We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Paul Bunyan Campground

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bangor
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Paul Bunyan Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 17: English reviews
Corinth, Vermont
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I imagine this place is mobbed in the summer. I stayed for a week the day after labor day, it was relatively empty. I had one of the many tent sites. Had I had neighbor's I would be writing a different review, they are close-as in hearing a whisper close. But my closest neighbor was a few hundred feet away,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed one night on our recent road excursion from Ontario to New Brunswick. Normally we stay in parking lot's but, since stopping here we now feel this will be a routine stop added to our places to land while on the road. Very quiet and peaceful with full service lots, a few "regular" campers here that have set up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BCLSUD
Fairhope, Alabama
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We came here for two nights but stayed three. Just so peaceful. Only problem that might be for others is that it is close to Bangor's air port. But we love that sound. Great staff, good location, and nice sites. The campground is well maintained and clean. Trash cans at sites as well as fire ring. This would be a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d_polka
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Stayed here for a weekend get away. Only minutes from great shopping, grocery stores, restaurants, and fuel stop. Really nice pool. A few field mice like to hang around and sun tan, though are very skiddish and will not come around when people are there. Lots of different play areas for the kids. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Campground is kept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RSCK
Turner, Maine
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

A very accommodating establishment- our comings and goings didn't align with the office hours. I was able to pay on my way home. Thank you for a great place to rest our heads before and after the show. Jimmy mentioned the Sturgeon moon during his show - here's its reflection in the early morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CaribbeanDivers_2
Halifax Region, Canada
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This campground is excellent for children as there are many weekend activities. The lots are spacious enough for larger campers and some are better suited to tenting. The owners are really nice people and are very willing to help. The pool is large and clean. There is evening entertainment on the field.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norm H
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

I might as well have slept beside the highway or right in the airport. Bathrooms were not clean and only a curtain to close for showering no door, however they were free. This has been my 12 th night camping and this was the worst. No privacy, vehicles roaring around at 4:30 am. No sleep at all. Good place for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
Moncton, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We arrived late to the campground. The office was closed, but the receptionist the night when reserving told us to just go to our camp site as we prepaid. We put up our tents in the dark, and took them down the next morning in the pouring rain, so even though we did not get to experience much of the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anthony M
Amy H, Owner at Paul Bunyan Campground, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review!

Wheatfield, New York
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

If you like planes this is your spot. Very active park early. Power at our site was supposed to be 30 amp however lights dimmed whenever something kicked in. All the good sites are seasonal. Wi Fi was very weak. No escort in after dark as staff leaves at 7pm. Ok for a one night stop over.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank eyemcdn
Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

We chose to stay at the Paul Bunyon Campground on our way to Nova Scotia because it was listed with Good Sam and it was located just a short distance off of Rte 95. The campground overall was actually less than average because of the inadequate and unclean bathrooms. The campground itself was in a very nice setting and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rondonnav
Amy H, Owner at Paul Bunyan Campground, responded to this review

I am new to trip advisor so I didn't read your message until now. I do want to apologize about your stay at our campground. We are a small/ family owned campground so we don't have many people working for us. We do a lot ourselves. My grandmother was in the hospital for 10 days and had just passed away...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangor hotels
7.8 km away
Comfort Inn Bangor
Comfort Inn Bangor
#3 of 26 in Bangor
552 reviews
7.0 km away
Residence Inn Bangor
Residence Inn Bangor
#7 of 26 in Bangor
116 reviews
5.4 km away
Fairfield Inn Bangor
Fairfield Inn Bangor
#9 of 26 in Bangor
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
Hampton Inn Bangor
Hampton Inn Bangor
#1 of 26 in Bangor
920 reviews
5.4 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
5.3 km away
Days Inn Bangor Airport
Days Inn Bangor Airport
#11 of 26 in Bangor
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about Paul Bunyan Campground

Address: 1862 Union St, Bangor, ME 04401-2209
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Number of rooms: 52
Also Known As:
Paul Bunyan Campground Bangor, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Paul Bunyan Campground staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Westbrook, Maine, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Paul Bunyan Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Too many to choose from. All good.”
 of 5 bubbles RSCK, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This comment is thumbs up for the Union Street Paul Bunyon Campground in Bangor, Wonderful place to camp whether family, groups or alone for peace and quiet!!!”
 of 5 bubbles lornak701, 19 Aug 2014 | Read review
2 of 2