We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

Expedia.comUSD 102*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 125*
USD 102*
USD 125*
USD 102*
USD 125*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Woke up with ants everywhere. Left immediately because I did not feel comfortable using anything there. Manager only gave us 50% OFF. This has turned me off from ever stating at another AmericInn ever again.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexanderz973
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

We are very sorry that you have a bad experience at the hotel and i do appreciate you taking the time to do a review. We have taken the approeriate measures to get the issue rectified. I apologize for your inconvenience

Johnston, Iowa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

was in the breakfast area this morning, and it was one of the best experience ever. Truly enjoyed Linda she keeps the place spotless and her warm welcome is truly appreciate it. when you stay here make sure you visit Linda.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank meadkatrina
kalpesh2, Front Office Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. On behalf of our hotel staff I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.

Colfax, WI
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is tucked back in among some car dealerships, which I think offers a degree of safety although this is Des Moines, IA. Clean, smaller size rooms with microwave, good size frig, lots of tv channels, decent breakfast, good WI-FI. The rooms are slightly beaten up, mine had a broken alarm clock but it was comfortable. You do need...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. On behalf of our hotel staff I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise. We accommodate many guests each...

Onalaska
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Dated hotel with thin walls/floors. We had a room on the first floor. It seemed like we could hear everything that was happening on the second floor. We almost called the front desk around 11, but someone else must have because it did quite down some. Other team parents staying at the hotel commented on the noise also. I would...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredrick C
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your stay. I apologize for any inconvenience you had. i hope that you will give us another opportunity to meet oyour expectations

Algona
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Overall we had an excellent stay. We had three rooms. One room did have a slight smell, but no one seemed to mind that stayed in the room. I have no doubt that if we had wanted to change room the front desk would of helped us. Excellent staff and service. Will stay here again in two weeks for business...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J3324YJjamesr
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your positive experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. Your comments on our performance were very generous and will be passed on to the appropriate staff members. It’s always gratifying to know that our efforts were effective...

Ithaca, Michigan
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

First time to stay here but definitely not the last. Very friendly staff, clean and comfortable. Breakfast good and replenished often. Handicap room does have tub which is a challenge when you have mobility problems.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tbird7778
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. On behalf of our hotel staff I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise. We accommodate many guests each...

Johnston
Reviewed 24 March 2017

I have stayed at other hotels, but AmericInn in Johnston IA by far goes above and beyond to make you feel comfortable. Their building is immaculate and modern. The rooms were great sized and smelled so fresh and were so clean. The customer service was above that I have ever received when staying at a hotel. The complimentary breakfast was...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H4846MAbrianw
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

It is very easy to receive exceptional service and keep it to yourself. However, you took the time to share your experience with our office and we truly appreciate your feedback. On behalf of our hotel staff I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise. We accommodate many guests each...

Gore
Reviewed 6 March 2017

I stay at this Americinn at least one week every year while I am in town on a business trip. I came to this hotel after having a very bad experience with a different hotel a number of years ago. I've stayed ever since, because they always treat me so well. The hotel is clean and comfortable. The bed is...

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnnieD318553
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for your review & your return business! I hope that your trip to the area was a success for you! We are glad to have been a part of your travels. We are pleased that you chose our hotel again. Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Have a great day! Thank you,

Peosta
Reviewed 24 February 2017

The service at this hotel is second to none. Brooklyn, Barry and Brian do a fantastic job of taking care of their customers. We have been staying here for years and every time is great. We thank you guys for being so consistent. We know exactly what we are getting every time we stay here.

Review collected in partnership with AmericInn Hotels and Suites
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 621lancen
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your gracious words and your continued partonage with us. It has always great to hear when we do a great service to our guests. Looking forward to future stays with us.

Iowa
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I did not stay at this location but I did stop by to confirm some dates that I have booked for some family that are coming to Iowa for a wedding. I was getting in a friendly manner and they were ready to help. Both Brooklyn and and Barry answered all my questions and made sure the dates I needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jerome-Iowa
kalpesh2, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston, responded to this review

Dear Jerome; Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure that the staff involved is informed of the review and let them know how pleased you were with them and their service. We look forward to meeting your family.

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnston
2.8 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - Des Moines
0.4 km away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
3.4 km away
TownePlace Suites Des Moines Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Des Moines - Northwest
3.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The upgraded rooms at the AmericInn Johnston include updated furnishings, room decor, 32" flat screen TVs and cozy Serta(R) Perfect Sleeper beds. The AmericInn Johnston hotel is conveniently located just off Interstates I-80 and I-35 on the outskirts of Des Moines and right on the border of Urbandale, Iowa. Visitors can explore our neighboring cities and attractions like the Buccaneer Ice Arena and Metro Ice Arena in Urbandale or the Waveland Golf Course in Clive. In nearby Altoona, gaming enthusiasts can visit the Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino. We have a nice bike trail conveniently located behind the hotel, great for biking or just a quiet relaxing walk. Free parking; lot can house RV's, Semi's, Truck and Trailers and buses ... more   less 

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston

Address: 5050 Merle Hay Rd, Johnston, IA 50131-1201
Region: United States > Iowa > Johnston
Price Range: $107 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Inn Johnston
Johnston Best Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lincoln, Nebraska
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Hotel & Suites Johnston staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms I have stayed in are very nice”
terryblome, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in a room that has a window facing the pool.”
Bepper0110, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no elevators”
cherylcarruthers1, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a room which was next to the lobby. Was afraid it would be loud but it wasn't.”
garvaisk, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you're a light sleeper, ask far a room away from I-80.”
markm291, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 102* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUSD 102
Booking.comUSD 125
CheapTicketsUSD 102
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates