We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Booking.comUSD 76*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale\/Des Moines
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

629 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 628: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X332WBjenniferb
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

United States
Reviewed 6 February 2017

While the topic hits the big 3, ESPECIALLY the ability to take our small Yorkshire Terrier with us makes the BIG #1.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harold W
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I'm glad your furbaby is able to travel with you and we could accommodate all of you. Have a great week

Marion, Iowa
Reviewed 6 February 2017

My check in and out was very quick and my room was very clean and quiet. I had a very good night rest and a comfortable stay.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank M761LPdavidl
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and we hope to see you again in the future.

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Front desk personnel were very friendly. It is a nice, quiet hotel, close to Interstate 80/35. We booked a whirlpool suite and thoroughly enjoyed the whirlpool being in our room, and not having to leave the room and not having to share the whirlpool with strangers. Will definitely stay here again when we come through Des Moines.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathyfY6770UW
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review I will let the staff know they are doing a good job. And yes, the wonderful thing about our whirlpool suites are that the whirlpool has it's own room. This way you don't have the humidity making your sheets damp. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great week.

Urbandale, Iowa
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank P970WXdebbiem
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is very conveniently located in an urban area. Its a newer hotel. It has a good staff, and everything is sufficient about it. There are no homey extras, the breakfast is muffins and waffles (usual fare, no eggs bacon or vegables), no pool and the gym is a small room with just a treadmill. Its worth the lower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weenie123
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. I will let the staff know that you were happy with them. We hope to see you in the near future.

Algona, Iowa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We were able to check in before regular check in time because we had a wedding to go to that day. Our room was very nice especially when I paid under $100 for it.

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank missyn2017
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

We thank you for the wonderful review and I will let the staff know they you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 10 January 2017

I was disappointed with my service. My room was not what I had reserved. I was told they don't have that room. One night when I coma eback I had not received maid service. When I let the from desk know, I was rudely asked if I had left the do not disturb sign up. Nad then I had to...

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marktJ5898GY
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience here. I wish you had stopped by the desk in the am and asked for me, ( just a hint if you are having a bad experience in any hotel ask to talk to the Manager. It is there job to try and rectify any problems, thank you ). I deffinitely would...

Davenport, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertbI1770EH
Algona, Iowa
Reviewed 6 January 2017

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Debbie D, General Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines, responded to this review

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
1.0 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
4.7 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
6.0 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a newly remodeled 76 room Hotel. We have 1 queen, 2 queen, 1 queen suites ( includes microwave, refrigerator, and pull out couch ), and 1 queen jacuzzi suites on property: including accessible rooms. We offer a complimentary breakfast every morning from 6:00 am to 9:30 am, free wi-fi, on property fitness room, and on property guest laundry. We are pet friendly with a fee per pet per night of $10.00. Our check in is anytime after 3:00 PM and check out is 11:00 AM. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines

Address: 8711 Plum Dr, Urbandale, IA 50322-6245
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: $98 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Urbandale Hotel Urbandale
Microtel Urbandale
Urbandale Microtel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors are quite”
Jedd1017, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“None the internet is probably bad everywhere”
david5162, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One of our rooms was by the elevator and was told she didn't notice any elevator noise of snack machine noise.”
jeand133, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ice and vending is only located on 2nd floor (3 floors total)”
jeanm381, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“We were on second floor. Did not hear outside noise nice and quiet.”
jejjr, 11 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 76* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 76
HotelQuicklyUSD 99
Hotels.comUSD 76
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates