We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Gray\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground
See the most recent reviews
Showing 75: English reviews
Sabattus, Maine
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We had the best time at Grays Homestead Campground. Just got back and have already booked for next year. It is quiet and peaceful and the scenery is spectacular! Got a photo of the sunrise and couldn't stop taking pictures of everything in view! there is no pool or playground so there is really nothing for the kids to do,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie W
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review! We will keep trying hard to keep the place lovely for you & all our guests.

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We arrived here to take their last RV spot and loved it so much, we stayed again on our way home. They have "primo" oceanfront spots - literally on the harbor complete with walkway to floating dock for fishing. They have a few cottages and spots tucked up in the woods on a hill. We noticed a few spots together...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah G
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank You for the lovely & honest review. We'd love to see you back anytime. So glad you liked it!

East Windsor, Connecticut
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We tent camped here over labor day weekend, and we absolutely loved it. What a beautiful setting, you really couldn't beat it! I loved the beach! The facilities were basic, but were clean and sufficient. We were only looking for basic camping, and it was great for us and our dog. I am very surprised that previous reviews have said...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RaveAngelX79
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thanks, so much, for your really nice, honest review. We hope you come visit again.

Canonsburg, Pa
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed in the cottage while out kids camped. An excellent week long stay (except for the rain, which Steve Gray doesn't contriol). Staff was extremely friendly, solicitous of our needs and very helpful. Quiet and peaceful, close to the ocean... who could ask for more?

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard J
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your cottage & the location We hope to see you back here some day soon.

Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We tent camped here for two days and were very disappointed. This was one of the most expensive tent sites we've ever had and definitely the smallest with the fewest amenities! The water on site was not posted as undrinkable but when you filled a water bottle there was very noticeable debris. You had to pay for a shower but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lois S
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

As I write this response, we are in the height of our very busy time with new & repeat customers. Our tent & rv sites have been filled for the weekend & we have been receiving many compliments about the beauty of nature here. We do try to keep our place really nice for people. I'm sorry that we were...

Massachusetts
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This is our favorite campground! Very quiet, beautiful scenery and lots of wholesome fun for kids in the tidepools! A special thanks to Cindy, Max and Boo for making us welcome! Great little beach, tidepools and swimming! Our 10 year old wants to work here when he is 16! Please do not change anything! Chris, Cyndy, Sam and Leo from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CynSam
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Thank you, so much for your lovely review! We are always thrilled when young people give us a good rating & want to return to us. We love to hear their excited voices from the shore while exploring all the nooks & crannies. Nice to see them learn about the creatures that live in the tidepools & interact with nature...

Garland, Maine
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My mom gets one week a year for vacation and we planned a 4 night stay at the campground and paid 142.00 in full for our deposit. A week ago, my mom became critically ill and is currently sitting in ICU. When I called to cancel our visit because of our family's situation, the man on the phone responsed, "Let's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allyson G
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

Allyson, again I am terribly sorry about your mother's illness. I did respond to you personally, through this site, about a week ago but have not heard back from you about a refund & getting more information about your cancellation so I may know who, in our office, responded to you on the phone. Please call & ask for Suzanne,...

Reviewed 21 July 2012

I booked our site for four nights and paid our deposit in full. When calling to cancel our visit because my mom is critically ill, sitting in ICU, the employee's response was, "Let's hope I can fill the spot." My heart aches to think a family run, small town business could be led by such insensitivity and cruel demeanor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Allyson G
Suzanne G, Owner at Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground, responded to this review

I am so sorry. All the staff in our office has been instructed to return all deposits for medical emergencies. I will try to find out what happened & e-mail you personally with an apology & a refund. We are very sympathetic to families & emegency illnesses. We just returned a deposit because someone's cat was having issues & had...

Hampstead, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The views are priceless from this hidden gem! I am not an early riser by any stretch but I got up early every morning just to watch and shoot videos of the incredible sunrises. We took some day trips to Boothbay Harbor and over to East Boothbay to walk along Ocean Point but other than that we stayed put and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Monika M
Lebanon, Maine
Reviewed 13 July 2012

What a beautiful campground. We swam every day, enjoyed close by Boothbay Harbor. Staff very friendly and helpful. A nice quiet campground with nice sites. We loved the freshly cooked lobsters.....Delicious!! We would definately come back to this beautiful piece of the Maine coast. It is a wonderful area to go exploring . Thanks for sharing your beautiful ocean front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joanne s
Management response:

Thanks for your lovely review. Really happy that you enjoyed our little spot on the coast of Maine! We are happy that staff treated you well during your visit. They are terrific individuals. We are lucky to have them & all our new & returning campers to complete our beautiful summer months. Thanks again. Please come back & see us....

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
5.7 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
478 reviews
4.4 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
407 reviews
4.4 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
332 reviews
4.4 km away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
261 reviews
3.0 km away
Newagen Seaside Inn
Newagen Seaside Inn
#1 of 1 in Newagen
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful little campground on the ocean with a variety of sites, some with spectacular views! Nice rv & tent sites available. We have kayaks to rent & lobsters to eat! Gray's has a nice clean bathhouse & a lovely natural setting campground. The people in the office are friendly & helpful & can direct you to hiking trails, or the Botanical Gardens, or into Boothbay Harbor. In the Harbor you will find boat trips, restaurants, ice cream, mini-golf, galleries & shops, just to name a few. This is a gem of a spot where ships sail by everyday, & where you can bring your coffee & watch the sunrise on the point every morning...A genuine Maine experience! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground

Address: 21 Homestead Rd, Southport, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04576-3226
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $50 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Gray`s Homestead Oceanfront Campground Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gishen
2 months ago
Rockport, Massachusetts
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Gray's Homestead Oceanfront Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book as close to the water as you can.”
 of 5 bubbles josephsH3392HU, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sites 22,23, 30 are good but not oceanfront. The really good sites are seasonal”
 of 5 bubbles lsbrodsky, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Decide if you want to be on the ocean, ocean view or private woods.”
 of 5 bubbles Holeimolie, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
“If you have a big rig go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles chask270, 5 Aug 2015 | Read review
“ask for a spot with a view of the ocean....so serene and peaceful being able to see and smell it.”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmC1079US, 8 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5