We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

TravelocityUSD 80*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 90*
USD 80*
USD 90*
USD 80*
USD 90*
USD 80*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

80 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 13 October 2014

We booked a non-smoker room through Hotels.com at this hotel. We got there around 1AM and to our surprise got a smoker room. We were so tired of our long road trip that we decided to stay and tolerate: The room was so stinky that we could only sleep a couple of hours. The receptionist's answer to our complaint: "It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SaminBayat
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay. The situation you described regarding you being given a smoking room despite your reservation is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. To uphold our company's high standards, I will be working with my staff to review our reservation procedures. As well, I am sorry to read that our...

Atlanta
Reviewed 9 October 2014

The girl at the front desk with long blonde hair was friendly and helpful but that is as far as it goes for the pros for this hotel and we are glad we only had to stay one night, Where to begin on the cons,,,,1. The elevator smelled like cigarette smoke and was dirty. 2. We usually stay in hotels...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tishycat
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that towels were rough and bed was uncomfortable. We do not keep all dishes in the room for sanitary reasons; we want to be sure each dish...

Phenix City, Alabama
Reviewed 14 September 2014 via mobile

The room was clean upon arrival, but during the two week stay my coworker and I had to beg for clean sheets and towels. We only received towels and sheets twice in 12 nights from the front desk. We had to steal them from unattended maid carts. Our room was not cleaned once during our stay. Our company had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad L
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the lack of housekeeping services during your stay. We can assure you that we have reviewed our housekeeping schedules with our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. We are grateful for the feedback you provided so we are...

Kirkland, Illinois
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We just returned from staying at the Extended Stay America in Des Moines/Urbandale, IA. This was one of the worst hotel stays I have had in a while. The woman at the counter took her own time waiting on us. There was a guest in line ahead of us who asked for change and she gave him an attitude first....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shelly E
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Shelly - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation you described is unacceptable, and we sincerely apologize for your experience. In response to your feedback, we are working on retraining our staff on the importance of guest relations and cleanliness. We really appreciate you bringing this to our attention. If...

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I stayed one night at this ESA while on a road trip on I-80. Very convenient to the road; but ask for a room facing away from the highway if you want more quiet. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. I got a good AAA rate that made it worthwhile to stay here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Papazed
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I am glad to read that you were pleased with cleanliness of our hotel and that you found your bed to be so comfortable. The staff and I are pleased to read that our hotel met your needs for an overnight stay. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Sometimes the quality of paid internet service is very bad: the speed is slow and the connection breaks every few minutes. For example, while I was writing this short review I lost connections twice for a few minutes. It makes it really difficult to use this hotel internet for work or streaming.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joseph G
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I sincerely apologize that our wireless internet connection was not working properly during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am working with our wireless internet provider to ensure that your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for bringing...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Clean room with a full kitchen, Free Wi-Fi available, and all in a room that didn't feel cramped. We skipped the breakfast so I can't comment on that except that it was available. Staff was friendly. I arrived 15 minutes early for check in and was looking for a public restroom in the lobby after my long drive. They didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carrie K
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Carrie - We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your clean, comfortable room and our friendly staff. We are also glad you appreciated our free Wi-Fi and fully equipped kitchens. We would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Staff is super friendly, especially Kari; rooms are very clean and spacious. It's very quiet here unlike other hotels. The beds are so comfortable and the internet is fast too. I stayed in a Value Place for a little while and it was HORRIBLE, so I'm thankful I changed to Extended Stay. MUCH better!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PackersGirl1163
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean, comfortable, and spacious. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review and we look forward...

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was awful. Headaches, nausea, rancid smoke smell, bad, bad, bad. I would not stay here again as you get a hotel room to get a good night's rest, not to lay awake hating every minute of your stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean R
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Dean - We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are very disappointed to hear that we were not able to accommodate your non-smoking room request. Please accept our apologies. We will be working with our staff to make sure we are accommodating our guests to the best of our abilities. Thank...

Reviewed 23 June 2014

I called to request a non-smoking room because I am allergic and the desk clerk was very rude and told me she could not do anything more than notate my "preference" because I booked through a 3rd party site. Who I booked the room through shouldn't matter. I AM ALLERGIC, which means if I can't get a non-smoking room when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HazelJae
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very sorry to hear that our staff did not provide you with quality service. We will review your feedback with our staff to make sure we are always accommodating our guests to the best of our abilities. Your feedback is very important to us, so thank you for...

24 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
1.8 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
133 reviews
3.4 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
3.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Address: 3940 114th St, Urbandale, IA 50322-2068
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: $94 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Urbandale
Urbandale Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay somewhere else”
  • Phone missing buttons
  • Peeling pain on windowsill.
  • Clock with wire taped up and not plugged in.
GypsySouls5, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“226 was ours and very good.”
frickster519, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm on first floor in front and it is plenty quiet for me.”
GrannyEllen, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I am on the first floor facing parking and across hall from laundry. Amazingly quiet.”
GrannyEllen, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a blow dryer when you check in. The rooms do not have them”
OmahaFamily, 17 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
USD 80* /night
View Deal
PricelineUSD 80
Hotwire.comUSD 80
CancelonUSD 90
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates