do I start? Choosing to by-pass our previous experience in town, we tried this place. First clue: they offer weekly and monthly rates (this should have warned us that there those of a certain ilk that call this place "home"). Second clue: There was a car up on blocks with its fuel tank removed. But, the company demanded that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Don S
MONTOURSVILLE
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Upon entering our room, there was food stains on the wall, dog hair on the carpet, and I could see through the sheets. Food crumbs on the counter, and hairs and specks of dirt in my bed. I did complain to the front desk about all my issues, and I have to give them a little credit for attempting to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DSRN99

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near LaVale
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Braddock Inn
7.2 km away
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
Ramada Cumberland Downtown
#2 of 4 in Cumberland
548 reviews
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in LaVale
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hampton Inn Frostburg
Hampton Inn Frostburg
#1 of 6 in Frostburg
431 reviews
6.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Cumberland
1.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites La Vale - Cumberland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 6 miles from the charming Victorian town of Cumberland, with its dozens of shops, cafes, art galleries and historic sites, Red Roof LaVale-Cumberland has something for everyone! Country Club Mall is just ½ mile away, while the Fairgrounds, George Washington’s Headquarters, Memorial Hospital, Allegany County Museum, Evergreen Mansion/Museum, Allegany Art Gallery, Allegany College of Maryland, Sacred Heart Hospital, Western Maryland Scenic Railroad, Bell Towers, Frostburg State University, and Rocky Gap Golf Resort are all within 10 minutes of this hotel! For swimming and rafting fans, Deep Creek Lake and River Adventures are just ½ hour away New Renovations are underway! Stop back to see us! New Breakfast items are now here! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 12310 Winchester Road Southwest, I-68, Exit 40, LaVale, MD 21502 (Formerly Red Roof Inn La Vale)
Region: United States > Maryland > LaVale
Price Range: $59 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavale Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lavale
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Springfield, West Virginia
2 months ago
Springfield, West Virginia
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If yo are just sleeping, this place is for you.”
 of 5 bubbles jdcoastie, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“If you stay on the even side make sure you keep yoour curtain close...face parking lot”
 of 5 bubbles 171MichaelW171, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“1st floor have separate outside entrance. 2nd & 3rd floor share hallway.”
 of 5 bubbles robertrO4952WS, 27 May 2015 | Read review
“There is a refrigerator/microwave unit in the rooms and a mall/Wal-Mart just above on the hill, so getting what you may need that is not provided is easy.”
 of 5 bubbles dons697, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
“in back second floor or above”
 of 5 bubbles 385johnb385, 12 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5