We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Breakwater Inn and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Breakwater Inn and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 234: English reviews
Cranston, Rhode Island
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to The Breakwater Inn and we enjoyed it very much. The room had a really great view and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We requested a second floor, but when we arrived, they gave us a first floor which was okay. We actually like that better as when it rained, we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bob J Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us! Our team works hard to provide memorable experiences for our guests and will appreciate knowing their efforts were noticed! The next time you are ready for a peaceful escape, we hope that you will visit us again at The Breakwater Inn and Spa. Naz Jenulevich...

North Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Just returned from a 24-hour getaway at the Breakwater Inn and Spa. Quaint, quintessential New England facility ... drinks on the back patio, comfortable rooms overlooking the water, and a wonderful restaurant - where we dined with all the doors open and the night breeze blowing through. The spa was perfect ... and I'm still feeling the afterglow. A definite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Christine L, Thank you for sharing such a detailed description of your stay with us! It is an honor to know that The Breakwater Inn and Spa created such vivid memories of New England for you. I am so excited that you are planning to return and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Naz Jenulevich Director of Operations

Rochester, New York, United States
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

The Breakwayer in Kennebunport is all about hospitality. With the complimentary breakfast, kind and helpful staff and comfortable room, and acces to the dos and fitness center, they didn't miss a beat. We even used a complimentary beach pass as well. A great place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan B
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Susan B, It is an honor to hear that you noticed our commitment to providing excellent hospitality to our guests at The Breakwater Inn & Spa. Thank you for letting us know. I am glad that you enjoyed your time in Kennebunkport and hope to see you again soon. Naz Jenulevich Director of Operations

Bearsted, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a New England tour. The location was good as was the size of the King Room in the Spa building. The free breakfast was excellent and served as a comprehensive continental buffet. 2 downsides, the air con was so noisy had to be switched off to sleep. A major problem was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom L
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Tom L, Thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. Feedback is extremely important to my team and myself. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. Reservations and walk in guests are assisted in the order in which they contact us, and we are disappointed that you were led to...

Fridley, Minnesota
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

They state complementary wifi which is not the case not even in the common areas which really disappointed us . We were not the only room complaining to the front deck ... Rooms were very spacious and clean . The hotel itself is very nice . They have a restaurant attached that if you stay at the hotel you get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwidman
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operatiions at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kwidman, I am sorry about the challenges you encountered with the wireless connection during your stay. We did have some difficulties with our connection during your visit, and are disappointed that they caused a negative experience for you. The team will work to improve so we can put a better foot forward in the future. Thanks for letting us...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We called and made a same day appointment for two 80 minute massages. Showed up and were told that a mistake had been made and that our appointment was for the following day. Even though we were inconvenienced, we rescheduled some things and looked forward to a massage. Several hours before our massage, we received a call offering to cancel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce H
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Bruce H., I am sorry to hear about your experience in our spa, and understand how frustrating it must have been. While there was initial confusion with the date of your services, our attempt to reschedule the next day was a completely separate. One of our staff, who was scheduled for your service, had a slight mishap and wasn’t...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Check in is not easy as their is no indication you are at the front desk. After waiting while for receptionist who was booking spa services & with no acknowledgement that she would be with us, our second floor room in the spa building had a great parking lot view. Yes, there was water but first cars. We had the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zootytravels
2016_Guest_Services, Director of Operations at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Zootytravels, I am disappointed to hear the details from your recent stay with us. The front desk team tries hard to ensure that they immediately greet our guests, even when speaking with someone on the phone, and I am sorry that didn't occur. The culinary team will most certainly look into the night you stayed with us to see...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016

Took the advice from other reviews and booked a room at the Inn building. We had a beautiful view from our room, very spacious room and really comfortable bed. Drinks down on the lawn in the evenings was a real highlight. Breakfast was very tasty. Staff very helpful. Overall a very charming spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank olm123456
2016_Guest_Services, General Manager at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear olm123456, It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the views of our beautiful Maine landscape during your stay with us. Drinks on the lawn are a favorite of many guests at The Breakwater Inn & Spa as they enjoy the last hours of their day. Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your...

Boston
Reviewed 22 August 2016

We stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night for a wedding. The room was very nice and clean with a water view and housekeeping did a good job during our stay. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly, The wedding reception was held here too and it couldn't have been any nicer. The reception food was excellent from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Truthfulviews
2016_Guest_Services, General Manager at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Truthfulviews, Thank you for your kind words about The Breakwater Inn and Spa. I am proud to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and especially that you enjoyed your interactions with me team. We would all love to welcome you back to stay with us again in the future. Best wishes again to the bride and groom....

Reviewed 18 August 2016

The room we had was very comfortable & roomy. It had a small deck that looks over the river. We like our privacy & got it! Front desk & Housekeeping met all our needs, and they were very friendly. We have stayed there before and will go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jack1red
2016_Guest_Services, General Manager at The Breakwater Inn and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jack1red, Thank you for returning to The Breakwater Inn and Spa. We are so very appreciative of our guests that stay with us repeatedly. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom. I agree, the river views are wonderful. Our friendly team will be anxiously awaiting your next visit. Naz Jenulevich Director of Operations

247 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (128)
Viewed
Amenities (31)
Viewed
Spa King (19)
Viewed
Spa King Suite (24)
Viewed
Spa Queen (20)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kennebunkport
1.5 km away
Kennebunkport Inn
Kennebunkport Inn
#2 of 6 in Kennebunkport
593 reviews
0.9 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
287 reviews
7.5 km away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Kennebunkport
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kennebunk
261 reviews
0.4 km away
Nonantum Resort
Nonantum Resort
#1 of 6 in Kennebunkport
1,555 reviews
1.4 km away
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
The Boathouse Waterfront Hotel
#8 of 25 in Kennebunkport
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Built in the 1880's, The Breakwater Inn & Spa is one of the most historic Kennebunkport hotels and inns with all the modern hotel comforts, located right on the Kennebunk River waterfront. Experience our chic water view inn rooms, cottages or spa rooms as you indulge in exclusive signature spa treatments in our luxury spa complex. Delight in innovative cuisine at Stripers Waterside Restaurant, taking pleasure in the freshest seafood, lobster and shellfish from the New England Maine Coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn and Spa

Address: 127 Ocean Ave, Kennebunkport, ME 04046-6308
Region: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Kennebunkport
Price Range: $109 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Breakwater Inn and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Breakwater Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Kennebunkport
The Breakwater Inn And Spa Kennebunkport, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
7 months ago
over a year ago
Brick, New Jersey

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room in the main hotel , not the nearby annexe .”
 of 5 bubbles GordonR46, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a water veim away fro the Road.”
 of 5 bubbles Sleeper2012, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose the rooms with a view of the water!”
 of 5 bubbles jrfb2016, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor balcony room in the new Inn is a must!”
 of 5 bubbles JimK765, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The river rooms are the best rooms as for the view.”
 of 5 bubbles kennethp105, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay