We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,042 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 987: English reviews
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This Holiday Inn is right near the civic center. It is a short walk to Old Port, downhill. So the location is perfectly fine. The room was nice and had a good water view. There are good restaurants close to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GwenM100
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Took a weekend trip to Portland in mid-October and stayed here for one night. We received a little welcome bag with a few snacks when we checked in for being IHG Rewards Club members, which was a nice surprise. Our room was very clean and had a nice view of the water. We had warm fall weather, so walking around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaime R
Camden, Maine
Reviewed 19 November 2013

First, I was sharing a room so didn't have much say in where it was. The location was convenient. The lady at the front desk was very nice. BUT a) the particular elevator we used shut on my husbands arm and then we saw the same thing happen to another lady. a) there was hair- not long from a persons...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iggyz
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Our sincere apologies for the circumstances experienced during your stay. It is not typical to have these reviews and it will be forwarded to all concerned. Please be assured we are completely staffed overnight, with desk, housekeeping, and security personnel. Our parking fees are the lowest in the downtown area, in an effort to better serve our guests. It is...

Chicopee
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This Holiday Inn was very nice. The staff was very helpful and the facility was well maintained and extremely clean. The bedding was comfortable, excellent night sleep. What a perfect place with a beautiful location overlooking the bay. We spent the day exploring Portland. I saw some earlier post commenting on lumpy bedding and pillows. Our bedding appeared new and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChicopeeJoe
Maine
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

No continental breakfast? Rooms were good. Good view. Problems with people bar hopping and being loud in the hallway. Probably wont stay again but it works if you are in a pinch. I have certainly stayed in better holiday inn's.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 35yearsMaine
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to your hotel stay. We apologize if other hotel guests disturbed your visit. We do have 24 hour security for the peace and protection of all of our guests. We hope we might have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Grafton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Front desk was helpful. Room was pretty good, tiling around the bathtub a bit grungy. Temperature in the room was very hard to regulate - either hot or cold. Thin blanket on the beds - asked the front desk for extra blankets and they chuckled and said they were all out of extra blankets. Seems like everyone had asked for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mark O
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

We wish to thank the reviewer for the comments. We do, of course, offer extra blankets, and we apologize that the desk gave a different interpretation. It is certainly our hope that the reviewer will choose to stay with us again. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly for any future needs.

Peach Springs, Arizona, Usa
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The location of hotel in Portland, Maine was right off the bay, perfect for walking to around to different locations and to restaurants and shops.. The negative side of stay hotel room was a bit dirty and shower had mold in it. Room did have microwave and fridge which was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyndee H
danvers
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in downtown Portland so that we could attend a concert at State Theater. Very reasonable price, room spotless, sheets and condition of room acceptable Staff tries very hard. They offer free shuttle service to downtown and areas at no additional expense, a very nice amenity. Pillows are on the lumpy side and should be updated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danver8
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel during your visit to Portland. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

New York
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We received a warm welcome upon check in with a bag of snacks and water. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was conveniently located -- walking distance to restaurants and shops. The rooms were nice and roomy, although I wish they had queen size beds instead of doubles. The mattresses need replacement. They were lumpy and bowed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PinayRox
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments. We very much appreciate the input concerning the bedding. The staff will be made aware of your compliments. We look forward to your return.

Lunenburg, Canada
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights in October.The hotel is in a great location.Close to the waterfront!The only room available for 2 consecutive nights was a smoking room.Even though the room smelled horrible it was clean,comfy and quiet.Worth the 270.00 per night??? No! There is also a 17.00 fee for parking. I unfortunately was battling a 5 day stomach virus and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank connie c
Management3, Manager at Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Please be aware that our prices are comparable (and lower) than the other downtown hotels. And our parking charge is $10 per night per vehicle. If you were charged anything other than that, please contact the hotel so that we might rectify the bill. We're very sorry you were ill, but glad the restaurant was...

193 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (169)
Viewed
View from Room (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (67)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
0.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,282 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
0.3 km away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Waterfront
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
When you visit the historic, exciting and alluring waterfront City of Portland, why not stay in the midst of it? Award-winning hotel with elegant decor and spectacular views. Just steps away, the Old Port thrives with unique shops, diverse restaurants and a working waterfront. Turn the corner and Portland's new Arts District surrounds the Hotel with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. The L.L. Bean Factory Outlet Store and Civic Center are only a block away! Jetport is 10 minutes away; courtesy vans are available. Choose from Executive Rooms, Suites and Double/Double Rooms. For your meetings and conventions, let us show you our 14,510 sq. ft. of meeting space and our 12,500 sq. ft. exhibit hall. Our convention coordinators will handle all of your meeting details, including spouse tours and island lobster bakes! Let us show you the pleasure of business in Maine, BY THE BAY. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay

Address: 88 Spring Street, Portland, ME 04101
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: $153 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 239
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Hotel Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay Maine
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#8 Business Hotel in Portland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Boston, Massachusetts
6 months ago
Rhode Island
over a year ago
Hopkinton, Ma

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Looking over the bay is certainly better than street view on the other side of the hotel.”
ski&brew, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“great views, good staff, homey”
  • View to the Portland bay from my room
glpzzz, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Parking is tight.”
581Julie, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a Bay View, you'll see lots of harbor activity and planes coming in to land at the airport.”
Glimrgrl9, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for an ocean view”
rnorriss, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5