We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Motel 6 Portland

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Motel 6 Portland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Portland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 208: English reviews
Chatham, Canada
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Needed a room and found this - Front desk staff are friendly and welcoming. The room is large and clean. The WIFI is expensive and unreliable. As the room is almost $100/night, can't really understand Wifi isn't included.... $3.15/device! When we had a problem, we were given the number of tech support -they hung up twice and we never did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eaglezwingz1
rhode island
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We needed a room for the night, so we were just looking for a low cost hotel room. The location was right off the highway so it was easy getting off and back on again to continue our trip in the morning. Motel 6 was the best we could do, but even with my mother's AARP discount it was still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rifam
Reviewed 1 August 2015

Everything about my long term stay was excellent. The front desk, housekeeping, and management are some of the best I've encountered at any motel 6. Clean and bug free room, reasonably quiet, and affordable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WandersTheEarth
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

The lady who worked the evening of 7/28 was wonderful. It was very busy but she showed each guest with the same concern. She didn't get flustered and rush through helping each person with their issues. I felt as if I was the only one there and had her complete attention. The room was nice and clean. There were some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
Reviewed 30 July 2015

cigarette burn holes in the blankets...nothing special, so it should have been cheaper, in my opinion. The counter people were nice, however the cleaning staff didn't talk to you at all or smile even! It is nowhere near the downtown / waterfront area, and, again, not sure why it was over 100.00 per night!?

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joelster7
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 22 July 2015

My experience tells me my expectations should be low. As clue goes usually this is a good place in the area. The rooms have a fresh dorm room feel. I think. Few people actually live in the hotel. Bed wa so so.. It does the job for quick one night stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JLove9613
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We strive...

Brunswick, Maine
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Room dirty, full of bug, wifi did not work, towels like sandpaper, smelly, Toilet plugged up, towel rack fell off wall, Scary people, scary place. Even the dog was nervous. Blankets were a peculiar metallic material and didn't look clean. Even the sheets had a strange rumpled look as if they just might have been slept in. Never again.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Oldeandnew
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Ellynn, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Please know the issues you describe...

Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here one night, will never stay again. Found mold throughout the shower curtain and went to inform the manager. He barely acknowledged my presence and didn't even get up from his desk to discuss it further. He acted completely nonchalant and unprofessional about the situation. Definitely not worth the $100.00 I spent. The least it could've been was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vicky M
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Safety and security are high priorities...

Marathon, New York
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We booked this rather late minute because no affordable transportation would be leaving Old Orchard Beach early enough in the morning for us to make our flight. This Motel was very accommodating. We had to arrive well before check in and they were kind enough to get us in. Clean, bright, pleasant and the price was less than we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elendilite
Gardiner, Maine
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Nothing but towels were including in the bathroom, the room lighting sucked, and the hallway always smelled of weed, and our key cards had to be reactivated 3 times. OVERALL, I would have to say that meeting drunk people on the elevator quite scared me, the service was absolutely terrible, the maid moved our stuff if it was on the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catcassie1
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Portland, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Please know the issues you...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.5 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,440 reviews
0.3 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
3.9 km away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 19 in Portland
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
4.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
6.4 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland

Address: 1 Riverside Street, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04102
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: $78 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Motel-6 and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Motel Six
Portland Motel 6
Motel Six Portland
Motel 6 Portland Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Motel 6 Portland staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
New York City, New York

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Portland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First is best less smoke”
 of 5 bubbles rosenblake44, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Have a wonderful stay!”
 of 5 bubbles Micaih, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Try to book the side facing away from the highway”
  • I think someone stole some paintings
  • Spacious shower
  • The glorious dumper!
  • Matching avocado-green walls and sheets
 of 5 bubbles 335rikt, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here, gross.”
 of 5 bubbles Lighthouse123, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There are smoking rooms on fourth floor. My 3rd floor room was fine.”
 of 5 bubbles Vt_folks, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5