We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Residence Inn Portland Scarborough

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 276: English reviews
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Upon arrival, the grounds and entrance looked as they should. Once walking in the lobby, the appearance began going downhill and went down from there. The floor was wet & dirty from people coming from the pool, right off the lobby. First glance of our room and the impression was that this was a "tired" / unkept motel. The carpet... More 

Helpful?
Thank kelsosf1
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

I am extremely sorry that you had a bad experience while staying with us. please know for future reference that if you are ever unsatisfied with a room here, we will be more than happy to move you to another room you are satisfied with, or make sure that we correct any issue that you have issue with in your... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Overall good place to stay. The wifi is super slow but I wasn't on it too much anyway. Shower curtain was a little moldy. Other than that no complaints. Air conditioning was awesome! Desk staff friendly! Would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

Hi Kelly Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm not sure if you were made aware, but we also offer a high speed option for the internet for those who require faster internet. We also appreciate the kind comments... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We have stayed here previously, but were a little anxious after seeing some recent negative reviews. This was unnecessary however. The hotel is well kept, and rooms are spacious and comfortable. Staff are friendly and genuinely welcoming, particularly Dennis. The shift to having a bowl of apples on reception rather than fresh baked cookies was the only disappointment. The breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debby W
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your visit went with us. It's really great to hear that you enjoyed yourself during your stay. One thing I would like to make you aware of is we will be doing a major renovation to the property as of Jan 8th, and we would love to... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

I stayed here for one night 8-26-16-we had a 2 bedroom suite, on 3rd floor, it was very nice, we had early check in, I would of preferred the first floor, but the 3rd was floor was the only one ready when we arrived, the hotel was very clean the room was very nice clean and updated nicely, I was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mfernal
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay. It is great to hear that the traffic noise is no longer an issue. We actually have replaced all the windows on the back side of the hotel with sound proofed windows. Since this was done, we rarely have any issues with highway noise. We... More 

Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We stayed as a family to visit beaches, Portland etc. Good location for getting everywhere quickly. We always choose suites for the convenience of having a kitchen and a little extra room; these are a good size and the kitchen well-equipped. Grocery store right across the street if you want to stock your fridge. A good stay overall, but with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christine G
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear you were able to enjoy most of the amenities are hotel has to offer. About the renovation you mentioned, yes, we will be renovating all the guest rooms after the first of the year. We would love your opinion once... More 

Horton, Alabama
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2016

The cost of the room was $209 per night for a one bedroom suite and I did not feel that the property was not up to normal Marriott standards. Specific issues include the mattress being uncomfortable, the breakfast was not of good quality or taste, the grounds needed care, and the internet was very slow. A king bed would have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hettie C
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't satisfied with your recent stay. You mentioned a couple of specific issues that I would like to address for future reference. We will be renovating all of our guest rooms as of the beginning of the year. They will be completely re-done including carpet, furniture, and decor. We are all very excited about the project, and... More 

Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The good news is that the beds are comfy, the soundproof windows work well and the mechanical systems also seem to work well. The bad news is that the hotel needs updating and the housekeeping and breakfast leave something to be desired. First is that the front entrance door is narrow and doesn't want to stay open. Getting in with... More 

Helpful?
Thank steve r
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

Steve Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts on your recent stay with us. To address your main concern about the hotel needing to be updated, I have good news.... The hotel is scheduled to have a major renovation at the beginning of 2017. The rooms are going to be completely renovated, as well as the hallways... More 

Paoli, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

I was on a recent road trip through coastal New England with my daughter and booked this hotel because it was a Marriott property near Kennebunkport. Not only was the suite super clean and in great condition, the front desk staff were the most friendly, courteous and helpful people that I have ever encountered during my travels. Adam and Michael... More 

Helpful?
Thank TR1P4DV150R
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit at our hotel. We are extremely pleased to hear that both you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to personally thank you for the wonderful comments you made about not only our hotel, but also the staff. It means a... More 

Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Hotel badly needs renovation. Compared to newer Residence Inns and Fairfield Inns, the bed was terrible, the pillows were nearly solid. When it is renovated, the windows facing the turnpike need soundproofing -- or person should be informed and provided earplugs. Racket and vibration from passing trucks was very loud. Would remind those that consider it to request away from... More 

Helpful?
Thank fussytravelerFL
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

I do want to let you know that we will be undergoing a major renovation at the beginning of the year. All the rooms will be completely renovated, as well as all news beds. I'm sorry to hear that your weren't pleased with your recent stay, but I hope you will come back again once our renovation is complete. Thank... More 

Norwich,CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2016

While the staff was very friendly and helpful, there are shortcomings worth noting. First, the room we were in was facing the highway and there's lots of traffic noise if you like to sleep with an open window. The bed was comfortable. The decor is dark in color and personally, I like lighter colors so it doesn't look like you... More 

Helpful?
Thank LilyNorwichCT
greeney72, Front Office Manager at Residence Inn Portland Scarborough, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay went. I am very sorry that your experience here wasn't what you expected. With reference to the decor, I would like to let you know that our hotel will be going through a major renovation to all the guest rooms come the first of the year. I... More 

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
1.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
0.9 km away
Fairfield Inn Portland Maine Mall
4.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
Hampton Inn Portland Airport
#1 of 12 in South Portland
682 reviews
4.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Residence Inn by Marriott Portland/Scarborough hotel is the perfect place to lay your head when visiting the greater Portland Maine area. Our suites are designed to keep you comfortable and connected to all of the fun things to do in Portland, Maine. Whether you are here for business or pleasure or a fine mix of both, we can help you go exploring. Our luxury apartment hotel is conveniently located near Maine’s scenic beaches, breathtaking state parks, historic lighthouses, or destination shopping areas including World Famous Outfitter Cabela’s or Maine’s own L.L. Bean. For a truly unique experience, enjoy harness racing at Scarborough Downs or auto racing at Beechridge Motor Speedway. Our Portland/Scarborough hotel is just minutes away from Portland’s downtown district and historic old port area. Whether you are looking for a uniquely Maine dining experience or a national chain restaurant, there is something nearby to satisfy even the most selective palate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Scarborough

Address: 800 Roundwood Drive, Scarborough, ME 04074
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Price Range: $117 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Residence Inn Scarborough
Scarborough Residence Inn
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Residence Inn Portland Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“decent area for shopping, clean and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles X878XTrobertl, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“@ Bedrooms are very roomy. Next time I will try one of them.”
 of 5 bubbles pdgreeno11, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“1 bedroom suite is much more home-like than the studio. 2 bedroom suite has an oven in addition to a stove top.”
 of 5 bubbles Bla9421, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great.”
 of 5 bubbles trjc2, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suite units are much more comfortable and spacious”
 of 5 bubbles Amberjack03, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay