We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
Panoramas (25)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I are frequent guests. We got married in the Tuscany room 5 years ago, and also had a renewal ceremony in the Tahitian room....so if you are planning a small wedding this is a perfect place. My husband and I travel from St. Louis just to stay at this hotel 3-4 times per year. So I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim S
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Kim S- Thank you so much for sharing your story of Chateau Avalon Hotel with us! We are so happy that you enjoy your time here as much as we enjoy seeing you come back! I will be sure to pass along the compliments to the rest of our staff and share these memories with future guests! We appreciate you...

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed for New Year's Eve and spent some time in D'Nile with Bo. He is fabulous! He definitely made our evening. This was our 4th stay and we have already booked our 5th. We stayed in Casablanca but prefer the larger, more elaborate rooms. We love the staff, especially Bo and Judy. We definitely will continue to visit Chateau...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fischee
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

fischee- We are so happy you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and thank you for writing us a review! We appreciate all the wonderful compliments! And we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay! Best Regards, Laura

Missouri
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The first thing I notice was the 20+ stairs you had to climb to get into the hotel..I'm not infirm in my early 60's, but carrying a suitcase up steep stairs was a chore. Hubby and I had a free room offer from the Hollywood Casino so we can't complain about the price. We stayed in the Lincoln room...In my...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kjmema
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear kjmema - I am so sorry to hear how you feel about our hotel. With the complementary stays through Hollywood Casino there is a very limited selection of rooms. Some of our rooms even if it is the same room concept are more spacious than others. Many of the rooms have the shower head in the over sized 2...

Kansas
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The rooms are delightful, but rather crowded unless you choose from the most expensive ones. Breakfast leaves a little to be desired; delivered on time and good, but very small portions and only lukewarm. Shuttle service to nearby venues is good, but you may have to wait 15 or 20 minutes for it to arrive, so plan accordingly. The bath...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KansasGin
Laura T, Front Office Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear KansasGin - Thank you so much for taking time out to write a review for us. Sorry that your room felt so crowded! Some of our rooms definitely do feel that way - We have tours Sunday through Thursday 12pm-3pm so you can see which rooms would suit you best! Some rooms even if it's the same theme are...

Emporia, Kansas
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Husband and I stayed in the Monte Cristo suite for a little getaway WOW! This was nice clean, very relaxing and quiet. Bed was so comfy too. The jacuzzi was amazing and desert was delicious. I tried a key lime martini at the nile bar AMAZING taste was perfect. Only thing I would change more towels, put a pen and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amy m
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

amy m- Thank you so much for the positive feedback and suggestions. I am so happy that your getaway stay in our notorious suite the Monte Cristo was everything you were looking for! I love the Key Lime Martini as well, our bartenders sure do know how to make a delicious martini, and I'll be sure to pass on the...

Winfield, KS
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the Tuscan suites for our anniversary. We had a really nice time and the room was beautiful, unlike anywhere we have ever stayed. The staff is very friendly, the room was very clean, and it was great to get breakfast in our room! We also loved the open house in the afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lalobu
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Lalobu- Happy belated anniversary! Thank you so much for your wonderful review! The Tuscany is one of my personal favorites, and the feedback you gave on the room is very helpful to us. We are always wanting to better ourselves and thanks to people like you we know where to start. I am excited to hear that you are considering...

Chanute, Kansas
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I surprised my husband on his birthday with a stay here and added a massage, champagne, and chocolate covered strawberries! it was all very good. they had a shuttle van that took us to dinner, picked us up and back to hotel. I liked that it ran so late most places stop early but they end at 12:45 am and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanie2012
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Jeanie2012- WOW! What a great birthday stay! I am so happy everything went as planned and we were able to make your husbands birthday a memorable one! We adore Judy, she is such a gem and I will be sure to pass the message on to her. We can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit...your birthday?..Anniversary?..Just to...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Best romantic couple retreat in KC. Huge rooms with big jetted bath tubs in every room. Been 5 times and have loved every visit. No other hotel comes close in price and admities. Most other hotels you can't even find a private jetted tub in your room. Go to Jazz to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PHILLIP452
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

PHILLIP452 - Thank you so much for taking the time out to write your wonderful review! We appreciate it and are so pleased to hear we have made 5 memorable experiences here for you! Thank you and we can't wait to welcome you back on your 6th visit! Best Regards, Laura

Kansas City, Kansas
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We had a nice stay for our anniversary but i'm not sure we will be returning. The staff was very prompt and courteous and the room was a little smaller than expected but it was clean and neatly decorated. The breakfast was rather skimpy but it came right on time and was still warm upon delivery. The coffee delivery was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C J
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear CJ, Thanks for taking the time out to inform us about the pros and cons you experienced during your recent stay with us. I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and I guarantee that the message will be relayed to the rest of our management team. Thanks again for your comments, without guests like you we wouldn't have the...

Derby, Kansas
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at Chateau Avalon for our Anniversary, there was a problem with our booking so it took a few extra minutes to check in, because of this they upgraded us to the Presidential suite, very nice room on the third floor. The D'Nile bar is new since our last stay, Beau the bartender was great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelda C
Laura T, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Nelda C - Happy belated anniversary! I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at check in and I'm glad we were able to upgrade you to the luxurious Presidential Suite! In addition I am pleased to hear you were able to experience d'Nile Wine Bar and Patio and I will be sure to pass the compliments onto our bartender. Thank...

426 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (255)
Viewed
Camelot (36)
Viewed
Colorado Frontier (24)
Viewed
Mayan Rainforest (26)
Viewed
Monte Cristo (40)
Viewed
Pirate's Cove (29)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kansas City
21.2 km away
The Raphael Hotel, Autograph Collection
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER KC Speedway Inn & Suites
2.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kansas City at Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Comfort Suites Speedway - Kansas City
2.0 km away
Residence Inn Kansas City at The Legends
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Village West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rated by AAA's Midwest Traveler Magazine in 2012 as the #2 Small or Boutique hotel in the Midwest, the Chateau Avalon is Kansas City's unique boutique escape. We offer suites that appeal to the escape oriented couple as well as the business traveler that seeks a high service and memorable hotel escape. Recently the hotel has added the d'Nile Wine Bar, an eclectic Egyptian concept bar with hand crafted cocktails and some of KC's best wines. In 2013 the hotel renovated a number of the Classic corporate suites to better serve the needs of our business clientele. With wifi and wired internet, new desks and executive chairs and study lamps the Chateau Avalon is now the best hotel in the West KC market for overnight business stays. Contact sales for discounted group rooms and corporate repeat guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa

Address: 701 Village West Parkway, Kansas City, KS 66111
Region: United States > Kansas > Kansas City
Price Range: $209 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Avalon Hotel Kansas City
Chateau Avalon Kansas City
Kansas City Chateau Avalon
Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa Kansas City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chateau Avalon Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look through all the rooms online before you book-- there are so many fun choices!!”
 of 5 bubbles kerriscarbo, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“bring a ash pay with cash and bring a coffee maker rooms dont have one”
 of 5 bubbles williambU3096AT, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask what rooms have been updated with mattresses and deep cleaned.”
 of 5 bubbles smily812016, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ask for a tour”
 of 5 bubbles sconner2627, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you have HIGH expectation based on your past experience you may want to reconsider - quality of cust serv has decreased.”
 of 5 bubbles tymara30, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5