Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park

32 Matson Terrace, Venus Bay, South Australia 5607 Australia
Traveller (144)
Pool & Beach (11)
Room & Suite (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#1 of 1 campsite in Venus Bay
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Welcome you to Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park (formerly Venus Bay Caravan Park)- a delightful spot situated on the beach front. Venus Bay is a small township 6kms from the main highway and lies between Elliston and Streaky Bay on the West Coast of South Australia Included in our pet friendly park are powered sites, tent sites, deluxe, standard & budget cabins (some of which are absolute beach front sites), a fully equipped camp kitchen which includes two gas barbecues, spacious disabled facilities as well as very clean amenities blocks & laundry Venus Bay is an ideal place to fish, surf, explore, or just relax. An assortment of fish are caught in our protected bay including King George Whiting, Tommy Ruff (Herring), Flathead, Salmon Trout, Trevally, Snook, Garfish and Squid. These can be caught either in a boat or just off of the jetty
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Outdoor dining area
Beach
Boating
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
BBQ facilities
Convenience store
Self-serve laundry
Snack bar
Fishing
Patio
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Seating area
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Electric blanket
Walk-in shower
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View

Location

32 Matson Terrace, Venus Bay, South Australia 5607 Australia
1 Restaurant
within 10 kilometers
1 Attraction
within 10 kilometers
169Reviews6Q+A31Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 112
  • 39
  • 10
  • 6
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Frequentjaunts wrote a review Apr 2021
Terang, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelling around the Eyre Peninsula we wanted to break up the trip from Port Lincoln to Ceduna so booked a night in the Tommy cabin. The price was right, especially given school holidays.
Driving into Venus Bay about 4.30pm we were enamoured by the calm water and even more pleased by the tidy clean cabin. The cabin was in great condition and was a very reasonable price. The park reception doubles as a fish and chip shop, under $10 for fish and chips which is half of coffin bay prices. Port Kenny pub only 10mins away,with reportably good meals. Watch for Kangas at night.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Chapman, Owner at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Responded 22 Apr 2021
Great comments and review! Thanks so much. We're glad you enjoyed the fish and chips!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lynn N wrote a review Mar 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this beautiful location in our caravan, the park was organized, amenities spotless and the park managers went above and beyond to make our stay special. The park was busy with lots of caravaners retuning year after year. The scenery around the area was breathtaking.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Chapman, Owner at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Responded 22 Mar 2021
Thanks so much for your fantastic review and comments. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
marleemia wrote a review Nov 2020
Adelaide, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in the new Pelican cabins and I agree with the previous reviews. Clean and comfortable. Beautiful views out onto the bay. There is 3G Telstra coverage but it’s not suitable for much other than phone calls and text. However there is 4G Optus coverage that is good enough to stream video and movies. TV coverage in the cabins gives the full range of free to air channels. Each cabin seems to have its own satellite dish. My only complaint is that some of the glassware and dishes in the cupboards were only partially washed. I took out a wine glass only to see lipstick marks from the last user. The water in the kitchen tap comes from a rainwater tank. The other taps in the cabin now use desalinated water, not bore water. I would return again.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Chapman, Owner at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Responded 16 Nov 2020
Hi Marleemia. Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear that some of your dishes weren't properly cleaned, I will pass that onto the cleaning staff. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Judy M wrote a review Mar 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We have been coming here for 17 years, 9 in a van, before that 8 in an off road camper, always loved the place until it was sold nearly 2 years ago. Maintenance is now an issue, rats and mice live in the berry bushes which are seriously overgrown and in desperate need of a cut back before we lose what limited view we now have.
Try getting an explanation re what you are paying and why? Managers have no idea. I got a printed statement and did an analysis on it, still does not make sense. Out on the road powered sites are advertised as from $27, I don't believe this. There are no unpowered sites anymore. As seniors the rate is $30 per night, we paid $31. It is going up another $2 later in the year, That will take it up to $33 per night. $84 for 6 weeks, but my printed booking confirmation has it going up $110. See what I mean, nothing makes sense. People in the park pay different amounts which causes unpleasant comments to do the rounds re management. We go twice a year for 4 & 6 week stays, starting to look around for an alternative which will be hard as it is a beautiful relatively safe bay for a car topper.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Darcie31 wrote a review Aug 2020
Murray Bridge, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We bumped in to this place accidentally as we were going to stay else where but it didn't work out. So glad we did. We got offered one of their new cabins right up on the waters edge with an unbelievable view. The price for this was pretty good too and for tea we ordered take away from their little shop and also wasn't disappointed. Had fish and chips and they were amazing, only wrong was a little too many chips but the seagulls and pelicans didn't mind. The hosts were also very friendly and chatty so not a thing to complain about will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Chapman, Owner at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Responded 16 Sept 2020
Thanks Darcie31- We couldn't agree more, it certainly is an amazing place, and one that has the ability to draw people back again and again. We are glad that you enjoyed the new accommodation and our hospitality, and look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nola P wrote a review Oct 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at the Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park for 5 nights in a cabin which was sparkling clean with everything we needed to feel at home. It’s a perfect place to relax, watch the prolific bird life and just enjoy the tranquility.
We felt we found a real gem of a destination on Eyre Peninsula.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
TeamJaffa wrote a review Mar 2022
Victor Harbor, Australia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Over Christmas our little family of four stayed in one of the newer holiday units at Venus Bay. These well appointed units are quite stunning and disability friendly.
Well placed close to the beach this location has a lot to offer the young active family wanting to stay in a remote location away from the maddening crowd.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Chapman, Owner at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Responded 15 July 2022
Thanks TeamJaffa, appreciate the review, and so happy to read that you enjoyed our new Seahorse cabins. They sure have been very popular since coming online, but as you say, what's not to like with that amazing location away from the hustle and bustle, being right on the beach, and having that big deck from which to enjoy the spectacular view. Look forward to welcomingTeamJaffa again in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice J wrote a review Oct 2021
Adelaide, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
While the cabin was excellent, I had major issues not being able to confirm stays on further days ahead due to lack of wifi and unable to make calls. When I asked staff about wifi, I had to buy 10 dollars worth of access, and sit up at the reception area. I discovered Baird Bay eco adventures wanted confirmation. I asked staff about Baird Bay swim adventures of which they knew nothing. As I didn't realise telstra has a monopoly on phone service out there I couldn't ring. I asked about phone help, the lady sent me across the street to phone booth. That was broken. I went into the General store and explained my situation. This person gave me their landline and was very helpful. She couldn't understand why the Beachfront tourist park couldn't help me and offer their phone, as they are the tourist bureau for the Area.
So a whole lot of no help, great stuff guys!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Chapman, Owner at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Responded 23 Oct 2021
Hi S1669QFalicej, As mentioned in a response to a similar review you posted on another site, there is both 4G Optus and Telstra available in Venus Bay, but we do not have access to NBN or broadband internet. We rely on Satellite which is extremely expensive, and the data allowance tiny, so whilst we would love to offer free internet across the whole park, due to limitations that are out of our control, this hasn't been possible as yet. We provide access to a hotspot on the kiosk deck, we just ask that people make a purchase in the shop to access. We do thankyou for bringing to our attention the need to better acquaint staff on local attractions, whilst all of the current management teams have only been there for about 6 months, I agree with you in that they should know and understand the facilities and attractions in the area and will ensure that they are do moving forward. Whilst only minor, the park isn't actually the Tourist Bureau for the area, the nearest one is down in Elliston. We were unaware that the phone box was not working, had you come back and advised of same, we too would have been only too happy to lend you our phone to make your calls, or to call someone on your behalf, but we are glad that the general store was able to help you out on this occasion- hope you got to swim with the dolphins too- its an awesome experience that we get great feedback on.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Zan wrote a review June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Lovely quite location with a view to die for from almost every site. Park shop came in very handy for a fish and chips dinner on the first night. The management was also very obliging when we wanted to change sites because those originally allocated were next to a rather large family group and we are in the older age group and in need of our beauty sleep!!! The area is worth exploring with a lovely walk to the point where dolphins are regularly seen.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Chapman, Owner at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Responded 18 July 2020
Thanks JethronElly. Sounds like a great relaxing few days away. That view is second to none, thats for sure. Nothing like a feed of fish and chips from the shop while taking it in either. I will certainly pass on your feedback to our management team as well, pleased that they were able to find you an alternate site so you could get in a good nights sleep!. Hope to see you again one day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
susan R wrote a review Nov 2023
Adelaide, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Friendliest,cheapest accommodation with the best view. Full amenities available would highly recommend anyone travelling through Eyre Peninsula to stay at Venus Bay. Great range of hot foods available.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book early as very popular place to stay.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BarbJean2013 asked a question Mar 2018
Adelaide, Australia26 contributions16 helpful votes
what is the cost of using the Caravan Park per night - we have a camper trailer.?
Answer from Bippsy
Seaford, Australia74 contributions20 helpful votes
Hi. $38 for a powered site and $44 for an ensuite powered site. It goes a bit though over long weekends and holiday periods. Maybe by $10-$15 per night.
Hilda G asked a question Mar 2018
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a supermarket nearby.
Answer from TeamCaston
Adelaide, Australia22 contributions
No. A general store that is moderately well stocked. The caravan park has a fabulous range of snack items also.
Hilda G asked a question Mar 2018
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions1 helpful vote
Is there a supermarket near by.
Answer from Dottydebs74
Bristol, United Kingdom104 contributions63 helpful votes
There is a shop just at the top of the road that’s pretty well stocked, and alcohol .
Answer from Wies C
Adelaide, Australia26 contributions24 helpful votes
Adrian, you can certainly take your dog there (there were a few when we were there). I don't know the price for caravan site, sorry. Just call them directly and ask. It is a very friendly place.
John K wrote a tip June 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you want a long stay, book well ahead it’s very popular."
Read full review
Kaylene E wrote a tip Dec 2023
Bribie Island, Australia19 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"A couple of day just to sit back & relax would be great. "
Read full review
Chris S wrote a tip Nov 2023
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do yourself a favour and visit this hidden gem."
Read full review
Lea G wrote a tip Nov 2023
12 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"November is known as Blowvember - putting up a windbreak is a very good idea!"
Read full review
Ann T wrote a tip Nov 2023
7 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just enjoy your stay!!!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Venus Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$123 - AU$128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaSouth AustraliaVenus Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VENUS BAY BEACHFRONT TOURIST PARK (AU$123): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Campground - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park
Which popular attractions are close to Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park?
Nearby attractions include Needle Eye Lookout (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, self serve laundry, and barbeque facilities.
Which room amenities are available at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, an outdoor dining area, and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Is Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Venus Bay.
Are pets allowed at Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Venus Bay Beachfront Tourist Park accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.