We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 68: English reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute for homecoming as it's in a great location-one of the only walkable hotels close to Wartburg. Before I sat what's wrong there was something right - the staff is incredibly nice and helpful-no complaints there! This hotel still has smoking rooms which I did not know existed. We checked in and were put in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel Z
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I deeply apologize for the experience that you had during your stay and that the items you listed were not able to be resolved. Our team is glad to have your feedback, we are working to make sure that each of your comments are addressed and that each item is repaired for our future guests. Our pest control specialist will...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

Overall the room was poor. Bathroom had mold growing. Taking a shower a huge black spider visited me. The floor by the outside door was soaked. The WiFi worked on my phone, but not my laptop. The overall cleanness of the room was poor. The floor you could tell it was vacuum, but the carpet by the outside door was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly Y
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry about the issue that you had during your visit, thank you for sharing your concerns with me. I am working to resolve each item that you listed and improve our property for all of our future guests. Our goal is to give all of our valued guests a comfortable relaxing stay. I hope that you will...

Reviewed 29 June 2016

This whole experience reminded our family of the movie The Shining. Dirty sheets with blood on them, hot tub with no bubbles/jets, black mold on the fan above the pool, musty smell to our room, run down grounds (old tennis court) that felt like a scary movie set, creepy people hanging outside barefooted, a continental breakfast (should not be called...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawna C
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am very sorry about your stay and for your dissatisfaction. Our maintenance person is aware of each item that you have mentioned and we are working to repair and resolve each one. I have met with our staff and we are doing extra room checks to make sure that everything is spotless and clean.I am also working to address...

Reviewed 12 June 2016

Pretty bad - outdated, in disrepair, pool water cloudy/questionable, bfast; toaster w/ bread, dry cereal, juice/milk/coffee & Little Debbie bfast cakes. Noisy air conditioner, thread bare sheets. Sketchy Wi-Fi. Pros = a working ice maker, plenty of towels, pleasant staff. The place kind of looks ready for demolition. For us, it was this or a $200 smoking room miles away....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for taking time to share your concerns and let me know about your experience. We have always provided a tasty continental breakfast every morning for our guests. I'm glad that you liked our friendly staff, we are all working to improve and give our guests the most relaxing clean stay we can. I'm addressing each of your comments with...

Reviewed 4 June 2016 via mobile

Stay as far away from this hotel as possible! It is infested with black mold and presents a major health hazard. Management and the parent company (Vantage Hospitality) have been made aware of the problem many times and won't fix it, they just wipe visible mold away. We had over 10 rooms booked over a 3 day period and every...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leslie V
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I deeply apologize for your stay not being what you were expecting for your stay. I'm glad that you took the time to share your experience and feedback. I am working to address each item with our staff so that we can make improvements to provide our guests with a clean, relaxing, and comfortable stay. Our guests satisfaction is very...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 24 May 2016

This was, without a doubt, the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in. There was mold on the walls of our room, the mattress was stained, the bathroom was dirty, the wall paper was peeling off. We stayed here for a family wedding and everyone reported the same issues. Walking across the carpet in white socks will quickly turn...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NicolleMN
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm really sorry about the issues that you had with your stay. We are working to address each item that you mentioned and resolve all of your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We always do our best to accommodate our guests and address any issues on the spot. Again, I apologize for...

Fulton, Missouri
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We checked in and went to our room. Upon opening the door we noticed the small refrigerator pulled away from the wall unplugged with the door hanging open. The wall below the window looked like an accordion from water damage. The wooden chair at the desk was broken. My wife called me into the bathroom because the drain plug for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redouglas62
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am so sorry about the problems you had during your stay with us. All of your concerns are very important to me and I have repaired the drain plug for the tub as well as replacing the desk chair. I will be giving our staff extra training so that situations like this do not happen in the future. I...

Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

On a our recent trip to Iowa for an event we stayed in Waverly. We had stayed in this hotel two years ago and although it was outdated it was clean. However our recent stay was terrible. The check-in process was strange given that they had to swipe the card multiple times because "the machine doesn't always work". The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I am deeply sorry about any issues that you experienced during your stay. I have checked your room and our maintenance person is working to repair your lamp, the hot tub, and is making a list of repairs so that we will have everything spotless and in great shape very soon. We will be shampooing your room as well as...

Red Wing, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We stayed here for two days with my kids. We rented two rooms for the two nights. The rooms were dirty and the bedding was stained. When we were going down the steps to go to the pool my son stepped on a nail and cut his heel and foot. I went to get a Band-Aid from the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank funinthesun351112
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

I sincerely apologize for the issue you had during your stay. I have addressed your concern myself and had our maintenance person fix the step and make sure that there are no other repairs that are needed. The safety and comfort of our guests are top priorities for us. We are also checking all of our linens to make sure...

Derby, Kansas
Reviewed 9 February 2016

I stayed at this hotel with my family a few months ago and it was so fun! It is definitely 70s and you can tell that it used to be a popular destination for people in the 1970s. The atmosphere was really cool. At the pool you could basically see the spirits of people who had stayed there before. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
ABVIREDFOXINN, Manager at Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn, responded to this review

It was great to have you as our guests and we're thrilled to hear about how much fun you had during your stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our crystal clear pool and our amazing historic location. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with me. The maintenance person is working on the...

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waverly
2.5 km away
Comfort Inn Waverly
Comfort Inn Waverly
#1 of 5 in Waverly
104 reviews
2.5 km away
Cobblestone Inn & Suites
23.4 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
Hilton Garden Inn Cedar Falls
#1 of 14 in Cedar Falls
350 reviews
31.5 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Waterloo
20.5 km away
The Black Hawk Hotel
The Black Hawk Hotel
#6 of 14 in Cedar Falls
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel and Conference Center, with 118 interior corridor rooms. Indoor pool, elevator, game room, restaurant, meeting and banquet space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn

Address: 1900 Heritage Way, Waverly, IA 50677-9200
Region: United States > Iowa > Waverly
Price Range: $68 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Red Fox Hotel Waverly
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Red Fox Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book earlier to get a different hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles kevinsW2367CL, 12 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles funinthesun351112, 17 Feb 2016 | Read review
“first floor by the lobby and pool”
 of 5 bubbles H1214UXhannahb, 8 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Find another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles L1374PMmattm, 13 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Look anywhere else. Your car would be better.”
 of 5 bubbles CherylH120, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay