We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lake Barkley Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Lake Barkley Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

226 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Lake Barkley Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 226: English reviews
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2014

On the positive first, we ate at the lodge and the food was good. I personally had the fish and it was delicious . My husband had the philly steak and would not recommend it at all. The staff could have been more helpful. We are older and explained that a lot of steps were troublesome. this place has BUNCHES... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bev213
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. We do apologize if you requested an upper level room and did not receive it because we have designated rooms that are upper level for a rate increase. We also have Handicap and Handicap accesible rooms that are upper level without a rate increase. This winter we... More 

Richmond,ky
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2014

We had a conference at lake Barkley Lodge. Our room faced the lake and when we woke up every morning was different. One morning was misty and other day was raining. There is boat deck and some people can fishing. There is exercise building other side of lodge and indoor pool in there. There is outdoor pool, tennis court and... More 

Helpful?
Thank yummyRichmond_ky
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice comments about your most recent stay and listing all the amenities we have to offer. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you plan on visiting us again. More 

Newburgh, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2014

we stayed for the weekend and as a whole our trip it was good, BUT the Commonwealth of Kentucky needs to put some money into bringing the old lodge back up to shape. this is a gem of a lodge and with a little TLC it could be back to the way people expect. The deck around dining room is... More 

Helpful?
Thank wallat30
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. We had originally scheduled the Balcony for mid October but we are still waiting on the lumber to get started on that project. We have Seafood night the first Friday of the month starting in June and normally run until October; the buffet consists of fish, frog... More 

Columbia,IL
Level Contributor
602 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2014

We have stayed at this lodge before and enjoyed the location. This time we had motorcycles and ran into problems ( Yes it was my Harley). Chuch from the maintenance dept. took time to help us locate local help and to jump start the bike. He saved our day!! The rooms are very nice and the food is good in... More 

Helpful?
Thank rollinsthomas
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to compliment our Staff; we try to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure customer satisfaction. We are glad that everything worked out with your motorcycle and look forward to your next visit. More 

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2014

I stayed here with some friends while on a motorcycle trip. I had stayed here a couple of years prior and kind of knew what to expect. Check in was friendly and efficient. The rooms could ust some updating. The beds were comfortable and AC worked well but noisy. Towels were very thick and fluffy. I did not use the... More 

Helpful?
Thank onthroadagain121
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay. We are in the process of deep cleaning all the decks to the lodge rooms and make sure they are maintained daily to keep them clean for our guests. We apologize that your deck had cobwebs and was dusty; being located right on the lake it is... More 

Cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2014

I'll begin with the good points: comfortable bed, quiet room and mostly updated bathroom. These are the reasons I rated this stay 2 stars instead of 1 star. During the second night of our stay, a mouse got into our room while we slept and got into a snack bag of sunflower seeds. I was very upset about this and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 62DSA
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments during your most recent stay with us. We do apologize that a mouse got into your room and into a snack pack of sunflower seeds on the second night of your stay. I do believe you contacted the front desk around 7:15 am to inform them that something got into the bag that you thought... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2014

If you are looking for a lodge with a cabin outdoor atmosphere this is the spot. We were visiting family in Kentucky and expected more of a resort style accomodation. The furniture is very outdated and I was very shocked at all of the spider webs and bugs on patio. The of the lake and wildlife was the key selling... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment in regards to your stay at our Park. We are schdeduled for some room upgrades in the Fall which will hopefully add to our rooms and improve the more modern appearance. With being in the woods and directly on the lake we do battle spiders and webs on a daily... More 

Shiloh, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Definitely geared toward the older crowd. Resort overall was ok, but needs some modernization. We were shocked that they closed the indoor pool at 2pm on labor day weekend when it is raining outside. Where is the manager?

Helpful?
1 Thank ranlair
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

On Sundays the Fitness Center with the indoor pool does close at 2pm but was open till 8pm the other nights throughout Labor Day Weekend. Maybe next year we can look at extended the hours a little on the Sunday that falls on Labor Day Weekend. Park Manager and Assistant Park Manager were both on duty that day and did... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

The biggest thing I noticed that could have been fixed is the large amount if cobwebs and spider webs. In general, the lodge is nice with great activities and views. Beds were comfortable and room had private balcony. We will be returning. Be sure not to pass it up. There is also an indoor pool and fitness center down the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dleathers
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent stay and glad to know you will be returning. Being on the lake and in the woods we do have an ongoing battle with spiders and webs. We do have a person solely dedicated to cobwebing for 2-3 hours daily to try to prevent the spiders and webs.... More 

Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We just spent a couple of days at the Lodge and it was wonderful. We had a great relaxing vacation and the lodge was the perfect place to stay to relax. We stayed in an upper level room near the pool. The high ceiling room was great. Everything was clean and neat. We loved sitting on the balcony and watching... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
LakeBarkleyMgmt, Manager at Lake Barkley Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments in relation to your most recent stay with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the beautiful scenery, the dining room, and your lodge room. We look forward to your next visit with us. More 

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadiz
36.1 km away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
356 reviews
20.9 km away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
36.6 km away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.5 km away
Pennyrile Forest State Resort Lodge
30.2 km away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
20.5 km away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#1 of 2 in Aurora
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lake Barkley State Resort Park has accommodations for every kind of travelers, including the comfortable Barkley Lodge and a large camping site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Barkley Lodge

Address: 3500 State Park Road, Box 790, Cadiz, KY 42211-7090
Region: United States > Kentucky > Cadiz
Price Range: $69 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Barkley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lake Barkley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Barkley Lodge
Barkley Hotel Cadiz
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Barkley Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Barkley Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You pay ten dollars more a night...but having a room on the upper level saves you walking up and down stairs constantly with luggage.”
 of 5 bubbles IndianaKris, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Be sure to close the blackout drapes at night. The lake has a surprising amount of moving lights which may awaken you during the night.”
  • Lake Barkley Lodge
  • Lake Barkley Lodge
 of 5 bubbles messengrl, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the top floor (the 200s and 400s) have more light and lovely views of the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles 603janets, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Request second floor rooms for those with difficulties in dealing with stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles musicmaker659, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are no stairs required to reach rooms on the upper level”
 of 5 bubbles 642frans, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay