21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

21c Museum Hotel Lexington

Traveller (198)
Dining (17)
Room & Suite (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#8 of 86 hotels in Lexington
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
21c Museum Hotel Lexington is a combination boutique hotel, contemporary art museum and restaurant in downtown Lexington, Kentucky. The hotel is housed in downtown Lexington's historic Fayette National Bank Building, the city's first skyscraper originally designed by famed New York architecture firm McKim, Mead & White. Woven into the fabric of downtown, 21c welcomes both visitors and the local community to enjoy the curated exhibitions and cultural programming. Our top priority is the safety and wellness of our teammates and guests. Our website has everything you need to know to return to travel with 21c. We can't wait to welcome you back to Lockbox and 21c Lexington!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Restaurant
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Iron
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Accor Hotels.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English

Location

167 W Main St, Lexington, KY 40507-1397
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
Blue Grass Airport
1,116Review4Q+A64Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 768
  • 176
  • 97
  • 47
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Overhear wrote a review July 2020
Westchester County, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Coming from a pandemic hotspot ourselves, it was reassuring to find that this GORGEOUS hotel is so careful about taking coronavirus precautions. All staff and visitors wore masks, our room was impeccable, and our temperature was checked each time we returned to the hotel.

Just as good -- our room (528) was divine! Beautifully appointed in neutral finishes, it had high ceilings and tall windows looking out onto the historic courthouse. The spacious bathroom and dreamy bed made it perfect.

We didn't have a chance to visit the gallery space, but since it's now closed to the general public it offers a great way to get a crowd-free culture fix.

NOTE: We used an outdoor public parking lot in order to maintain social distancing, which was about the same price as the hotel's valet parking. (Google SP+ for nearby lots).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abbey Tillman, Guest Services / Front Office at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 21 July 2020
Goodness! Thank you so much for the exceptional review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we cannot wait for you to come back and visit us among other 21c properties upon future travels! Very best, Abbey Abbey Tillman Rooms Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cheryld09 wrote a review Jan 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second experience at 21c and they did not disappoint. The art throughout the property was thought provoking and engaging. The meals I had in their restaurant and meeting space were delicious, especially the desserts. The comfort of the bed and pillows made it difficult to leave the room each morning. The mirrors in the bathroom are impeccable and the heated floor makes a MAJOR impact.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from abbeytillman, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 21 Jan 2020
cheryldix0n, Wow. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent experience with us! I'm so glad that you were able to enjoy yourself in the museum, restaurant, meeting space and especially the room! The heated tile is one of my favorite features in our rooms! I hope that your business travels bring you back to Lexington again soon! Very best, Abbey Abbey Tillman Rooms Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GuySeabrook wrote a review Oct 2020
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights and really appreciated the precautions 21c is taking. Temperature checks on entering, fresh gloves on the staff for every transaction(including valet parking), no housekeeping, strict capacity limits in the bar and restaurant; we thought that they have best practices figured out. Room service was efficient, though service on disposable plates would have been better than cardboard boxes.
Our room was excellent; spacious, well laid out and everything worked as it should.
The art in many of the public spaces adds a special touch too.
Just one downer; valet parking is $30 a night, since it’s right in the center of town. However, nearby public parking costs much the same.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kira Hassenger, Owner at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Thank you for much for noticing all the precautions we are taking to ensure everyone's safety. We do appreciate it. We have notated your thoughts on the disposable plates would have been better instead of cardboard boxes. I will make sure our staff is better informing our guests that those boxes do unfold to be plates. Thank you again for staying! We hope to see you again soon! And sorry about the parking cost! It is high everywhere in the city! - Kira Hassenger Lockbox
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma wrote a review July 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family was looking forward to booking a two night stay for this hotel once we found their site advertised "Every 2nd Night On Us" deal. Upon checkout, we noticed there was no price change so I made a quick call and spoke to Carmen who informed me that this is not offered for our chosen days. Even though the site specifically wrote out that their promotion is offered until 07/31 and can be used through the end of 2020. The room we needed was available, but we were informed their location does not follow this promotion as it is advertised on their own site. Just a warning for future bookings, disappointing on our end but all should be good at Marriott of Lexington. :)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abbey Tillman, Guest Services / Front Office at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 27 July 2020
EO02939, I'm so sorry for the issues you experienced upon your recent visit. I would love to look into this further, would you be willing to give me a call or email? (atillman@21chotels.com // 859.899.6808) I totally understand that this situation is frustrating and I want to make sure that what you booked is what you had intended. Again, I am so sorry for any miscommunication you experienced from making the reservation to calling after you checked out! Very best, Abbey Abbey Tillman Rooms Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mary Pat C wrote a review July 2020
Charleston, South Carolina
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our family of 4 stayed at 21C Lexington for one night. We were scheduled to stay 3 nights but the customer service was so disappointing we decided to go elsewhere. One incident that happened with in 2 hours of our arrival went as follows. Our family went to dinner at the hotel restaurant @ 8:30 (upon check in was told restaurant was open until 9) Waited 5 minutes then realized the one bartender/server/hostess was very busy. We decided to walk outside to give the gentleman time. We spoke to him & let him know we were stepping outside & would be right back for dinner. Upon our arrival back 8:45) to the host stand we were informed the restaurant was now closed. In all other times we would walk some where else...unfortunately, due to Covid shut downs, nothing around the hotel was open. If the hotel can not provide food or drink options (No bottled water in the room or drink’s for sale in the lobby) for hotel guests they should not be open for business. Please be aware that this is only one of the incident’s in 16 hour’s we spent @ the hotel. This is the last time my family & I will stay at a 21c Hotel. This saddens me because I believe in the concept but not the laissez-afire treatment of their customers.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kira Hassenger, Owner at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 31 July 2020
Marycl2529OH, Thank you for taking a moment to review your stay and Lockbox experience with us. I am very disappointed to hear that you were simply trying to come in for dinner, and you were kind enough to give it a moment and come back in 15 mins to only be turned away. This is unacceptable and should have never happened. I know that if you would have had the opportunity to dine with us that you would have enjoyed yourself, but you weren't even given that. I do apologize that this happened, and I assure you I will be following up with the appropriate parties to ensure that this never happens again. I understand that you don't want to ever come again, and I respect your decision. If you do change your mind I would really love for you to come back to have dinner on us. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly so I can determine the exact person that you had your interaction with and will be able to follow up on and take swift action. If you do not wish to reach out, I understand and will do an investigation to determine this on my own. Thank you again. Kira Hassenger khassenger@lockboxlex.com 859-899-6880
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JenniBrad15 wrote a review Aug 2020
Greenwich, Connecticut
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were the first guests to check in after the hotel reopened, due to the pandemic.
This was also the first hotel we had stayed in since Covid, and we were a bit nervous but the staff quickly made us feel comfortable. Everyone wore masks, temperature checks at the door and antibacterial wipes in the room. The hotel is very modern - stark white with interesting art pieces. We loved exploring the in house museum! Unfortunately we didn't dine in the restaurant so I can't speak on the food or service there.
Rooms could use a bit of a refresh, but we were completely comfortable. Hotel is centrally located and easily walkable to many great restaurants and shops. The staff was friendly and accommodating. If we find ourselves in Lexington again, we'd definitely stay here!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Abbey Tillman, Guest Services / Front Office at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 10 Aug 2020
JenniBrandley15, THANK YOU so much for your kind words - I'm so happy that you felt safe and comfortable while stay with us - especially in these uncertain and wild times! Additionally, thank you for pointing out areas within the room that we can freshen up on - we truly value your feedback & take it seriously! We can't wait to welcome you back to Lexington upon future travels! Very best, Abbey Abbey Tillman Rooms Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JHFIII wrote a review May 2022
Folsom, California
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We are in Lexington as a last stop on a five day group cycling excursion along the Bourbon Trail in Kentucky.

The organizers chose this hotel both for its unique character and ease of cycling to and from its location.

The property aspires to be a combination of visual art and lodging. What seems lost is a conviction to the basics of lodging blocking and tackling.

Service is friendly but spotty. Perhaps a training issue?

The bigger issue is housekeeping. Our room has artifacts from previous guests both ( see pictures) suggesting room maintenance is done in “ drive by” mode.

The artwork is nice but I’d trade it for a comprehensive vacuum and bathroom scrubbing.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sarah and Lex Team, Other at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the 21c Museum Hotel Lexington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Sarah and Lex Tea
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jail697697 wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We actually won tickets to a fork and bottle event last year which included a free night stay in a corner king room. The fork and bottle was fantastic but we did not stay that night. We booked our night for march 6th for the Zac Brown concert and it was awesome. Our stay being free did not hender the staf on their quality of service. It was the absolute best stay we have ever experienced at a hotel. We would gladly pay for a night at this hotel again. Thank you guys for everything.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from abbeytillman, Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 16 Mar 2020
jail697697, Thank you so much for your kind words and five star review! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your recent visit with us as well as our past events with Fork + Bottle! They are so much fun and I can't wait to see what's in store for this year! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon! Very best, Abbey Abbey Tillman Rooms Director
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
294RichardS294 wrote a review Oct 2020
Dayton, Ohio
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed 2 nights in a king corner room. Service at the front desk was excellent. So was the concierge parking staff. Our disappointment is with the facility itself. There’s no lobby area - just a small vestibule where front desk personnel take your temperature and check you in. Rooms were rather small. There were many empty walls in their art exhibit although the artwork they had was interesting. The Lockbox Restaurant was also disappointing. The wait staff was casually dressed in jeans and tops of their own choosing - one was wearing a sweatshirt. Service seemed indifferent. The menu was limited- maybe 6 or so entrees to choose from. Our $45 steak was average at best and the $16 hamburger left much to be desired. Admittedly we were using our experience at 21C in Bentonville Arkansas as our baseline but this 21C was a disappointment. In our opinion, there are many better choices than 21C and Lockbox Restaurant when visiting Lexington.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Kira Hassenger, Owner at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 15 Oct 2020
Richard, Thank you for taking a moment to share the details of your visit with us. I have made sure the appropriate parties are aware of the details you provided on the hotel side. On the notes of Lockbox, I wanted to personally thank you for letting me know your feedback. Without it I am unable to make those needed changes that will continue to set us apart. I will address with my team about appearances. We are lucky enough that we are permitted to wear our own attire, but that attire should not be presented in a sloppy manner. For the food, I will discuss with our Chef and see what we can do to provide more value moving forward. I am sorry to hear that we weren't living up to the standards that we are known for. I again appreciate you letting us know. If you find yourself back in Lexington, please don't hesitate to reach out. I would love to set up your reservation and ensure everything is perfect. Thank you! Kira Hassenger F&B Director Lockbox
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jeannie07 wrote a review Aug 2021
USA
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was clean and the room well appointed. I loved the art concept and the exhibits were a nice touch. The room was large as was the bathroom. Both were really nice. My biggest complaint is the lack of any services. Yes, I understand its covid and some services need to be suspended but I think this is the catch all for everything. We valet parked and when checking in and out, keys were exchanged, the valet collected his tip and then ran back to his stand. A little help unloading/loading our suitcases would have been nice especially since I am recovering from surgery. Unfortunately the nights we visited the restaurant was closed. After a long travel day we really wanted to stop at the restaurant bar and have a drink. We didn't want to have to go back out again but unfortunately we had to leave the hotel as well as for breakfast, lunch, and dinner too. They did have a coffee maker in the room so I suppose that is some consolation for the morning.
The hotel did warn us in their welcome letter (after registering) that they are in the process of "rebuilding their resources". I understand now that must mean hire staff.
My only suggestion to anyone looking for a hotel during "Covid" is unfortunately you might want to stay at the big box chains which provide full service food choices.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Gabe Isaac, General Manager at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Responded 9 Aug 2021
Jeannie, I'm so sorry we failed to WOW you despite the delay in return of services. Our team hates not being able to deliver the intended experience and has prepared to go above and beyond to make up for it. Clearly we missed the mark. We are extremely excited to reinstate daily housekeeping end extend hours in the restaurant as soon as possible, and would love an opportunity to invite you back once we do. Thanks for your invaluable feedback! Very Best, Gabe
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
travelingypsy0217 asked a question Nov 2021
Nashville, TN66 contributions3 helpful votes
Are there grassy areas outside the hotel for dog potty breaks?
Emily P asked a question May 2017
Charleston, West Virginia43 contributions16 helpful votes
Are there mini fridges in the rooms?
Answer from Andrew C
2 contributions
Hi Emily, We have minibars in every room stocked with sodas, beers, and snacks. If you would like a minifridge in your room seperate from the minibar we can have one placed in your room for you. Please let me know if I can help with anything else. Andrew Carter | General Manager
Jennifer F asked a question May 2017
38 contributions14 helpful votes
Is there any free parking at the hotel or nearby?
Scottsdale, AZ171 contributions93 helpful votes
No! While other downtown hotels have plenty of free parking this hotel sits in an area where parking is very difficult to find. Therefore, you are forced to pay the $25/nightly valet fee! Other downtown hotels charge less for their valet and have less expensive parking options very near.
Answer from Andrew C
2 contributions
Hi Emmala, Check in is 4p and checkout is 11am. Please let me know if i can assist in anyway. Best, Andrew Carter | General Manager T 859.899.6805
mollyliz wrote a tip Aug 2023
Louisville64 contributions37 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this hotel. Nothing like it’s sister facility in nearby Louisville."
Read full review
Sungurl74 wrote a tip July 2023
Kentucky42 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Limited street parking , valet parking available or park in the parking garage, everything is w/in walking distance of this hotel❤️"
Read full review
KGPPhotography wrote a tip June 2023
28 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"impossible to get uber. no shuttle at hotel"
Read full review
LangeVE wrote a tip June 2023
Louisville, Kentucky3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Valet is efficient."
Read full review
Shane B wrote a tip May 2023
West Falls, New York246 contributions64 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure parking options. Paid $30 valet who parked in lot on side of hotel. Possibly cheaper options."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lexington area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$223 - AU$346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyLexington
NUMBER OF ROOMS
88
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

21C MUSEUM HOTEL LEXINGTON (AU$223): 2024 Prices & Reviews (KY) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Which popular attractions are close to 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Nearby attractions include University of Kentucky (0.10 km), The Kentucky Theater (0.4 km), and The Dinner Detective Murder Mystery Show (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tony's of Lexington, Corto Lima, and Pies & Pints .
Are there opportunities to exercise at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Is 21c Museum Hotel Lexington located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Lexington.
Are any cleaning services offered at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at 21c Museum Hotel Lexington?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does 21c Museum Hotel Lexington offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
All Lexington HotelsLexington Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in LexingtonHotels near 21c Museum Hotel Lexington
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars