We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rock Cabin Camping

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cave City
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Rock Cabin Camping
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

74 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 73: English reviews
Start your review of Rock Cabin Camping
 Click to rate
United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you need something modern & spic-and-span this isn't the place for you. This is right off the main road (KY-70) and about 5 miles down this road to Mammoth Cave Visitor Centre. Unfortunately, the neighbor's (since this is a residential lot) dog and rooster were a bit much... BRING EARPLUGS IF CAMPING! We camped, which didn't require reservations &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gorocketdog
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, We're glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, the restrooms are a choke point. That is why we try to have no more than four or five campsites filled at any one time. Unfortunately, there is not much that can be done about the neighbor's farm. They didn't have all of the animals last year. I'm hoping...

Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Just what we needed, to cold to camp and sleep outside but had fire pit for out door fire pit and cooking activities. Staff was great, room were as expected, will stay again and recommend! Close to everything you are looking for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmen G
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Our family of 5 stayed in cabin 2 over a long weekend, driving out to Oklahoma from DC. It was perfect for us. It was quiet, clean and great for our 8,7 and 4 year olds. They loved roasting hot dogs, playing with the pets, and exploring the very safe grounds. Ralph (owner) is a true host and perfect mayor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RRF
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

You're welcome! Shadow and Harvey say "Hi!". Hopefully you can stop on the way back to DC. As you know there are plenty of things to see and do in the area. Ralph

Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewed 17 August 2016

After reading the reviews and checking out the website, we booked Cabin 2 for our family of 4 to visit Mammoth Cave / Cave City for a long weekend. Cabin 2 was perfect amount of space for us, with a small kitchen area, living room (roll out bed) and bedroom - providing the convenience of staying in a motel/hotel mixed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sarah M
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah. I'm happy the weather cooperated. I love showing off Saturn. Shadow (Mittens) has been hanging out in front of cabin 2 awaiting your return. Ralph

Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This is a perfect place to stay to explore Cave City and the Mammoth Caves. Cabins are cute, cozy, clean, quaint, and quirky. Owners are in the process of making updates to the cabins. It has a small community-feel so you will get to know your neighbors - having campfires and relaxing outdoors. Cabins includes a/c, fridge, microwave and cable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTexan99
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you, We love it when the sky is clear. You'll have to come back In October or November when it's cooler. Ralph

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

On first impression was a little surprised how close the cabins were on the street. But that never was an issue, very conveniently located to the national park entrance and to Cave City. We stayed in cabin one which is basically a one bedroom house. Old but clean on the inside, newer pullout couch bed, all the utensils you need...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sharita E
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you Sharita. We're happy you enjoyed your stay. You'll have to come back again when it's cooler out. The skies are much clearer then.

Reviewed 16 June 2016

A great place -- simple and clean accommodations, at a good price. The owners live on site and you can see their personality in how the have maintained the property and how they care for their guests. Hard to find places like this anymore, so this is one to be treasured. You won't find all the modern conveniences that you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John T
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thanks John. We do what we can. Hope you can stop by again.

Medina, Ohio
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We stayed two nights in one of their little cabins. Cute (meaning small) and clean enough. No creepy crawlies. It's just outdated. Like stepping back into 1950s, but with satellite TV. Ralph is in the process of updating each cabin. It was a step up from tent camping. At least we had a bed, indoor plumbing, shower. Microwave and small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank calamitylori2016
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

You hit it right on the head! It's "Camping" without "CAMPING"! And our brochure says "Step Back in Time and Relax" We're working on the insides. It's a labor of lone and a work in progress.

Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

I've been wanting to go to Mammoth Cave for years, so when we found Rock Cabins online I was thrilled. We booked 4 nights for our anniversary. Upon arrival, we were not disappointed. Our cabin was adorable, with a mini fridge and microwave, we brought along our travel coffee maker. Ralph is the greatest host, gave us a little history...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ann H
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

Thank you. We're happy you enjoyed your anniversary stay. Maybe you can make it an annual thing!

Reviewed 29 December 2015 via mobile

It did not looked bad, until we got inside, It had a really bad humidity smell. Thats only complain i had. Staff was nice , the smell was the only reason we did not spend the night. I guess cabin 6,7 are the ones with humidity problems.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joaquin R
Ralph S, Owner at Rock Cabin Camping, responded to this review

I'm sorry you did not like the cabin. If you had said something while you were here, I may have been able to put you in a different cabin. If one was available. If you're in the area again, give us a call and we can place you in a different cabin, on us.

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cave City
5.8 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#2 of 12 in Cave City
536 reviews
6.3 km away
Park Mammoth Resort
Park Mammoth Resort
#1 of 2 in Park City
62 reviews
5.6 km away
Super 8 Cave City
Super 8 Cave City
#1 of 12 in Cave City
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 12 in Cave City
263 reviews
5.8 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Cave City
11.6 km away
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
Hampton Inn Horse Cave
#1 of 3 in Horse Cave
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
9 cozy stone cabins and a campground just outside Mmammoth Cave National Park. Built in 1928, these historic cabins have been restored to offer a comfortable place to stay on your visit to the Mammoth Cave area. If you're driving an RV, we can also accommodate you with full hookups in our campground. We have many tent sites as well. Our campsites have 50 amp service and access to full restroom/Shower facilities. Our cabins range in size from three rooms, complete with kitchen and room for 6 adults to a cozy one double bed cabin, prefect for a couple. All cabins have air conditioning, microwave, refrigerator and DISH Network TV. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rock Cabin Camping

Address: 5091 Mammoth Cave Rd, Cave City, KY 42127-9213 (Formerly The Oakes Motel & Camp Ground)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cave City
Price Range: $60 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Cabin Camping 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rock Cabin Camping staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cabin 2 was perfect for 4 of us, for more go with Cabin 1 - it is very spacious!”
B571GEsarahm, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cabin #8 great size for a family of 4!”
CanadianTexan99, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They have 3 different size cabins and a bunk house. The right size for any occasion.”
D3826DRjohnw, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Book direct for a lower rate.”
676winstonc, 11 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Just tell the owner what you are looking for and he will help you find the right cabin for you.”
sarab929, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5