We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Anchorage By the Sea

Show Prices
#13 of 37 Hotels in Ogunquit
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Anchorage By the Sea
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

963 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Anchorage By the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 946: English reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We decided to take a last minute trip to Maine and were able to find a room here (due to a cancellation). It is on the expensive side, but not crazy for the location. The "resort" is actually an upscale motel, ie cars parked outside your door, but surprisingly this turned out to be more of a convenience than a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erock333
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear erock333, Thank you so much for providing us with all of your feedback. We are so happy we were able to accommodate you during your trip to Ogunquit. Thank you for choosing the Anchorage! We appreciate your compliments on our property. It is wonderful to here you had an enjoyable stay with us. With concerns to our pool area,...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just had a two night stay at the Anchorage Hotel in August. There was little availability but the hotel was very accommodating to give us two rooms, and move our luggage for us, from one room to another, the second night, while we enjoyed our day at the beach. Other hotels required a three night minimum. The property is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol P
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Carol P, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We always love hearing feedback from our guests. We'd also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! It was our pleasure to...

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in late July. The property is very nice, with easy access to Marginal Way and great views of Ogunquit Beach and the ocean. We stayed in the Towers across the street. The room was fine, but a bit on the small side. Beds are smaller than normal. The pools were fairly crowded with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tigerstank
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Tigerstank, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your compliments and are happy we were able to accommodate you during your four night trip to Ogunquit. We are certainly a family favorite resort with the many amenities we provide and excellent location. We are also a favorite among couples as we offer a variety of room types. The Lighship...

Littleton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We came into this vacation with high hopes.. I have vacationed in Maine my whole life an walked by here on marginal way.. this is very top line on outside.. very expensive.. we were originally staying near pool but moved across street to save "money".. I thought being across the street would be okay but I felt way separate from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jg9214
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear jg9214, We appreciate your feedback. We would like to thank you for staying with us during your trip to Ogunquit. No matter where guests stay on our property, they have full access to all of our amenities. As far as parking is concerned, we are bit confused by your comment as we have no assigned parking. You may park...

Watertown, Connecticut
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This in my opinion is the best place to stay in Ogunquit. We have been staying Anchorage for 15+ years and it's been great. They continually invest in the property which makes our stay better each year. The location is perfect and the staff is outstanding.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Joe M, Thank you so much for reviewing us here on TripAdvisor. We would also like to thank you for being a loyal patron of the Anchorage. We are so happy we have been able to accommodate you over the years. 15 years and not a bad stay? What a great compliment to receive! We are delighted you feel...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently came back from a 3-night stay at Anchorage. My husband and I have been vacationing in Ogunquit every summer, but have never stayed at this hotel. We wanted to try it because the grounds are so lovely, and they have an on-property restaurant/bar. We will NEVER stay here again. You should also reconsider booking in this "Corporate" hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
16Thank CaptCheeseSticks
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Cheezburgerparadise, We certainly feel the need to address the points you have made as they can easily be explained. We have the right to respond to any reviews, especially when they contain false or misleading information. We would like to start off by saying we are not a corporately owned property. We are one of the longest run family...

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We are a young couple who booked this hotel just a few days before our stay. We were not in the main building but across the street in the "lightship" building. I was worried about not being in the main building, but the "lightship" was clean, quiet and nicely renovated. It was just a quick walk from the beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Pamela S, Thank you so much for the review! We are so happy we were able to accommodate you! Thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We greatly appreciate your patronage. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your room in the Lightship. We find many couples enjoy this location as it is quieter with...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Anchorage By the Sea and Ogunquit are very special places for my husband and I. This resort is what I would refer to as a "forever" place because we will forever come to stay here. From the moment we drive in, we always get a big welcome from the staff as if we are family...the management and staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Patrick A
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Patrick A, Thank you for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy we have been able to accommodate you and your husband over the years. Thank you for your loyalty to the Anchorage. We greatly appreciate your continued patronage. Thank you for all of your positive feedback on our property and staff. We...

Reviewed 25 July 2014

For all the annoying folks who write poor reviews just to get self gratification, let me tell you that they do little to help others seeking advice. I am pretty fussy when I travel but not so low as to complain when the soap is wrapped too tight or the toilet paper perforations are not precise enough to allow for...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Robert O
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Robert O, Thank you so much for your kind review here on TripAdvisor! We always love hearing positive feedback from our guests. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. Your patronage in greatly appreciated. Guests like you truly make our jobs more enjoyable. It was such a delight to read...

Natick, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a great stay at Anchorage and will likely be back. We stayed at Sea Rose last year, and found the accommodations and location much better here. The room was spotless, albeit a bit small. It had a private balcony which we hung out on when the kids went to bed. We barely heard anyone from inside our room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddrenik
AnchorageME, Public Relations Manager at The Anchorage By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear ddrenik, Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. We value your opinion. We would also like to thank you for choosing the Anchorage during your trip to Ogunquit. We appreciate your patronage. We are so happy we were able to accommodate you! We would like to thank you for all of your compliments about our resort. It is...

760 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (309)
Viewed
View from Room (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (40)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (447)
Viewed
Amenities (14)
Viewed
Beach Upper Room (26)
Viewed
Garden House Suite (63)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Lightship Room (23)
Viewed
Ocean Upper Room (26)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (20)
Viewed
Poolside Lower Room (22)
Viewed
Poolside Upper Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Shore Lower Room (34)
Viewed
Shore Upper Room (34)
Viewed
Studio Fireplace (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (53)
Viewed
Towers Back Room (22)
Viewed
Towers Front Side Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ogunquit hotels
1.3 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#5 of 37 in Ogunquit
507 reviews
0.1 km away
The Colonial Inn
The Colonial Inn
#6 of 37 in Ogunquit
602 reviews
0.3 km away
Terrace by the Sea
Terrace by the Sea
#20 of 37 in Ogunquit
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Meadowmere Resort
Meadowmere Resort
#9 of 37 in Ogunquit
950 reviews
2.5 km away
Ogunquit Resort Motel
Ogunquit Resort Motel
#32 of 37 in Ogunquit
294 reviews
3.2 km away
Cliff House Maine
Cliff House Maine
#30 of 37 in Ogunquit
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Surf Point 360
Surf Point 360
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ogunquit’s most renowned, year-round oceanfront resort is The Anchorage By the Sea. The sea’s spectacular beauty is the focal point from most anywhere on the grounds. Located in the heart of Ogunquit, everything you could want in a complete vacation resort is right outside your door. Beautifully decorated rooms opening onto unforgettable views of the ocean are only the beginning. Open year-round, all rooms are smoke-free, offer free WIFI and have a small refrigerator. Other Anchorage amenities include hot tubs, indoor and outdoor pools, saunas and poolside bar and grill. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Anchorage By the Sea

Address: 125 Shore Rd, Ogunquit, ME 03907-3710
Region: United States > Maine > Ogunquit
Price Range: $148 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Anchorage By the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Anchorage By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anchorage By The Sea Hotel Ogunquit
The Anchorage By Sea
Anchorage By The Sea Ogunquit
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ogunquit
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ogunquit
#24 Family Hotel in Ogunquit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Anchorage By the Sea staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from The Anchorage By the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“be sure to ask for a cove view.”
 of 5 bubbles 917allenk, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Waterfront rooms are much more expensive than 'limited ocean view'.”
 of 5 bubbles ss319, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor oceanfront, but very expensive”
 of 5 bubbles 845howie, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“upstairs rooms are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles sclark_10, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevators here - so if you plan to stay a long time and have lots of luggage, consider 1st floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Awilda0216, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay