We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Moorings Inn Waterfront

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southwest Harbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Moorings Inn Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 129: English reviews
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Be prepared to lose your deposit if you have to cancel. I had read the refund policy - no refunds unless the accommodation was rented to others - and was bothered by it, but we booked anyway as we loved the location. We had booked an apartment for a week in September 2013 but my wife was diagnosed with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spk52819
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We wish the best to you and your wife on her health recovery. Anytime a room does not re-rent we are able to offer a credit for a future stay. With no deadline to that credit. As long as there is enough of a heads up, as I believe to be the case with your reservation. Please reach out to...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Have you ever had a complaint/concern about a hotel and requested a call back from the manager? Did the manager ever bypass returning your call and instead call your boyfriend to tell him that you're banned from coming to the hotel? Sound weird? Keep reading... This place demands payment in full upfront and only gives refunds if they can rebook...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sara L
MooringsInn, Owner at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We are upfront about our cancellation policy, and are happy to talk through any questions that our guests may have. The policy is unique from those of chain owned hotels. However, quite comparable to those of other independently owned Inns and B&Bs. We are continuously doing renovations so that the Inn steadily strives, while still maintaining the integrity of its...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Moorings Inn location is perfect - on the quiet side, right on the water, excellent views. Very picturesque. It is easy to get to Northeast and Bar Harbor and the many park entrances. From the time I called through our visit, the hosts were very accommodating and provided great restaurant and attraction suggestions for our short visit. I agree...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EFG22
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We pride ourselves that the Inn met or surpassed your expectations. We honor the integrity of this nautical historical family owned Inn while still listening to our guests and making those improvements where possible. Our vision for the Moorings Inn is to continue to be a summer vacation home for even more generations to come.

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had a very nice stay at the moorings in June. Great room, watching the boats in the harbor, incredible sunsets , friendly staff. Here's the but...no breakfast except supermarket donuts (individually wrapped, right from the package!)! Or some boxed cereal. And no dining area anyway. We ended up buying fresh scones from the local bakery (How hard would that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mixup60
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Our continental breakfast is designed for our Inn guests. As half of the accommodations on the property have their own kitchen or kitchenette. In an effort to provide lower rates up until June 15th we do not offer a continental breakfast until that time. For our off season travelers that may not be traveling with any food we provide donuts,...

Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Yes, some of the decor is dated/like what you'd see at your Grandma's, but that's not why you'd come here. You come for the view: right on the water, with a bunch of boats moored nearby. Very picturesque Maine. We stayed in Lookout Front which had water views from several windows, as well as a screened in porch. This room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HerbsWineBread
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Our preferred payment by check supports sustaining a small family business, while maintaining an affordable rate for our guests. The pre-payment by check is a reflection of our locally generational family owned business. The Moorings Inn has been owned by the King family for over 50 years. Unfortunately in today's structure credit cards can really affect the bottom line of...

Phoenix, AZ
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Our visit to The Moorings Inn was way too short, but sweet. For starters, we were upgraded to a great room looking over the bay. The manager, Nicole, and Vicky were very helpful when we had a personal business crisis and had to scan/print/fax documents right there. Perhaps the icing was the staff sharing great hikes - usually only known...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and that we were able to help connect the dots for both business & pleasure. Hope you have the opportunity to return and relax even longer. Happy vacationing to you!

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We only spent one day/night at the Moorings Inn with weather that was rainy and dismal, which was unfortunate as the location and view would have been perfect for our final night in beautiful Maine. We had the Red Jacket room which was comfortable with a nice screened porch attached. The staff at the desk both in the evening and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TerryTom2119
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Red Jacket guest, We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Moorings Inn. We do our best to serve and meet the needs of our guests. We want all to relax and enjoy their stay. On a more picturesque day our ocean view lawn with lounging furniture does serve as our dining room. On the other weather...

Maine
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I had a great time at Moorings Inn while traveling for work. The manager is super sweet, and the rooms are great (and affordable!). It is not far from many of the popular trails in Acadia, and much more inexpensive than staying in Bar Harbor. and there are some very good restaurants nearby. I definitely plan to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AbbyFromMaine
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We would love to have you back. Thank you for being our guests, and embracing the treasures of the Quietside. Yes, plenty of Acadia in any direction from here. We are lucky to have such a wide variety of restaurants in this little local area. As our cottages are available all year round I've been organizing the restaurant lists for...

Reviewed 15 October 2013

For an 18th century Captain's Home, I think this is doing pretty well. We stayed in Spindrift, and we had a lovely picture window to welcome the day each morning, and watch the sunset each night. The only thing I didn't really like about the room was that the bathroom was not private (no door). Next year, we're shooting for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMWDEL
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

We enjoyed being your hosts. Your appreciation of our relaxed yet comfortable setting is what we stride for. Thank you for your thoughts. Yes, Spindrift suite does have a unique layout. There is a door from the bedroom to enter the bathroom/sitting room, which provides privacy. This sitting room is also the travel way to enter your private deck. We...

York, Maine
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights on our honeymoon, Sep 29-Oct 1. After a leisurely ride up the Maine coast we were very excited when we reached the Moorings Inn. After alot of time researching Mt. Desert Island, I decided on the Pilot Cottage and couldn't have been more happy. I talked to the manager, Nichole, on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaily215
MooringsInn, Manager at The Moorings Inn Waterfront, responded to this review

Congratulations to you both! We could not be more touched that your momentous celebration was so fulfilling. Love your photos; especially the sunrises, and the one with the crows on the arbor. What a lovely "Mainer" eye you have. We look forward to being a retreat/anniversary home away from home for you. Best to you both.

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southwest Harbor
15.7 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
15.3 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,194 reviews
15.9 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#17 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,052 reviews
15.4 km away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#16 of 41 in Bar Harbor
588 reviews
1.4 km away
Lindenwood Inn
Lindenwood Inn
#3 of 5 in Southwest Harbor
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic waterfront inn located at the base of Somes Sound , the only natural fjord on the east coast. Relax and try to hear the "somes sound" as you unwind and breathe in the salt air. Cottages, suites, and rooms await you. Boating facilites on site with captains eagerly awaiting to transport you to one of the outter islands to explore or to simply admire the scenery from a boat of your choosing-sail or motor. Cottages have wood burning fireplaces and whirlpool tubs with ocean side porches. We inn vite you to drop your anchor here! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Moorings Inn Waterfront

Address: 133 Shore Rd., Route 102-102A, Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04679
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Southwest Harbor
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Hotel Manset
The Moorings Inn Waterfront Southwest Harbor, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Moorings Inn Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room was over the entry door and noisy when people went in and out. It's amazing how noisy people are when they enter a foyer.”
  • The parlor in my suite.
  • The parlor in my suite.
  • Sunset view of the bay from Moorings Inn.
hikerbabe2016, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The two ocean-facing units at the beach-front cottage were the best, from my vantage point.”
AdventureDad123, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Get a suite on the harbor side for town/water views”
38barbaram, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Choose a coastal view at the inn.”
614sylvial, 11 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you need room to turn around, ask for a larger room.”
EcoArtTraveler, 25 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5