We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hilltop Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clear Lake
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Hilltop Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

39 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hilltop Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 39: English reviews
West Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The Hilltop is fantastic, and what makes it so great are the wonderful people that run it. The service and respect you get makes you really feel at home. It is very peaceful, no matter what you want to do. Hang out by the pool, BBQ on the patio, sit in the hot tub, or play a game of bean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike t
Dubuque
Reviewed 16 August 2012

we have gone every summer for the last couple years and have had the best of times. The kids love to swim, it is a nice family atmosphere, and Jay and Terri are wonderful hosts. It is so nice and relaxing and close to places. The rooms are awesome with different themes.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jenny G
St Charles, MO
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Canada on a motorcycle trip last month. Our stay at Hilltop was fantastic. If you like family owned nostalgic motels, this is your place. The owner showed this around the property when we checked in and even allowed us to put our motorcycles in her garage overnight. They have a very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

thank you very much for the review. We look forward to your next visit to Clear Lake!!

Stewartville, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Room was very clean and very nicely decorated. You can tell the newer owners have put lots of sweat and muscle into refurbishing this motel. Comfortable beds with very nice bedding. Owner was very pleasant and accomodating. Located directly across from the Surf Ballroom, which is what we were looking for. No driving after the show. Very reasonable price.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue R
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We look forward to seeing you this summer!!!

Clinton
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed here for a just over a week while in the area on business. The price is very reasonable, and the accommodations clean and tidy. I had the pleasure of staying in the rock n' roll room which was an added plus! Room has full sized fridge, microwave and kitchenette. The bathroom is small and the shower is tiny,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Grant W
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband surprised me with this hotel stay for our 2nd anniversary. We live in clear lake so I was aware of the hotels background. The hotel looks worse than it is on the outside. Once you get to the center pool area the atmosphere changes and has a family summer party happy setting. It was very hot when we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank mommybear111009
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Charming motel across the street from the Surf Ballroom where Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens & the Big Bopper played their last shows. (If you're lucky enough to be there when the 'Bop on in and have a look around' sign is hanging on the door - you'll see that the place is pretty amazing). The motel is also across from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank familyfour1
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We use trip advisor to find great hotels and have never been disappointed.. until now. It was dirty and needed maintenance work. The worst: there were brown smears on the toilet seat and white stains and multiple blond hairs on the bluesheets. The manager changed the sheets and washed the toilet: the replaced and cleaned items appeared OK. There were...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank chinsandfins
travelgirlfromiowa, Owner at Hilltop Motel, responded to this review

Unfortunately we were unable to satisfy this guest. After several phone calls requesting history on the motel and the smoking status of this room (we were only able to confirm smoking status back to our ownership period of 4 1/2 years) - she did finally book the room. In hindsight I should have known the motel was not going to...

Scales Mound, Illinois
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We rented the breakfast suite, it was huge! The breakfast was the best we have ever had! From the moment we arrived we were treated like old friends! They have an awesome patio area, pool and hot tub, many extras that are not offered at the best suites at the hilton, and my wife says the pool boy is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank william d
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Found this lovely little place while wandering through the town. Already had a room at a name-brand chain hotel for that trip, but planned to return to Clear Lake and knew we just had to stay here, next time. We've stayed twice (2009 and 2010) and we're heading back this September. Gracious hosts, friendly "neighbors", fun pool and game areas,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank swizzlestick68

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clear Lake
2.7 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Clear Lake
2.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
BEST WESTERN Holiday Lodge
#2 of 8 in Clear Lake
265 reviews
2.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Clear Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Super 8 Clear Lake
Super 8 Clear Lake
#5 of 8 in Clear Lake
232 reviews
11.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mason City
10.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mason City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
New Ownership since 2007. Family owned, operated and orientated. Some rooms with kitchenettes, outdoor grills, outdoor pool ,games, DVD library. We are the number one place in area to host your next family reunion - stop in at take a look around. The rooms are all theme decorated. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hilltop Motel

Address: 10 Allens Alley, Clear Lake, IA 50428
Region: United States > Iowa > Clear Lake
Price Range: $65 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hilltop Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Never have had a bad room. Rooms are always very clean. Rooms on west side, more quieter area.”
 of 5 bubbles baldman2015, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Each is so unique, check out their website!”
 of 5 bubbles 190ericw, 27 May 2013 | Read review
“All rooms have their own theme!! If you like beer, there is a beer themed room. If you like rock and roll, you will find a rock and roll room. Lots of themes to choose from!”
 of 5 bubbles BridgetB685, 23 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Each room is unique - try a new one at each visit!”
 of 5 bubbles TheresaT181, 16 Aug 2012 | Read review
“Theme rooms.”
  • View from large window towards kitchenette
  • Kitchenette with all needed dishes and utensils
 of 5 bubbles GrantW924, 17 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5