We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
#7 of 28 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Expert photos
Lafayette\\
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

335 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 328: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2015

We've been to Lafayette on Easter weekend, 2015. We had a problem with our room, and the staff fixed it in no time. In fact, they had to move us to another room, more expensive, but they charged us NO extra. We had a wonderful weekend, thanks to Lafayette's Oceanfront and its dedicated employees. We'll go back for sure !

Helpful?
Thank badsanta99
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have suffered, but we are happy that we were able correct it and make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you soon! More 

Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

We have stayed her numerous times. Outstanding staff, great location, and for the price, you can't go wrong. It's not a 5 star hotel but the rooms are clean and comfortable. You have access to the beach, indoor pool, and hot tub. A quick ride to the grocery store restaurants etc. Your budget family getaway is awaiting right here!

Helpful?
1 Thank smancini711
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we look forward to seeing you in the near future! More 

Hubbardston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Excellent place to stay! Right on Wells Beach, my room was clean, quiet, and had all the amenities one needs to travel. That night; the full moon rose up out of the ocean, you can't buy that kind of natural beauty! Billy's chowder house right down Mile road, good eats & drinks!

Helpful?
Thank Renee L
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us; we look forward to hosting you in the near future. Thank you! More 

Albany, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2015 via mobile

This place is fantastic! Great room except for the beds those temperpetic mattresses are awful!!! Just need to switch those out n yo guys would be perfect Ty for a great anniversary for me and my wife.

Helpful?
Thank makiko43
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review on our property. What we find with the Tempurpedic beds is that opinion is very subjective. Most of our guests love them, and some are even interested in purchasing the same mattress for their home. However we do have small number of guests that do not like this type of mattress. Due to this variation... More 

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This review is for the deluxe rooms, (old portion of the resort). They are right on the water, when it is high tide you can't see any beach, just the ocean. Just beautiful! I am giving this 5 stars for the view and the price. It is April, 2015 and our room is $99. Our room has been completely refurbished.... More 

Helpful?
Thank eclecticquilter
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property. The Deluxe building is one of our five oceanfront buildings. Of our five, the Deluxe and the Annex have not been completely renovated, but do have newer carpeting, drapes, bedding and tile as you mentioned in your comments. Our other oceanfront buildings: Panorama, Motor Inn and Beachfront Lodge all have been completely... More 

Newburgh, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2015

We love staying here. We have stayed in this hotel several times and always try to get an oceanfront room. The rooms are clean and the properties are well maintained in fact every time we come we notice improvements. This hotel is on the most beautiful quiet beach and is close to everything else. Just the best.

Helpful?
Thank Chantel H
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you choosing to stay at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We appreciate that our constant improvements and maintenance to the property don’t go unnoticed by our guests. We look forward to hosting you in the near future! More 

Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2015

We stayed for a weekend, joining a group of friends who do this every year. Very glad we went along. Room on renovated 2nd floor in Ledgeview (main) building. Very nicely done, blues & whites, very clean. Really appreciated the double sheeted comforters (we stay at the H brand for the "Fresh duvet covers".) Beautiful view overlooking Wells Beach. Pool... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ipacklast
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for joining us in the off-season at Lafayette’s Oceanfront Resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to being able to host you in the near future! More 

Andover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2015

For fourteen years now, we have been escaping to Lafayette's every February and April, and it is one of the highlights of my entire year. It is a perfectly relaxing place, with a view that can't be beat. The staff are excellent--friendly and helpful always. Our room is always clean and welcoming. We get up every morning to watch the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie B
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for you continued patronage. Wintertime on Wells Beach is a very beautiful time of year, which not many get the pleasure of experiencing. I am happy that you have had the opportunity to visit us during this time of year. I will be sure to let the front desk associates as well as housekeeping, and maintenance know that... More 

West Buxton, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2015

My husband and I stayed on the second floor in the same hotel as the pool, It was very clean, and all up to date and modern. We could see a great view of the ocean from our room and it was breath taking. The beds were comfortable and the room was pretty spacious. The staff at the check in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALICIASMITH07
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. I will be happy to let the staff know how much you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to hosting you in the near future! More 

Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2015 via mobile

Great ocean view... very clean rooms.Nice pool area.Restaurants close by.The only issue with this motel is always a two night minimum. With late check -in a two night minimum is not always feasible. .

Helpful?
Thank morsesheil
megciamomwells, Guest Relations Manager at Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your concern regarding our policy in not accepting single Saturday night reservations in the off-season. As with most hotels, Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort does not allow single Saturdays and often have minimum stay during holiday weekends for advance reservations. I will be sure to let housekeeping know that their... More 

277 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (118)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Other (33)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (137)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Double Queen Room (Ocean View) (23)
Viewed
Economy Room (20)
Viewed
Efficiency Two Double Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (12)
Viewed
King Oceanfront Room (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
2.0 km away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
372 reviews
1.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
6.8 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#12 of 37 in Ogunquit
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Stage Neck Inn
Stage Neck Inn
#2 of 4 in York Harbor
363 reviews
1.8 km away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
660 reviews
19.6 km away
York Harbor Inn
York Harbor Inn
#1 of 4 in York Harbor
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort is directly on Wells Beach, one of the largest sandy beaches in Maine. We have a complex of nine different buildings, five of which sit right on the beach. Many of our rooms have private balconies with panoramic views of the ocean. We are open year round so you do not need to miss any season. Although summer is certainly the most popular season in Maine, the beauty of this coastal area is enchanting throughout the year. Wells Beach is fun for families. Walk from your room onto the sand to swim, build sand castles, stroll in the surf looking for shells and rocks or just relax and enjoy the feel of the sun on your face while you enjoy the view. The indoor pool and the hot tub with a waterfall are very relaxing after a hot day in the sun. The playground and the arcade will entertain the children after the beach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort

Address: 393 Mile Rd, PO Box 639, Wells, ME 04090-4140
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Price Range: $66 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 156
Also Known As:
Lafayette`s Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Lafayettes Oceanfront Hotel
Lafayettes Oceanfront Wells
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Wells
#4 Family Hotel in Wells
#7 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Lafayette's Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher Corner room, ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles W7806KZsusanp, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms offer a better view. Panorama 209 has a gas fireplace. Romance a little”
 of 5 bubbles michaelbennett2016, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book early, especially during "peak" season. If you don't swim, consider Fall trip for better rates and great Fall foliage!”
 of 5 bubbles 383kathyk, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to reserve early to get a beach side room! This is a very popular place.”
 of 5 bubbles vermonter0851, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you're with kids, choose the Panorama or Deluxe section. Choose the Annex if you want a child-free section.W”
 of 5 bubbles laureno381, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5