We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Booking.comUSD 90*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

360 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 357: English reviews
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewed 12 March 2017

The front desk staff was very rude the moment we checked in. They proceeded to watch our group on cameras then call our room to say we had too many people. Told me to leave, hung up then called cops. There was no service what so ever and the best western customer service did not comply either. The escorted 5...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank K7140MFsarahw
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Dear Sarah. we were not rude when we asked you to kindly let us know how many people were in the room. You paid for two and had seven people in the room. When we inquired you told us "it is none of your business". I am sorry but it is my business. As the owner I am responsible to...

Flagstaff
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Nice facility friendly staff and close to freeway nicely remodeled yet hidebed in room badly needed repacement. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend this facility to others.Breakfast had a good selection and was enough to start our trip. The happy was a special treat ,pizza was good the beer tasted very good after 10 hours on the road!

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy B
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the great words. Thanks for noticing our renovations...and yes, the sofas are the last items we are changing out, hopefully as early as late March, early April. Come back then and we can show them off! Happy travels to you.

Central Kansas
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This BW is located on the west side of Des Moines with easy access to both I-80 & I-35. Quiet location in business park. Nice roomy breakfast area with all the usual breakfast items. Quality exercise room machines. Good parking area. Better than average bed, even for Plus hotels.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DirkD346
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for the kind words about my hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed our amenities and our location. Happy travels to you and we hope to see you back soon.

fort frances, ontario
Reviewed 4 March 2017

excellent service and comfort! we were even upgraded to a suite! just awesome! we would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! There was also a complimentary social hour with pizza and beer/wine in the lobby.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldie247
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. I am happy you enjoyed the upgrade and the social hour with the wine and snacks. We hope to see you again when you are heading back down South again this fall/winter.

Dubuque, United States
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We never need to stay too long however, when we do stay the Best Western in Clive is a great place to stay. They have a lot to offer and its near restaurants and activities. We highly recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank amye624
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review. Hopefully next time we can host you for longer.

Monett
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Entire hotel in great condition. Clean rooms, comfortable bed. Good location near restaurants. Easy access off of interstate. Complimentary cookies at front desk were good. Breakfast was simple but satisfactory. Well lit parking area. Would stay at this location again.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed our amenities and of course...those cookies. Happy travels and come back soon.

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 31 January 2017

We stay in Des Moines on average twice a year. We've tried several different hotel chains. We always look for an indoor pool because the grandkids love to swim! We will return to this BW in the future. Great bed and pillows, recently remodeled and a great location. One of the nicest breakfast buffets for a hotel chain, always well...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheila W
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am so happy your grandchildren enjoyed our pool. Thanks for noticing our recent, complete indoor renovation. Thanks again and happy travels to you.

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

I was in search of an affordable and convenient hotel at last minute for a funeral. This hotel met my needs. Room was clean and I had every convenience I needed for my two night stay. I did not attend the Wednesday evening happy hour nor the complimentary breakfast, but the evening desk clerk was happy to accommodate my simple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn L
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words about my property. Happy travels and come back whenever in town again.

Minneapolis
Reviewed 18 January 2017

This is a very nice hotel. I will definitely stay here again! The suite was large, there were ample plug ins, it was warm, there was plenty of hot water, it was quiet! The grounds are nice, it is dog friendly, and the ceiling panels in the elevator even have nice pictures on them! The towels were folded into fancy...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 330elizabethal
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Ahh, you are the first to notice our elevator ceiling tiles. I love the blue skies above my head as I get into the elevator and wait for the thing to move, it sets a whole different mood to the place. I am glad you liked it as much as I enjoy it every day.

Columbia, Missouri
Reviewed 17 January 2017

We stayed there one night on our way to St. Paul. It was clean and had little extras like fresh cookies and umbrellas to use. The pool/spa was very nice. They are undergoing renovations, so some things obviously needed replacement (like our bathroom tiles), but others things were brand new (like the bedding). A good breakfast with hot and cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
kaczusia, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Yes indeed we are renovating all our guest rooms and bathrooms. As I write this we are about 2/3 done and by late spring we should have the whole guest room package complete for a 100% new property!

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clive
0.1 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Des Moines West
0.5 km away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
258 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Des Moines-West-Clive
0.4 km away
Courtyard Des Moines West/Clive
2.3 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#3 of 22 in West Des Moines
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites

Address: 1450 NW 118th St, Clive, IA 50325-8243
Region: United States > Iowa > Clive
Price Range: $116 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Best Western, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Clive
Clive Best Western
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN PLUS Des Moines West Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Prefer first floor if available because of elevator but it's really not a big thing.”
mikekW6915XL, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The suites are much larger than the standard rooms for a few extra dollars.”
AitutakiGirl, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upgrading to a suite was worth every penny.”
AudreyF178, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Nothing really other than main level if you do not want to climb stairs. One elevator. Overload”
tomaT8622LX, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“314 is near elevator/ice machines. No noise from them but some interstate noise. Rooms at west end are further from the interstate.”
srehmann, 14 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 90* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 90
HotelQuicklyUSD 110
Expedia.comUSD 90
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates