We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Fox Goes Free

TripAdvisorUSD 166*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
USD 166*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Fox Goes Free
The Fox Goes Free
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

278 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 276: English reviews
Start your review of The Fox Goes Free
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

We went on a sunny Sunday and if you want food you definitely need to book. This pub gets very busy and it's dog and kid friendly. The outside garden is beautiful and very big with lovely views. We both had roast dinner me chicken and my fiancé had lamb. Really big dinners, mine was lovely but my fiancé said...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa P
hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for two nights with friends. The rooms are lovely a big. The staff are very friendly and so helpful. Great list of Gins unfortunately did not have enough time to sample them all, will have to go back! Breakfast was yummy. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jarman42
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely setting, great garden, we were looking forward to lunch.... And then we waited over an hour for some, decidedly average, burgers. The farcical part was attempting to get some ketchup. Asked three times, told three times it was coming. Asked a fourth time "oh sorry we've run out, maybe you could go and ask someone at another table if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MTP111
thefoxgoesfree, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time in writing about your recent visit to the Fox Goes Free. I was very sorry to read your experience and service was not up to the excellent standard we pride ourselves in. I would very much like to discuss the meal you had with us, please contact me at your convenience on 01243811461....

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunningly picturesque 400 year old pub/restaurant with lovely views from the garden. We booked and sat in the old stable. Greeted warmly and given advice on the menu as my husband is GF. We were astounded to see Gluten Free Fish (in batter) and chips, served with peas on the menu. Along with sides of Gluten Free bread and butter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trossy2015
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Long overdue review! Very accommodating, helpful and patient staff despite being incredibly busy and a couple of menu changes made by our party! The chef had made a couple of pies especially to suit the likes/dislikes of our group. Really delicious food and a place with great atmosphere. Have recommended it to a number of friends and are going back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great visit country pub the a few bedrooms and offers a good food and beer selection. The bedrooms have all facilities one would need. Great location n meting place for both Goodwood race tracks. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maurice S
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

You need to book as very busy. Service was excellent, food hot and plenty of it we had Sunday roast and all cooked well. Very noisy and a bit cramped we had a child in a high chair next to us so not very relaxing. We did feel that they would like the table clear as soon as possible. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our possibly ageing eyes struggled a little in reading the menu in a dimly lit dining area. However ,the choice was very good and the service was very good also. We were a party of 4 and all enjoyed a 3 course, well presented, tasty meal which was very competitively priced.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Took our family of 7 here for lunch. Fantastic from start to finish, the service, the staff, the food and buzzing atmosphere. We were surprised it was so busy for a Friday lunch time, so very pleased we had booked a table. Everyone found something delicious from the menu and a lovely bottle or 2 of merlot from the wine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fluffyduck51
Oxford, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Fox is a rarity, a pub that provides very comfortable and well fitted out accommodation in addition to high quality food and well kept ales. It was very busy the weekend we were there but the well managed and organised team did a brilliant job of keeping everyone happy and everything moving along. Lots of smiles and good humour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoosaDreamer

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Other (63)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (144)
Viewed
Double Room (Main House) (32)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (38)
Viewed
Twin Room (Annexe) (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton
12.1 km away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
11.9 km away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
812 reviews
8.3 km away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 8 in Chichester
1,461 reviews
7.2 km away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 8 in Chichester
539 reviews
8.4 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about The Fox Goes Free

Address: Charlton, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester > Charlton
Price Range: $166 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Goes Free 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Fox Goes Free reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Goes Free Hotel Chichester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Fox Goes Free staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cambridge, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Fox Goes Free staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pre book as always busy”
559lindaw, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Not able to do this”
Roseriedelahay, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The double bedded room in the main house was "snug" but nice. Short flight of steep stairs, but no more than 10 as I recall.”
sergeantWorthing, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are only 5 rooms. We had number 2, above the bar but still slept soundly.”
  • Bedroom
  • Bedroom
davidwX3283WG, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask the Fox goes free they are most helpful.”
lyn_wind, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
USD 166* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates