We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Waves Oceanfront Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waves Oceanfront Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Waves Oceanfront Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 281: English reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We were with a group from Diamond Tours. Room on second floor, stairs were slick no treads on them, just paint, floors on first floor so dirty that one couple asked them to clean them and they were still so dirty the lady then mopped them herself, before their feet were black just walking across the room. The breakfast was...

Thank abelmom
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Diamond Tours comes to our property every year with two or three buses all through the fall. Last year we sat down with the directors of Diamond Tours because they had concerns about the floors. To continue our relationship with Diamond we installed new flooring in many of our rooms. The first floor has new tile throughout the room the...

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Brought the family to Old Orchard Beach the week before Labor Day. It was our first time at this area. We chose Waves because of its location to the beach, had a heated pool and close to the pier and other attractions. We wanted to stay at a hotel on the beach and the only options are non-chain hotel and...

Thank Has2bJustRight
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the property. You gave some great points and we hope you do come back to see us soon. The rooms you stayed in are earmarked for new flooring this winter! We are also looking at putting in an elevator which should make access to the rooms easier.

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived on Monday Labor Day and was given room 406 Which didn't work for the of us gals. We went into the office and talked to Lena the gal on duty, what customer service excellence. This young woman was right on top of it, " she got us moved to a room that fit our needs perfectly. We will...

Thank 14sharron
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you. Lena does a great job and we take comments like this to heart. We truly love it when we got it right… it sounds like we did.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

This is our second trip to Waves and I must say it was great! The rooms are improving the staff were very accommodating. We stayed in room 82 building E. A great room with a fantastic view. The morning sunrises are breathtaking and The sound of the waves at night are a great way to unwind. The location is fantastic....

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! We can't wait to see you back at the beach next year. This winter we will be adding more new flooring and carpets. We will also be trying to add an elevator!

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Thank you for your hospitality. You made my stay Pleasurable and Enjoyable. There was over abundance of amenities from ocean side rooms, plenty of barbecues, pic nic tables, polite and welcoming staff, clean rooms, pool with hot tubs, free wifi and so much more. My family really enjoyed their stay here at Waves Oceanfront Resort.

Thank Richard9471
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thanks for your taking the time to post a review. When we get it right we love it. It let's us know we are doing the right thing when our improvements are noticed!

Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We stayed at one of the beach front cottages for the weekend. The location was great! we were able to walk to the pier, get up and watch the sun rise and enjoy spending time at the beach. The cottage was clean and comfortable. The employees were extremely helpful, friendly and polite.

Thank Wallybird1
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hope to see you in the future!

Costa Rica
Reviewed 25 August 2016

My family of 6 took two rooms on a Sunday and Monday night. It was great: clean rooms, comfy beds and very friendly and helpful staff. Loved that I could come right off the beach and hop in the hot tub after showering off the sand! Thanks Waves!

Thank Buena_Vista_Chris
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

You are more than welcome! We look forward to your families' return!

Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We stayed in C, rooms 3 and 5, first floor. Reserved 2 connecting rooms, went as a family. The front desk staff could not have been nicer, lovely ladies! The room our daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren were staying in did not have a wall ac unit, it had a portable one. It didn't cool it down very...

Thank Patti V
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

We truly appreciate the kind words. You are so right about the delicious food at our Café. We really do try very hard to give our guests the best service possible. Although, we can’t control every problem, we do try to solve any issue to the guest’s satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you and your family again!

Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is nicely located on the beach. However that is the only nice thing about it. Our room had holes in the walls, cobwebs on the walls and stains on the rugs. It appears they have never renovated this place. It wasn't a pleasant stay at all. When I told the manager about the issues I had he said...

1Thank bailey4448
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

I would never say such a thing obviously. The Waves Oceanfront Resort is the largest hotel in Old Orchard comprising of twenty different buildings. Many of the rooms have been updated but some have not as of yet. I will personally put the cleanliness of our rooms up against those of any other property in Old Orchard Beach. I suspect...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Very nice place, near the beach, a little convenience store and couple restaurants. It is however right by the railroad track ( just like every motel in Old orchard by the beach) and the train whistle at night and middle of the night too... The room are ok but no table to eat, you can use the little one off...

Thank 29Sunshine2014
wavesoceanfront, General Manager at Waves Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! It is true in Old Orchard Beach the train runs through the middle of town and the trains run throughout the night. Keep in mind that The Waves is the largest property in Old Orchard Beach comprising of 20 buildings. There are many options and some are much more quite. We look forward to your...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (99)
Pool/Beach Area (10)
View from Room (19)
Room/Suite (18)
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Bathroom (3)
Dining (1)
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Other (1)


  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Food & drink at the hotel
Beach Street Cafe
Beach Street Cafe
Cuisines: American, Cafe
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Waves Oceanfront Resort

Address: 87 W Grand Ave, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Region: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Price Range: $100 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waves Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Waves Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waves Oceanfront Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Hotel Waves Oceanfront
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waves Oceanfront Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Waves Oceanfront Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“unless you get a cabin in the front, you only see the ocean from balcony we got ocean view”
707tracier, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in Building B, Room 24.”
92SallyS92, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Train went thru during night about 1/2 block away so wasn't sound sleep”
abelmom, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“don't waste your time or money at Bayley's Lobster Pound”
Buena_Vista_Chris, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stay in rooms that have an ocean or pool view, other rooms only have views of parking lots.”
saradeer, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5