We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newagen Seaside Inn

Booking.comUSD 134*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Newagen Seaside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

205 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 203: English reviews
Start your review of Newagen Seaside Inn
 Click to rate
Brunswick, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago

Off season, the inn is quiet and serene. The setting is quintessential Maine coast with a beautiful set of views, but also excellent and fun amenities, such as a hot tub, pool table, bikes, etc. The facilities are well maintained, the rooms basic and clean. The only downside is that noise does travel between rooms (I could easily hear my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank small_monkey26
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the upward thumbs! Being called "quintessential Maine" is the ultimate compliment. We apologize for your coughy neighbor...you're right that historic buildings often have less than sound-proof rooms. On your next visit, we would love to put you in one of our Little Inn rooms, which are new and don't have that issue. No matter which room you...

Reviewed 11 April 2017

The inn was really quaint and lovely. We loved the giant chess sets and the billiard building. We stayed here to be near the Rachel Carson monument. It was a wonderful stroll on the rocky shore. We would love to go back soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hulafille
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! Newagen Seaside Inn really does capture the love of nature that was shared by Rachel Carson. When you return, be sure to book the Rachel Carson Suite - you'll love the tribute!

South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Just a great place. Scenery, service and accommodations were wonderful.The setting on the ocean/bay was like a postcard setting with modern ammenities. A little farther out of Boothbay but worth the extra drive

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold C
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Harold! Hope to see you back at Newagen soon!

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 4 January 2017

First, I must say I did not actually stay at this inn but I felt I should write a review because of the kindness I received while visiting to find the Rachel Carson memorial plaque. The staff relayed to me the wonderful story of the inn's history and then told me exactly how to get to the Rachel Carson plaque...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rachel B
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Rachel! I hope our staff told you about our Rachel Carson Suite which would be the perfect spot for you....we will happily welcome you back!

The Woodlands, Texas
Reviewed 8 November 2016

Very interesting and comfortable historic building. Beautiful waterfront location and grounds. Good restaurant. Capable and friendly staff. Nearby Booth Bay Harbor well worth visiting for the shopping, sailing and other activities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William M
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for visiting and thanks for your kind words!

New Jersey
Reviewed 16 October 2016

The inn has very nice grounds and amenities like free full breakfast buffet, bikes and row boat. Saltwater pool heater was broken so we weren't able to use it. The room was nice, but I was appalled to see stains on the toilet seat where you sit on. I tried to clean it but it looks like it's permanently there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RandBMan
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. It's wonderful that you became a "frequent flyer" at our restaurant. I'm sorry that the lack of TVs in the main inn kept you from staying longer. While that is common in historic properties such as ours, we do offer TVs for our guests who can't completely unplug in our Little Inn...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Wow! We stayed for a weekend and wished that we had a month. The location was so beautiful. Coffee on the balcony, while listening to the ocean crash onto the rocks, was wonderful. The staff were exceptional, friendly and willing to help at all times. The little island was wonderful to walk around and just a short drive to Boothbay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickic23
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Vicki! What a fun group you were! Can't wait to welcome you back...

East Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Newagen Seaside Inn on a Groupon rate and were not disappointed. The grounds were beautiful as was ocean view from our king bed room. Our room could have used a bit of a renovation but was quite comfortable. We took advantage of the outdoor fire pit on the back deck and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank donna p
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, Donna! We'd love to have you and your husband back soon!

Ipswich, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I hesitated on my review from average to very good. I have been three times, but never with my husband here, so I hope I didn't oversell it. We stayed at the Little Inn, paid top dollar (not using any type of coupon). The carpet was stained, but we enjoyed the two chairs on the balcony, but was surprised there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKB356
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your return visit and for taking time to share your comments. I'm glad you were able to make the seating work for you in your room. I wish you had mentioned your concerns to our staff, as we would have been happy to move an additional chair into the room for you. On future visits,...

Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Good experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice restaurant and prime location and coastal views. Room choice very important. Main inn suites still need updating despite some new furnishings and facing parking lot not best, particularly if u want to open windows. Also a weekend wedding destination so ask first. Will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
Corinne L, Owner at Newagen Seaside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments, Steve. We hope to host you again!

181 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (55)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
0:31
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newagen
6.7 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
337 reviews
7.5 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
345 reviews
7.3 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
483 reviews
13.4 km away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
147 reviews
5.6 km away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Banquet Room
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Frommer's Travel Guide said, "It's hard to convey the magnificence of the ocean views, maybe the best of any Inn's in Maine." The open sea, rocky cliffs and thick forest create an enchanting setting for the historic Newagen Seaside Inn, poised on the tip of Southport Island in the heart of Maine's famed Boothbay Harbor region. Make some memories at the newly restored, yet always historic, Newagen Seaside Inn, at the edge of the sea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newagen Seaside Inn

Address: 60 Newagen Colony, Newagen, Southport, ME 04576-3349
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Southport > Newagen
Price Range: $172 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Newagen Seaside Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Newagen Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newagen Seaside Hotel Newagen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newagen Seaside Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Newagen Seaside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in main building would be a little noisier. Probably get one in the other building that has balconies (more expensive).”
RandBMan, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony---it's worth it!”
vickic23, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would recommend the Little Inn rooms. More expensive but worth it”
rth27, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the Starfish Cottage”
ChristieR182, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Oceanside views are best”
AlanS191, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 134* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 191
TravelocityUSD 191
Hotels.comUSD 191
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates