We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Motel 6 Des Moines North

Motel 6USD 85*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 87*
USD 85*
Great Deal
USD 87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Motel 6 Des Moines North
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Des Moines North
See the most recent reviews
Showing 76: English reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2016 via mobile

It's the cheapest room in town. You're not going to get much for $50. It was loud, stark, not very comfortable and the shower had no pressure. Did I mention it was $50? I would have appreciated shampoo in the room though. Even budget budget places give you that. Staff was nice enough though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imatravelor
Stockton, California
Reviewed 21 April 2016

I was from California to Pennsylvania non stop I averaged 1500 a day, I stopped at this location because it was located on the same street as my gas station, I had already been driving for 29 hours and needed to stop for fuel food and a short rest period. So this became the spot it was very clean I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad S
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

Location wasn't the greatest, it's right beside a busy motorway and not many shops or places to see, room was ok, bed was ok, shower floor was worn but the shower was nice, tv was a decent flatscreen with good channels and WiFi was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxie_Tyler
Tulsa
Reviewed 16 October 2015

We use to stop here all the time with our pets, but that was long ago it has gone way down hill. We were on our way to Minnesota to visit family and it was late and we were tired should have kept going. They put my daughter and her husband on the other side of the building away from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank therope
6Team, Team 6 at Motel 6 Des Moines North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We encourage you to contact...

Seneca, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend made reservations online before reading reviews. After reading the reviews we hoped it wasn't that bad. IT WAS THAT BAD. After looking at a room that was filled with files we walked out, got money back and got away from this dump.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Blissperk
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We have procedures in place related to our pest policy that should have prevented the inconveniences you describe. Our staff aims to provide the highest...

Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

The only good thing I can say is the roof didn't leak. We made reservations for 2 nights at $59.95 + tax and paid $239. The people partying on the 2nd floor didn't quit until 3. The beds were lumpy and the microfridge didn't work. The only thing that worked right was the desk clerk asking for our money. Only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Please know the issues you...

Reviewed 11 August 2015

Never staying in a Motel 6 again! I booked a NON-Smoking room, that was petrified of smoke odor, sheets were dirty and had cigarette burns on them. Most unsafe place I have ever stayed at! People next door were up all night talking about breaking windshields and doing bad stuff. I did not sleep a bit I wish I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabby A
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines North, responded to this review

Dear Gabby, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Safety and security are high priorities...

Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewed 3 August 2015

This motel is horrible, it would have been better to sleep in our car. We came to the motel late (around 11 pm) and checked it. The front desk seemed fairly organized so we thought we were in a typical motel 6, no frills but a bed and its safe, we were wrong. We went up to our room in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chad521
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Des Moines North, responded to this review

Dear Chad, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a...

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I have traveled all over the world and stayed in many different places, this by far IS THE WORST PLACE I HAVE EVER STAYED!!!! Me and my fiance payed for a week at Motel 6 and for the first 5 days housekeeping did not come once! In addition to this while laying down I got bit not once but twice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alyssia G
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines North, responded to this review

Alyssia, Thank you for posting your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. Please know the conditions you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the...

Washingtonville, New York
Reviewed 30 June 2015

First the place really has some sketchy people staying there long term. A few of them were having a nice bbq with a charcoal grill when I got to my room at 1030-11pm. They continued to cook which has to be a fire code violation and all this just a few doors down from the office. On top of that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank medbill
6Team, Brand Experience Team member at Motel 6 Des Moines North, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. Please know the issues you...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Other (28)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Des Moines
0.1 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 48 in Des Moines
105 reviews
0.6 km away
Super 8 Des Moines
Super 8 Des Moines
#36 of 48 in Des Moines
19 reviews
0.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Of Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
Days Inn Des Moines Merle Hay
#29 of 48 in Des Moines
452 reviews
7.8 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Des Moines
98 reviews
3.5 km away
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
WoodSpring Suites Ankeny
#10 of 13 in Ankeny
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel 6 Des Moines North is within 5 miles of Adventureland Park, Des Moines Botanical Center, and Iowa’s State Capitol; conveniently accessible is shopping and downtown Des Moines. Guest rooms have a modern look and free Wi-Fi, our pool is open May-Sept. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Motel 6 Des Moines North

Address: 4940 NE 14th St, Des Moines, IA 50313-2033
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: $88 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Des Moines North 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Motel-6, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Des Moines North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 - Des Moines North Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Motel Six
Des Moines Motel 6
Motel Six Des Moines
Motel 6 Des Moines North Iowa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel 6 Des Moines North staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask where the long term guests are staying.”
SuzannahM_12, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“My room faced the street but it was very quite”
brads523, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here.”
therope, 16 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't ever go here, its terrible.”
Chad521, 3 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else!”
  • Gross black mold in shower.
medbill, 29 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Motel 6
USD 85* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUSD 87
Booking.comUSD 85
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates