We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Capital Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Capital Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 169: English reviews
Trussville, Alabama
Reviewed 7 August 2016

This hotel was booked online and we showed up to check in within about 10 minutes. The GREAT customer service began immediately!! Our vehicle was too tall to fit into the hotel's covered parking garage so we were allowed to park on the street directly in front of the hotel. Check in was quick and easy. We had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonne070216
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am always delighted to hear that the staff provided outstanding service! I am sharing your comments with them. I do hope you will keep us in mind next year or any time your travels bring you to the bluegrass.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Filthy carpets; smells like cigarette smoke throughout the building; fabric of chairs, decorative pillow for the bead and bead covering all had stains; furniture had water damage. Had to leave and drive all the way to Lexington, where I normally stay, at 2:30 a.m. The photo show the carpet in the hallway on the floor where the rooms are. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuxuriousOnABudget
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize the hotel did not meet your expectations. We have been making many updates and improvements over the past few years and we continue to do so. The hallway carpet you mention is scheduled to be replaced in the next few weeks and we will have new room furniture in place by the end...

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Large hotel in the city centre. Impressive foyer and entrance. We have stayed here for the past 5 years on our way through Kentucky and have not been disappointed . The hotel is comfortable and spacious. Plenty of seating in public areas inside and out. The bedroom is large and comfortable. There are a good range of toiletries and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feed back on your recent stay. I am always happy to hear great comments about the staff and the effort they put forth. I am also glad you noticed some of the changes we have made. I will do some checking on the reservation issue you mentioned. I am not aware of any problems with bookings,...

Madison, Indiana
Reviewed 2 August 2016

Once again this summer we are bringing guests by jet boat from Madison Indiana for an overnight stay in Frankfort. We always stay at the Capital Plaza. After each trip we ask our guests for feedback and everyone has enjoyed the hotel. Every trip we notice new improvements being made. The music and food on the patio is awesome. Thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank havefun668
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We love having the "Rockin Thunder" groups! We are making improvements and even more planned. Thanks for your business and we can't wait to see you again very soon.

Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We hoped to get a room in Lexington but everything was booked. Susan from the Super 8 asked whether we would be willing to drive 20 miles to Frankfort and called the Capital Plaza to make sure that they had a room with two beds. We were thrilled that we could stay at such a superior hotel for the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M E
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that my staff made your stay enjoyable and I am sharing your comments with them. We are certainly glad that you are making us your hotel of choice when visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!!

McLean, Virginia
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Hubby and I stayed one night and readily found the property. It was once a fine hotel, upgraded fairly recently, and very clean. I'd give it a 3.5 rating if possible. The desk clerks who checked us in (yes, it took two) were essentially overwhelmed and somewhat inattentive, though very polite. Making customers wait while you have a personal convo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki A
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your stay. I do apologize for the less than professional way your check in was handled. This is not acceptable behavior and it will be addressed. I do appreciate your comments about your room and the amenities. We do hope to see you again very soon!

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

You can tell this used to be a great place. Not so now. We reserve d a "river" view then was told as we checked in that we many not be able to see it. The bed should had been thrown out. We got a different room, still needing basic repairs- phone does not work, hair dryer does not work,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelson W
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations. We are constantly making improvements and I am so sorry you did not feel that during your stay. I will share your comments with the team and we will strive to do a better job. We do...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 20 July 2016

My family recently held our reunion there. I think we were all pleasantly surprised. Rooms were clean, pretty quiet, and beds were comfortable. The lobby area was very nice to gather and the conference room we had was good for us. There were several parties, weddings, and ball teams there, but with being on different floors we had plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank et7351
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed having your event here. Our staff tries very hard to make sure that all everyone has a pleasant stay. We hope you will consider our hotel your home away from home anytime you visit Kentucky.

Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel is dated but comfortable. Beds were OK. Staff is friendly and professional. I ordered the hot brown (Kentucky speciality) and was surprised at how good it was. Had to order and eat in the bar area but service was good. No meat on the breakfast bar is a bummer. We asked for the courtesy van and got a ride...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ole-wd
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the Kentucky Hotbrown. It is truly one of the best meals you can have while visiting Kentucky. I'm sorry you were not happy with our free breakfast bar. We are experimenting with different breakfast formats, but we do want to keep the breakfast as...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Nice hotel, clean, great staff. We stayed in a very large clean room, room 301. Not a brand new place, but perfectly fine for our needs. Comfortable beds. Underground parking, which some may not care for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpierson
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I can understand your concerns with parking, but with the kind of weather we have in Kentucky, the underground parking can be a very nice amenity. Cars stay cool in the summer and you do not have to worry about ice...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 9 in Frankfort
501 reviews
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#5 of 9 in Frankfort
65 reviews
20.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
230 reviews
29.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd., Frankfort, KY 40601 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: $146 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shelbyville, Kentucky
over a year ago
Sedalia, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view rooms are noisier. Your choice.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlotteF341, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles travelpr0123, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy to access directly from Hwy 127”
 of 5 bubbles yvonne070216, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 618 if need two beds and you want a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 229me, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One side has a street view that also has a river view. The other side overlooks a beautiful fountain courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles et7351, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5