We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Capital Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a large group of people stay at the Capital Plaza Hotel recently for a business trip. Upon return, there was one hotel receipt still needed to reconcile our financial account. Between two people, at least 5 attempts were made via telephone to the front desk of the hotel to obtain said receipt. The clerk's name is Katara and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingdaytripper
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely disappointed that you have had this experience at our desk. Your receipt was not as straight forward as most, but that is no excuse as to anyone being able to find your receipt and provide it to you as you gave her the necessary information she needed. We are retraining the desk clerk in question. I also...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The hotel was dirty and old. The phones in the room were replaced twice, and still did not work. The lobby staff was rude and did not even know what was served for breakfast. The rooms were horrible. Dust balls in every corver, the furniture was old and worn and the tub floor was stained. The staff in the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcdiaz1967
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write and share your experience. Something obviously went wrong on your stay and I apologize for my staff not handling it to your satisfaction. I am glad you at least found my breakfast staff friendly and helpful. We are under renovation as we speak so a lot of your issues with fixtures and furniture...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Ditto on the comments about the parking garage. It was neglected and run-down and the lighting was poor. There was standing water and trash all over that no one cleaned up. When we checked in, they advised us to park close to the door- that was a no-brainer! The breakfast was just barely edible. Even the bar was disgusting. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASELAGE
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. I am sorry if you were not pleased with your accommodations. We are under renovation at this time in both the public areas and guest rooms. Much of the issues you mentioned will be addressed in the changes we are making. As for the parking garage, the state owns...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Cons: ugly, scary, dirty, parking garage ick. Desk clerk gave us little to no info how to manouver from dungeon garage to the 7th floor. Garage floor so sticky and gross my shoes almost got pulled off, in closer look this is Ky government property, guess no maintainence, sad. Bourbon country and hotel bar has no bitters, reallly? Poor bartender...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill2508
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Unfortunately most of your complaints were regarding state owned property, the parking garage and fountain plaza are not under our control. We do contact them on a regular basis on upkeep, but again, we do not control their schedule. As for my hallways, I am concerned, since we have runners twice...

Leitchfield, Kentucky
Reviewed 7 October 2016 via mobile

My stay here was less than expected for sure!! As we came out of the parking garage into the elevator to take the luggage up to the main floor to check in my wife had to walk up the steps and ask the front desk clerk was the elevator broke and he instructed her to hit the buttons with force...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Randy F
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I apologize for the apparent lack of response you have received. This is not normal. I can tell from your comments that you are having issues with your charges to your account and they are seriously impacting your feelings towards the hotel. I am checking with every department to expedite your...

Danville, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

First stay at Capital Plaza in Frankfort and we would definitely stay here again. Everything was clean, staff was nice and the food at the bar was great! Well we only had cheese and pretzels but everyone else's food looked and smelled great. We ate at another place downtown. Not impressed. The bartenders were super nice at the Plaza. Look...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Linda M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay. I was very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. I will share your thoughtful comments with our staff. Look forward to seeing you on your return visit. Safe travels!!!

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 October 2016

I've been here multiple times over the past years. Front desk: Most of the front desk people are nice/friendly; but a couple are not. The past few times I've gone; one of your front desk people always looks flustered or hurried. It's busy on a Sunday with lot's of people checking out; I got it. But if you're working Sundays,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I appreciate your honesty about your experiences and I will share this with the staff to help us improve our service. I hope your next stay you will find that you can give us all "5's" for the service and cleanliness. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We were so upset with this hotel as we had seen it on Hotel Impossible. our room was clean but really dated. our bedding was very uncomfortable. When we were in the hallways by the meeting room there was a ramp outside the door with a rug thrown over the rail and a wood plank. lamp sitting on the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane P
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We do know that our room furniture is dated and that is why we are making changes as we speak. The reason you saw the ramp by the meeting rooms is because that is how we are bringing new furniture in the building. It is temporary and will go away upon...

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Front desk staff was great. Very helpful and patient. Bed was comfortable. Towels were poor quality and very small. Food at breakfast ordinary. Had a conference rate so was not too bad, but had I paid more this would have been VERY dissatisfying. Location is good.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlotte F
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you were not happy with your towels. We buy do purchase domestic linen and it is usually of the highest quality. I will review your comments with our housekeeping manager and inspect our recent linen purchases. Breakfast is complimentary and we do try to serve a variety on...

Reviewed 3 September 2016

We were here for a wedding in the Buffalo Trace Distillery and this was very convenient. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. I love the old-fashioned feel of the hotel. The lobby was spacious with lots of chairs and a big, dramatic fountain. The room was great - very large, comfortable bed with modern-style bedding (light comforter with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M2481LOpamelab
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and the hotel. I am sorry we didn't have grits on the buffet for you, but please know that we do serve it. We alternate between oatmeal and grits and it must have been oatmeal day. We do hope to...

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 9 in Frankfort
479 reviews
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
5.0 km away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#5 of 9 in Frankfort
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
20.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
227 reviews
36.1 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: $133 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shelbyville, Kentucky
9 months ago
Sedalia, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view rooms are noisier. Your choice.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlotteF341, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles travelpr0123, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy to access directly from Hwy 127”
 of 5 bubbles yvonne070216, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 618 if need two beds and you want a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 229me, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One side has a street view that also has a river view. The other side overlooks a beautiful fountain courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles et7351, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay