We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Cap\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 254: English reviews
Hudson NH
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Even though our room was as far from the water as any of the rooms here, we still had a great view of the water from our deck. The room did have a refrigerator, and the housekeeping staff kept us well supplied with toiletries and towels, realizing that with four people in the room, we were going to use them!... More 

Helpful?
Thank GFWCGardener
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you were pleased with your room. Thank you also for mentioning to ask for "no steps". We do not have an elevator and it is helpful if we know who can and can't climb stairs. It is not always possible to switch rooms on the day... More 

Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2016

This Inn was a great value for my family. We needed a room in Boothbay Harbor in order to make a morning ferry ride. Because the Inn is a little older the room was larger than your standard new room which is great when traveling with teenagers. The room was clean and the bathroom was updated and the view as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so happy that you found everything to your liking. I hope you will be able to visit us again in the future! Sincerely, Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

The very best place to stay if you are going to do the Cap'n Fish's whale watching boat tours. They offer great discounts for the tours. We stayed in a standard rate two double beds room for the week, hot water and great water pressure every day. We spent some time in the lobby in the evening watching the sunset... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful review! I will be sure that Linda knows that she was helpful. She will appreciate that very much! Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn More 

Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Great place. Right on the pier. Rooms clean and comfortable. Water view rooms worth the few extra dollars but if non available don't let it stop you. Staff outstanding. We had a question they could not answer and they actually took the initiative to call us on our cell with answer and a few hrs later ! WF and KF... More 

Helpful?
Thank falzonek
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for such a wonderful review! Customer service is one of our top priorities and I am glad that we fulfilled your expectations! Diane Cap'n Fish's waterfront Inn More 

midwest
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2016

This was a nice spot to spend the night. It was clean, well located and priced well for the area. it had a great location on the water, was close to dining and an enjoyable place. We would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank joby01
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. One of the best compliments you can give us is to say that you would stay here again! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We enjoyed our 3 days at Cap'n Fish's. Quiet, no noise, large shower, close to a lot of things. On the flip-side: "breakfast" is a cup of coffee, some fruit and cereal in the lobby. Added perk: Down at the waterfront is Cod's Head bar/restaurant and they give you 10% off for flashing your key from Cap'n Fish's ...

Helpful?
Thank Klaus S
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn More 

Beverly, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We went up for the Puffin cruise which is also owned by Cap'n Fish's. We stayed for one night and it was perfect. The room is nothing extravagant but it was clean and comfortable and the price was unbeatable. We ate at the restaurant there, which was ok, and it was just a couple of minutes walk from downtown. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank cmedeiros1986
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! So glad that you found everything to your liking. We will look forward to seeing you again in the future! Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The check in experience was pleasant and helpful. The view from our second floor room was beautiful, especially at sunset. The hotel overlooks the harbor where boats gently move in from and out to sea. The location was an easy short walk to both the restaurant, shops, and wharf areas, and to the local beach/park where children can hunt for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cyclingdenise
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So happy that you enjoyed everything. Boothbay Harbor does have a lot to offer for families and couples. I am glad that you had the chance to visit the Gardens. They really are spectacular. Glad to hear you will be back! Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My husband thought this was a good hotel for us to re-connect?! He thought the suite with a kitchen would be a good deal to save money on a boat trip offered at a reduced rate if you rent the suite. But the "suite" and the entire hotel was visibly worn and run down. Not the place to take your... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank JanetheRN
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Dear JanetheRN, I am sorry that you were not happy with the vacation accommodations that your husband selected for you. I am also surprised that trip advisor published your review, since you did not even stay here. I was under the impression that reviews of hotels were supposed to be of places you stayed at. Sincerely, Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront... More 

Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We arrived early and our room wasn't available but the staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. We were able to check in, get directions about the town, etc. etc. She even made a dinner reservation for us. The room was fine. This hotel is across the water from the main part of town, but it's an easy walk... More 

Helpful?
Thank lionel77
capn_fishs_inn, Owner at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you were pleased with our customer service! It is our goal to give everyone a welcoming experience. I hope that you will keep us in mind in your future travels. Sincerely, Diane Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn More 

126 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.6 km away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
478 reviews
1.6 km away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
344 reviews
0.5 km away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
457 reviews
0.2 km away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
276 reviews
3.2 km away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, cable tv, in room coffee makers, hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: $131 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Recommend getting a harbor view room. It is worth it!”
  • View of Boothbay Harbor from the dock in front of the motel.
 of 5 bubbles ShelleyD007, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“second floor rooms have better views, but stairs”
 of 5 bubbles 907herbertm, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request water view room on the first floor if you do not want steps. No elevators”
 of 5 bubbles 135cindyt, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Value, comfort, friendly, and clean. Not 'five star' but a wonderful, nice place to stay.”
 of 5 bubbles dwew35, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a view room”
 of 5 bubbles 533lydiac, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay