We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

315 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 311: English reviews
Salina, Kansas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I'm a SPG member so I maybe a little partial, but I have stayed here a few times now and I'm never disappointed. Room is always clean and comfortable, pool area and workout room good and the members lounge is good. Have eaten in their restaurants and food was average but not expensive. Will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Jean D
1 review
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were bummed there was not a hot tub, on one of their websites it mentioned spa but there wasn't one. When we got in our room it was 83 degrees it was quite warm, good thing we had to leave to go eat dinner.

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Amanda, I am sorry that were not fully satisfied with your recent stay in our hotel. I understand how frustrating it must be to think that there is a hot tub in the hotel when there isn't. Unfortunately we only have control of the informatino posted on the Sheraton.com website, other third party sites offer descriptions and information that unfortunately... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We made a last minute decision to spend the night at this large hotel while traveling with our six kids, because of a problem with the trailer we were pulling. The hotel is tall with an open central lobby area and a multiple story waterfall which impressed my children greatly. We were accidentally assigned to a room which was under... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bonny J
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I hope that if your travels bring you to our area again you will get the opportunity to stay and see the completed renovations. More 

Dardenne Prairie, Missouri
Level Contributor
229 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband attended a conference here which included the room. We were very pleased with the room and the accommodations during the conference. They are in the process of a remodel but they try and keep that distraction to a minimum. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The location of the hotel is great. It is easy... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tina T
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

I'm glad you enjoyed your experience in West Des Moines. I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon. More 

Jewell, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great amenities and rates. Went for a conference and rooms sold out fast, so book early! Discounted rate for conference on site. Staff was friendly. Very clean and modern. Several conference attendees could not get rooms and had to book elsewhere so I recommend booking shortly after confirming your conference dates.

Helpful?
Thank Tiffany G
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments. I hope that we get the chance to host you again when your travels bring you to the Des Moines area. More 

Newport, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The number one reason for my excellent review is the staff. From the front desk, dining room hostess, bartender, cleaning people, and the shuttle driver all went beyond their job to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was very clean and confortable. Plenty of towels and made in America glasses. Made in America another plus for the rating. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank 71allga
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing such kind words about the team. We work very hard to show the highest levels of hospitality to our guests and comments like these mean a lot to everyone here. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again the next time your travels bring you to West Des Moines. More 

Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sheraton was in a good location with several restaurants within a relatively short walk. Hotel is ok, but looks like it will be improving via a major renovation. Rooms still were nice and common areas were good. Place reminds me of an old Holiday inn with the inside open looking down over the common areas.

Helpful?
Thank Juice17995
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel is best avoided. I traveled to Des Moines on business and was booked to stay at this Sheraton. I was very disappointed. Upon arrival, I was first ignored at the counter while other quests who arrived after me were helped; I was right in front of the clerk yet was not serviced. Then I was told no rooms... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mbryan2016
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of your experience with trying to check into the hotel. I apologize that you experienced this and will be following up with the team to find the reasons that you experienced the issues that you did and insure that it is an isolated experience. I assure you, this is not indicative of the levels... More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

here for work and i've gotta say that although it's kind of in the middle of nowhere and not much to do but this hotel has got the most comfortable bed and comforters ever! it's currently undergoing construction but I still slept like a baby. $13 breakfast buffet...but being a Monday...the fruits selection didn't look so fresh so i walked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kieutie
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

I have been here for several events and business meetings. The space is great and lots of room. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Close to restaurants and the business district which is convenient. Also right off the interstate.

Helpful?
Thank Megan M
Chris S, General Manager at Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel, responded to this review

Megan, Thanks for your review. We love hosting meetings and really appreciate the feedback. More 

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Des Moines
4.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moines
Hilton Garden Inn West Des Moine...
#3 of 20 in West Des Moines
507 reviews
0.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.4 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#1 of 20 in West Des Moines
162 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 48 in Des Moines
532 reviews
3.3 km away
West Des Moines Marriott
West Des Moines Marriott
#6 of 20 in West Des Moines
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of West Des Moines, the Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel is ideally situated for business, weekend getaways, or an extended vacation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel

Address: 1800 50th Street, West Des Moines, IA 50266
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: $134 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton West Des Moines
West Des Moines Sheraton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms with the King size beds are a good size.”
 of 5 bubbles 71allga, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I always like a room with a lot of light!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 4JMP, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else...”
 of 5 bubbles CraftyJackieA, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try to get in a corner of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles KaneoheBoy, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you are bringing food or drink with you, there is no fridge in the room and the ice machines on the floors either don't work or are slow.”
 of 5 bubbles MidwesternMomma, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay