We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mahatalaky
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge
Add a photo
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 67: English reviews
Mondsee, Austria
Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed over Christmas, what an Experience. Lots of great activities ( walks, beach picnic, boat-rides) with our guide Ali. All the people that work there are super helpful and friendly. The most beautiful sunsets on the big rock-bench. The food was excellent and plenty. The bungalow was beautiful decorated and very spacious. We stayed at bungalow 5 with 2bedrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erika B
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The views of the ocean from all parts of the Lodge are amazing. All bungalows have direct, private access to the water. Dining under the stars, next to the water is very enjoyable. The outings are very interesting and we saw several new species of lemurs, spiders and snakes. The endemic plants are hard to describe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madonna E
Holt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Manafiafy is a magical place. Anyone coming here must be aware that Air Madagascar is notoriously unreliable and the roads are poor, but once here, it is well worth the effort, and the small size of the resort means that we almost had the place to ourselves, which suited us fine! Although remote, it is situated on a beautiful bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MarshWall
Lake Myvatn, Iceland
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came here by road from Fort Dauphin after flying in from Mandrare River Lodge, a sister lodge, and it takes around three and a half hours on unmade bumpy roads to get here. Unfortunately a bridge had broken on the way so we had to get out and walk (with help thankfully) on tree trunks to the other side...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine818
Fort Dauphin, Madagascar
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went there during 2 days with our children. It was great. Food is good, activities fun, landscape is awesome. We liked so much that we decided to book for new year's eve with two other families. We booked 3 bungalows for 2 days ; but 2 days ago (2 weeks before the famous week-end), Manafiafy sent us an email,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaheau
Madaclassic, Owner at Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Julien, Many thanks for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Manafiafy! We do apologize for this error on our part and are glad that we were able resolve the problem and accommodate you at Manafiafy on the dates that you requested. We look forward to offering you an outstanding New Year’s celebration!! Warm regards,...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 November 2016

Cant even begin to say how much detail has been thought of even building these cabins without the credit to all the staff. Everyone was outstanding with their service, kindness and sheer warmth. The food was out of this world. All fresh products daily cooked and presented to perfection. The memories will never be forgotten we wished we could have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sjajwarr
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The resort is a group of very luxurous cabins along a crescent shaped bay. We chose to go on as many wildlife walks as we could but you could easily have just spent time by the beach. We were able to see all five of the local lemur species as well as chameleons and the rare leaf tailed gecko. Everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuCovell
Surrey
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We stayed for four night here. Food was very good. The trips were excellent and we saw lots of wildlife. Staff are wonderful. Be warned that the Route National 13 is one of the worst roads in Madagascar (and that is difficult, given that all roads are terrible). We gave Mandrare (sister resort) 5 stars but we chose 4 stars...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneandMark
Aerdenhout,, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

The camp lies in a very rural area on the coast. Beautifully appointed rooms with a private deck, hammock and beach. Nice bar and restaurant area though you never eat at the same Place twice in a row. Instead you get a table on the beach, your private deck, picknick etc etc. they really make an effort to please the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancesSH
Gainesville, FL
Reviewed 24 September 2016

My husband and I spent 5 long-anticipated nights at Manafiafy Beach and Rainforest Lodge at the end of July. We had just finished leading a group of 12 undergraduates through a month in Madagascar (which was the most amazing professional experience I have ever had) but we were ready for some luxury, rest, and alone time. And as usual, we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank reptileenthusiast

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mahatalaky
0.0 km away
Constance Tsarabanjina
Constance Tsarabanjina
#1 of 1 in Nosy Mitsio
417 reviews
0.0 km away
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa
#1 of 14 in Nosy Boraha
259 reviews
0.0 km away
Anjajavy L'Hotel
Anjajavy L'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Anjajavy
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Eden Lodge
Eden Lodge
#1 of 1 in Anjanojano
121 reviews
0.0 km away
L'Heure Bleue
L'Heure Bleue
#9 of 31 in Nosy Be
188 reviews
0.0 km away
Isalo Rock Lodge Madagascar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Barefoot luxury in a truly breathtaking setting…Sparkling blue seas, verdant rain-forests, abundant wildlife, and distant mountains, this small and intimate lodge offers a taste of serenity to all of our guests. Nestled into a forest fringed cove, our luxury thatched bungalows offer private decked terraces inches from the sea, perfectly reflecting the tranquility of their natural surroundings. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge

Address: Manafiafy Street | St Luce, Mahatalaky Tana 101, Madagascar
Region: Madagascar > Toliara Province > Mahatalaky
Number of rooms: 6
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Manafiafy Beach & Rainforest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure to fly to Ft Dauphin and then take the 2.5 hour "bumpy" ride.”
 of 5 bubbles madonnaleee, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Soleil D'Orient”
 of 5 bubbles MarshWall, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the villas are the same.”
 of 5 bubbles Elaine818, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Maybe ear plugs-the ocean is loud but lovely. I did not check luxury hotel above as there is no wifi and the lighting is solar.”
 of 5 bubbles judyb059, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room tips: Manafiafy Bungalow 3 as you can watch the waves whilst lying in bed but all the rooms are excellent”
 of 5 bubbles FrancesAndLee, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5