We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale\/Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

623 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 622: English reviews
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Overall, this was a good stay. Only "issue" was the breakfast. It was limited, perhaps the volume got them behind and I got the leftovers, since I went to breakfast with only about 45-min. left. Also, having some rooms available with a king bed would be a plus.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald G
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I will talk to the breakfast help to make sur all is stocked till we close breakfast down. I do apologize for that. We only have 1 room that ha a king in it and that is our 1 king suite. At this time we do not see us putting in more this year, sorry....

Eldridge, United States
Reviewed 5 October 2016

After multiple trips to the area I have found my home away from home. Clean rooms at a great price.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We are glad that you feel comfortable in our hotel and I will pass along to the rest of the staff. We will see you again when yo are this way...Have great week.

Maquoketa
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy B
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Centerville, Iowa
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carlaw889
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Compared to the awful place we stayed the night before, this hotel hit a home run. Clean, well maintained, super amenities and friendly staff. And, they are dog friendly, for $10/dog, a very reasonable price to pay. The room (we got a suite) was very clean and comfortable, with a fridge and microwave. They also serve a very nice breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susane H
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review. I will let the staff know you were happy with your stay. Hope to see you again. Have a great week.

Houston, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 September 2016

There was no shampoo or soap in the room. The tables had sticky glass rings all over them. There was hair on my pillows and pubic hair in the bathtub. There was feces in the toilet. When I told the daytime manager about it, she said oh well I'll just knock $20 off your room. My home visit should have...

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z2270ANdavidd
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience but I apologized to you on the problem of the missing shampoo and soap and gave you $20 off due to that fact. Not once did you tell me that you had other problems. And I take offense that I said oh well. I have never said that in my 20 years...

Loveland, Colorado
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lori W
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Corydon, Iowa
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank N4986FFjamesb
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Illinois
Reviewed 12 September 2016

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BECKER K
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Allen, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2016

good, inexpensive hotel for a short stay. very quiet. nothin' fancy & easy access to highway. and i'm sick of adding characters to this review to fill TripAdvisor's arcane demand for characters in its reviews

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve b
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the review and the funny at the end. We hope you stop again in the future, have a great week.

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
4.7 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
124 reviews
0.6 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
0.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Urbandale
0.9 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a newly remodeled 76 room Hotel. We have 1 queen, 2 queen, 1 queen suites ( includes microwave, refrigerator, and pull out couch ), and 1 queen jacuzzi suites on property: including accessible rooms. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning from 6:00 am to 9:30 am, free wi-fi, on property fitness room, and on property guest laundry. We are pet friendly with a fee per pet per night of $10.00. Our check in is anytime after 3:00 PM and check out is 11:00 AM. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Address: 8711 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: $98 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Microtel Urbandale
Urbandale Microtel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors are quite”
 of 5 bubbles Jedd1017, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“None the internet is probably bad everywhere”
 of 5 bubbles david5162, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One of our rooms was by the elevator and was told she didn't notice any elevator noise of snack machine noise.”
 of 5 bubbles jeand133, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ice and vending is only located on 2nd floor (3 floors total)”
 of 5 bubbles jeanm381, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“We were on second floor. Did not hear outside noise nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles jejjr, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5