We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

American Inn of Bethesda

Expedia.comUSD 182*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 221*
USD 182*
Great Deal
USD 191*
USD 191*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
American Inn of Bethesda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

294 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for American Inn of Bethesda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 277: English reviews
Dana point
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Paying $100 a night, I had modest expectations for my stay here. A clean room, competent housekeeping, and basic safety would have been enough. None of those expectations were met. Within my first few days, I found mice running around the room. I had to buy and set up my own mousetraps . If this place isn't in violation of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam_ocuc
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your stay went so miserably, especially since you were here with us for such a long time. I am disappointed that, despite our efforts, we were still unable to resolve the challenges you reported to your complete satisfaction. We are committed to providing a safe and comfortable experience to every guest, which is why it...

New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I was literally blown away with the service, kindness and professionalism that was shown by Manager on duty Sam. In a difficult situation he was really helpful and went above and beyond to accommodate me ending my trip in most positive way In addition, he secured a complimentary shuttle service, much needed by me from Will, who was also so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blossum123
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that our staff was responsive to your needs and expectations. We hope that you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to Bethesda.

Toronto
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Except the price... you get what you pay for. 1) Smallest room I've ever seen. You could barely make you're way around. Like a closet 2) Terrible service. Housekeeping never showed up, request for towels ignored. 3) Only few (and very tight) parking spaces. Buffet breakfast was not edible

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sasso74
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your last stay. I understand how frustrating it can be when things don't go as well as you expect. Although some of our rooms are more cozy than others, we make every effort to honor the specific requests for room types and sizes. It's also disappointing to hear...

Hamilton
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our stay was very good. Front desk staff were helpful and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor pool with the warm weather. Very convenient location to DC using the metro or driving. Would go back to Rockville for shopping. Breakfast was a great start to the day of sightseeing. Parking at the hotel is very limited. All in all would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherno
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and our location. We appreciate your comments and your business. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the American Inn of Bethesda over 4th of July weekend and booked through Expedia. We ended up booking the wrong dates by mistake, and didn't realize it until we got a call saying we were supposed to have checked out at 11:00. We were in the middle of DC at this point, and because we were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larry c
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm glad that our staff was accommodating to you. Thanks for leaving your feedback. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to Bethesda.

Montana
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the south tower and found a quirky room that resembled grandmas attic as far as the ceiling. That was really cool. The room was clean, cool and really what more is needed? Breakfast was excellent, really liked the breakfast sandwiches which are and excellent idea for hotel breakfast but I've never seen that before. The desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldfishcastle
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It's exciting to hear that our efforts to create memorable experiences for our guests are beginning to bear fruit. I hope that you will choose the American Inn during your next visit to the DC Metro Area.

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I enjoy staying at this hotel everytime i visit Maryland. Viola is awesome and takes very good care of me when i visit and almost always checks me in. The breakfast is amazing I recommend this hotel for anyone that desrves good customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAMARCUS T
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear that Viola create a memorable experience for you during your last stay. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly lobby staff, tasty full hot breakfast. It's not the Four Seasons so don't expect that but honestly, everything was just right for the price I paid or better than expected. I was nicely surprised. I highly recommend to anyone who needs a comfortable place to stay on the budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lu79
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

We appreciate your honest feedback. I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Motel-like facility that needs a significant uplift. It is very clean though. Breakfast is not worth considering. Besides being the same every day, it comes directly from a box or a can. In the same building is Guapos, a Mexican food restaurant that is superb

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alberto L
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback. We appreciate your observations and are glad that the cleanliness of our rooms and public space met your expectations. We are always working to improve our breakfast offerings and we are open to special requests and suggestions. In addition, we are in the process of making improvements to...

Waynesboro, Virginia
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Friendly & conscientious people deliver great service at a reasonable price. Adeline the desk clerk provided exceptional service with a smile. We were able to park o the hotel property for free. Using the city's free bus service we found a great crabhouse restaurant within a reasonable distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j0eWay
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm so glad that Adeline and the rest of our staff created a memorable experience for you and your family. It is our goal to provide a high level of service for our guests. So, it's good to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for staying with us!

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.0 km away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.5 km away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bethesda
415 reviews
0.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
5.0 km away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
410 reviews
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave., Bethesda, MD 20814
Region: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Bethesda
Price Range: $132 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Inn of Bethesda staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from American Inn of Bethesda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor may have noise because of Heating/Cooling units... depends on which room you stay.”
lhimelfarb, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“nice double - double beds can sleep 4”
winnglen, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“My room was great”
899judyf, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Can't suggest what you should do if you arrive to find that there are no rooms left in the modern version of this hotel.”
VaBookwriter, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner suite - quiet and restful”
531indranid, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 182* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 191
Hotels.comUSD 191
HotelsClickUSD 221
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates