We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

American Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
American Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for American Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 40: English reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2015 via mobile

The motel was OK its not the worst but def not the best. Staff was nice n helpful. Room was clean. But air conditioner had a moldy musty smell blowing from it the staff gave Lysol spray to help. The was locked so my kids weren't able to swim. Recommend a stay yes I would if it was only for...

Thank Jess L
Carol M, Director of Sales at American Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jess, Thank you for your review. I am so sorry for your inconvenience with the mold smell and the locked pool! During the really hot time of summer we can experience condensation in the A/C units and sometimes a backlash of odor. We clean the units once a month to eliminate the issue. Apparently your room had not been...

De Queen, Arkansas, United States
Reviewed 8 June 2015

We were greeted by Nick. He was very friendly, informative and accommodating. My husband is very particular about being able to park our vehicle in front of our room and when we asked Nick to find us a room that would accommodate this request, he did so. Upon finding our room, there were vehicles already parked in all the spaces,...

1Thank Cheeta P
White, Georgia
Reviewed 24 May 2015 via mobile

After calling 30+ other hotels that were all booked I reluctantly stayed here. Upon walking into the room it was musty and wet. Floors were nasty. Comforters were riddled with holes and filth. Pillow had mold on it. TV was tiny. Air hardly worked. No shampoo in the room. Lobby smelled like curry and throw up. Won't stay again!

1Thank southerntrucker
Reviewed 4 April 2015

We stayed couple of niggt check in later on toilet over flowed so moved to a new room was good overall breakfast was good beds were.ok didn't have a alarm clock or coffee maker and wasn't enough towels

Thank reed1974
Reviewed 26 March 2015

Very nice. A little hard getting into bathroom because of Unleveled floor when entering with wheelchair. Nice kitchen, stove to cook and eat. Large bathroom. Nice price. Easy access. Outdoor pool. Breakfast

Thank Deeyve
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Great staff that will try to help you with any of not all problems and very friendly, will always stay at the American inn they are like family the continental breakfast is awesome. It really helps when you get up early for work and are hungry

Thank Googleshell78
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Perfect stay. simple check in and we stayed 4 days and it was very uneventful just the way a hotel should be. I would definitely recommend it if you are traveling to Kansas City and you would like easy access to the interstate.

Thank Kevin F
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewed 19 January 2015 via mobile

Carol the sale lady. and the owner helped me out rooms are little outdated but clean sheets smells like bleach a little tells you they are clean. Over all it was great stay been too alot of motels travel for work i would recommend for a good rate and breakfast hot toast biscuits and gravy and waffles not bad didnt...

1Thank rob7624
Reviewed 2 January 2015 via mobile

The room is average and yes could use updates but I've stayed 4 days so far and the front staff was very helpful and i have too say the sales lady carol was wonderful she helped me and wife out might be outdated but carol in sales made it very pleasant and she went out of her way too make...

1Thank Misty L
Colby, Kansas
Reviewed 7 October 2014

DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!! This is a nasty, terrible hotel! When we arrived at the room, there was a bunch of people overhauling a car in the parking lot with junk everywhere! They were smoking pot!! Once locked in our room, it didn't get better! Room was dirty, you could still smell pot, the lampshades were broke, the...

3Thank Ashley K

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Bathroom (1)
Room/Suite (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Kansas City
Comfort Inn Kansas City
#12 of 21 in Kansas City
102 reviews
6.1 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
5.3 km away
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
4.7 km away
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
#11 of 21 in Kansas City
365 reviews
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The American Inn Motel in Kansas City, Kansas is located only minutes from the Kansas International Speedway, Downtown Kansas City, the Chiefs/Royals Stadium, Cabella's, Verizon Wireless Amphitheatre, and the Woodlands Race Track. Amenities include: free local calls and morning coffee; outdoor pool and guest laundry; 73 cable channels; and large truck and RV parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Inn

Address: 7949 Splitlog Ave, I-70 and 78th Street Exit 414, Kansas City, KS 66112-2700
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $77 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — American Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your American Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from American Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles michelleafay, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in this hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles 554ashleyk, 6 Oct 2014 | Read review
“they have no restaurant so hard to judge vending is plentifull though”
 of 5 bubbles SteveB773, 25 May 2012 | Read review
“do not stay here. do not bring a black light.”
 of 5 bubbles 523AndyG, 8 Feb 2012 | Read review
4 of 4